6/26 Boots AMPS 156 | +5 150 | +11 149 | PMPS 129 | +2 133 | +4 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan and Boots (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's condo

It's another good day to be Boots, it seems. Just did a PMPS and got our lowest number to-date: 129 (AT2 meter). Pretty psyched about that, I must say, since the goal we're shooting to have him hanging out in for a while before trying to decrease is 80-130 (for AT2... right? I'm actually having trouble finding that anywhere since most of the published info uses human meters and just mentions to increase the human glucometer readings by x points or x percentage when using a feline-calibrated meter.)

Any thoughts on dosage tomorrow? Should we hold the dose for a while, see if it continues to bring him down at this nice pace over the next couple cycles? That's sort of my plan now, unless anyone has a good case for doing otherwise. The good thing is we're heading into a weekend now, so we'll be able to more closely monitor things for the next 4 cycles while we're home, whatever we do with the dose.

Hope all are well tonight. TGIF!
 
With the Tight Reg Protocol, you want the AT2 tests to be in the range just over 68. 68 is the reduction point, so the normal range is going to be the area above that. We don't have an exact # provided to us for what that normal range is, but it's something over 68.

The TR protocol does talk about ATs - take a look at the doc you have to download "Management of a Diabetic Cat Using Long-Lasting Insulin" on the Tight Reg Protocol page, and look at the page with the dosing guidelines. Instead of providing a separate chart, which they did on the earlier document, they simply provided a footnote saying to reduce at 68 if you were using the AT. In the earlier document, the chart was the same for increases, just had the reduction point at 80. Their more recent research indicates that they want to have reductions at 68 instead. Other than that, it's basically the same as if you're using a human meter.
 
oh, and about his dosing - I would probably hold his dose for a total of 8 cycles and unless you've got numbers under 100, I'd increase by 0.25u.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Great. Thanks for the info. I forgot, my SS actually does have 68 as the threshold on the low end, I think I just had been reading the iteration of the study that said 80 so it was stuck in my head. We're going to get another reading (+2) in a couple minutes so I'm curious to see where he has landed now. It's pretty exciting to be landing in the greens now! Just when we were getting used to being blue... :cool:

So we'll plan to hold for at least another 2 cycles and see what happens. I had been thinking that he was just stuck in the mid-100s and would need to be increased tomorrow by .25, but seeing this latest dip makes me wonder if holding a bit longer will continue to bring the readings down a little. Whether they'll cross below 100 remains to be seen, so we might still have more increasing in our future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top