6/25 Tigger AMPS 219 bounce breaking, protocol advice

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
(645 am) AMPS 219
(700 am) 15 min later 200
(700 am) fed 1/2 can LC
(715 am) 188 15 min after eating
(730 am) 194 30 min after eating
(745 am) Shot 0.75 (at what would be +0.75?) as I'll be home but running a few errands
(1015am) 141 @ +2.5 - fed 1/4 can LC
(1145am) 127 @ +4 - fed 1/4 can LC

Sorry, I know actual times don't matter but I was confusing myself . . . Anyway, I saw it was a bounce breaking and I shot almost full dose knowing I'd be in for some testing but my question is . . .if he goes under 90 is it truly an earned reduction? Obviously I will always play it smart depending on his numbers but we just increased back to 1 unit as he saw ZERO action at 0.75 - hardly ever does. I feel like he needs 0.875 or something the way we just bounce back and forth from 0.75 to 1.0.
 
Last edited:
First off, SLGS is not a protocol, but a dosing method developed here over the years. It is a set of guidelines that you can modify for your cat, once you know your cat's onset, nadir, duration and response to food. Some people tweak those guidelines a little bit, especially if they know those guidelines don't work well for their cat. One example is lowering the reduction point a bit, if they can get more tests in. Maybe that's something you can play with, as you get mid cycle tests most days and almost every night.

Since you were home most of the day today, I would have shot the full dose. Experienced people following SLGS can shoot as low as 90. One other note on your tests - it typically takes 20-30 minutes for carbs to go from the plate to the bloodstream. You don't need to test every 15 minutes when he was as high as he was.
 
Thanks for the info . . . until about 745 I thought I was going into work, but they didn't need me and thats when we decided to shoot. I thought the downward trend of numbers as the bounce was breaking was more indicative there COULD BE an issue going low than the actual number . . . . . so that's why I kept testing.
 
One other point for your consideration, in general, you test, feed, and shoot all within a 5 - 10 min. window. Unlike other insulin, the long acting nature of Lantus means that onset is usually at around +2. You do not have to have food on board in order to give a shot.

However if you're concerned that the numbers are uncomfortably low for you to shoot, you do not want to feed your kitty before giving a shot. The food artificially raises the pre-shot number. You stall and don't feed until you see numbers rising
 
Back
Top