? 6/26 Kitty AMPS: 391 Alpha Trak, +2: 317, +3: 243, +5: 171, +7; 125

Link to last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-5-60-6-183-7-275-8-389.291492/#post-3189220

Hello,

Kitty seems to be doing great this morning even though she is a little high. Only gave 0.5 units and she seems to be coming down nicely and not too steeply.

Just got a call from the vet and she is very suspicious of the highs and lows that kitty has been experiencing. She wants us to do an ultrasound to see if there are any "abnormalities or masses". Does anyone else think we need to jump there just yet?

I feel like maybe we should try changing the dose first or change to a different medication before we jump to a possibly surgical or cancerous option. Her blood work the last two times was pretty much clean (I will work on getting the results put into her spreadsheet). The only things were last month she had a slight increase in liver numbers and this time they were normal but she had increased creatinine.

Anyone have any similar experience? I may post on the main question board as well.

Thanks!
 
Link to last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-5-60-6-183-7-275-8-389.291492/#post-3189220

Hello,

Kitty seems to be doing great this morning even though she is a little high. Only gave 0.5 units and she seems to be coming down nicely and not too steeply.

Just got a call from the vet and she is very suspicious of the highs and lows that kitty has been experiencing. She wants us to do an ultrasound to see if there are any "abnormalities or masses". Does anyone else think we need to jump there just yet?

I feel like maybe we should try changing the dose first or change to a different medication before we jump to a possibly surgical or cancerous option. Her blood work the last two times was pretty much clean (I will work on getting the results put into her spreadsheet). The only things were last month she had a slight increase in liver numbers and this time they were normal but she had increased creatinine.

Anyone have any similar experience? I may post on the main question board as well.

Thanks!
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Angela & Cleo
@Bandit's Mom
Thanks ladies
 
Just a suggestion I see you said you are spot checking with the Alpha Trak meter. Why not get a human meter since the Libre is considered a human meter .
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
@Miss Kitty Berry
 
When a cat is fairly newly diagnosed, as is Kitty, the ups and downs are completely normal, and expected. No need to do an ultrasound to spend your hard earned money, unless there is a better reason for it. Truth be told, even some longer term diabetic cats bounce like crazy. I was thrilled when Neko stopped bouncing to the 400's after 1 year of feline diabetes. :rolleyes:. She did eventually become fairly well regulated, but it took a while. She was a little bit more complicated though, with some other endocrine conditions in play.

I think your best plan is to follow the dosing method. For now that means holding (or staying at) the 0.5 unit dose for 7 days, unless she goes under 90 again. Do try to double check those Libre lows with the AT, as the Libre can often read lower than it should in low numbers. You only want to reduce if she goes below 90 on the hand held BG meter.
 
When a cat is fairly newly diagnosed, as is Kitty, the ups and downs are completely normal, and expected. No need to do an ultrasound to spend your hard earned money, unless there is a better reason for it. Truth be told, even some longer term diabetic cats bounce like crazy. I was thrilled when Neko stopped bouncing to the 400's after 1 year of feline diabetes. :rolleyes:. She did eventually become fairly well regulated, but it took a while. She was a little bit more complicated though, with some other endocrine conditions in play.

I think your best plan is to follow the dosing method. For now that means holding (or staying at) the 0.5 unit dose for 7 days, unless she goes under 90 again. Do try to double check those Libre lows with the AT, as the Libre can often read lower than it should in low numbers. You only want to reduce if she goes below 90 on the hand held BG meter.
Thanks so much for the reply! I agree that I need to hold the dose. I am going to read up on the SLGS method when I get home from work but think that's my best course of action right now. We have decided to switch vets because this one seems very uneducated on feline diabetes.
 
Back
Top