6/25 Tessa AMPS 225 +11.25 365 PMPS 409 DENTAL

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...97-holding-dose-longer-than-10-cycles.291419/

We're back from the dental and it went very well. Tessa took the trip like a champ but she was definitely stressed. She laid down in the litter box for a few minutes when she got home which she never does. She's been up and moving around for a little bit though and is laying on her favorite pillow in my office now.

The vet ended up leaving the incisors but took all of the other teeth. She did X-rays before and after and they also did cone beam CT beforehand to see more detail including bone loss (they showed us afterwards and wow is that a cool technology!). Initially she said we could opt to keep one premolar and 2 canines but we decided to just get those removed as well because there's no guarantee that they'd stay healthy. We opted to leave the incisors because she isn't showing any inflammation there and those are easier for a normal vet to remove if they become a problem. Plus it will allow her to keep her tongue in her mouth a little easier.

Hopefully we won't regret that decision. I second guessed myself all the way home but it's too late to change our minds now. Both the veterinary dentist today and the regular vet who did the extractions on 4/30 said that her incisors looked good and healthy so I feel like I made the right call but things could always change.

The vet said if she was eating well that we could give her full dose of insulin tonight. She scarfed down the half meal we gave her at PMPS so we gave her the other half of her food and gave her the full dose of insulin.

She got Zorbium (transdermal Buprenorphin) at the vet along with a Cerenia injection. She was given 3 Onsior pills to take, 1 per day starting tomorrow morning. We also have a prescription for gabapentin that we can give her starting in 3-4 days if needed.

Today was exhausting and VERY expensive but 100% worth it to make sure Tessa is healthy and pain-free. Hopefully she will be fully healed and feeling good very soon.
 
Last edited:
I know you are glad that’s done! Be careful not to overfeed tonight. My vet always says after anesthesia to give 1/2 the normal food that night. I’m glad she seems well. When the meds wear off by morning don’t be surprised if her appetite is off.
 
I know you are glad that’s done! Be careful not to overfeed tonight. My vet always says after anesthesia to give 1/2 the normal food that night. I’m glad she seems well. When the meds wear off by morning don’t be surprised if her appetite is off.

The vet said if she if she was feeling up to eating that we could give her a normal amount of food. I'm going a bit lower than usual but still close to normal spread out over several meals. She normally eats about 4.5 ounces of food per cycle and she's had about 3oz tonight. I was going to leave more but I'll pick it up and put it in the fridge for tomorrow. I'll honestly be surprised if she doesn't eat tomorrow, Tessa is a food goblin and will eat pretty much no matter what. She'll eat food with gabapentin mixed in if that tells you anything about her lol.
 
Back
Top