6/26, Frodo, amps 179, cut dose too much last night

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ter-still-reduced-dosage.139962/#post-1444459

First off, Frodo seems to be eating OK today, without any cypro since last night.
We cut his dose from 2.5U as of last night, and cut to 2.0U. My fault and not following the protocol, but I've been surprised and a little concerned by how fast his insulin needs seem to be dropping: at 4.0U on 6/13, then the cut to 3.75U was pretty definitely not enough of a cut (had to dose a couple of pm shots at 3.0U and we still went borderline hypo), so we were at 3.5U a couple of days when he had to be brought to the vet for not eating and he tested as having an infection and was entirely off insulin for 4 days.
Restarted insulin at 1.75U and then bumped up to 2.5 U, considerably less than what he had been on. After 3 days at 2.5U, he made "under 50" yesterday for a dose reduction. His numbers are a little high today - it would have been better to go for 2.25U last night and this morning and we'll probably go to 2.25U tonight and see how that goes for a few days.
I hope that all this decreasing dose means that he's a good bet for OTJ sometime soon.
 
If you'd gone to 2.25u last night, you might very well have been dealing with low numbers in last night's cycle too. I think it was ok to give one shot of 2.0u to reduce the depot, then return to the "new" dose of 2.25u this morning.

The longer he spends in normal numbers, the better for his body. That's the range that his pancreas can heal, if it's at all possible. The goal with Tight Regulation is to get the kitty into normal numbers (50-120) and keep them there. Frodo's looking pretty good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top