mariko
Member Since 2011
Good morning!
I am going to repeat some of what I wrote in yesterday morning's condo because it disappeared, and I didn't re-write.
Yesterday's condo
Yesterday
AMPS=155 (0.75u); +2=162; +8.5=319; +10.5=304
PMPS=274 (0.5u); +2.5=194; +3.5=198; +5.75=193; +9.5=158
Today
AMPS=167 (0.5u); +2.5=191; +8.75=218
PMPS=216 (0.5u); +2.5=223
Lucy's cobalamin test came back, and she's too high again. :roll:
The lab ss is updated with both Lucy's & Ginger's latest b/w, if you care to take a look please.
The vet is happy that Lucy's getting enough B-12, but wants to reduce the dose from every other week to every 3 weeks.
Her white cell count is pretty high again.
The vet said that the high white cell count combined with the low total protein indicates that her IBD is severe.
She said that is the biggest issue with her right now, and probably will not be treated with food change alone.
We discussed our options, and decided to put Lucy on chlorambucil, which she said she has used for severe IBD and lymphoma patients.
She said one of the side effects of this drug is bone marrow suppression, and she's had one cat patient that went anemic on it, but recovered quickly after stopping it.
The vet thinks it's not a dangerous medication as long as we monitor closely.
So, I am going to start giving chlorambucil from this weekend.
The vet suggested I start on weekend so I can keep an eye, and also she works from Sunday to Wednesday so if anything happens I can call her.
She said if it was going to cause bone marrow suppression, we'd know early, so we are to re-check her CBC within 7 to 10 days.
I am thinking about checking twice, first after a week because I want to catch it early if it's going to cause anemia, and then again after another week in case the first one was too early.
I'l have to discuss with the vet if this is a reasonable idea.
She said usually they start from a higher dose before moving onto a maintenance dose, but she was considering skipping the starting dose part, and just start her on a maintenance dose.
Partly because Lucy is a sensitive cat, partly because I get stressed with new things, partly because I was really worried about it causing inappetence.
Another thing she said is that it usually takes 3 weeks for chlorambucil to take effect.
:?: :?: These are pretty much all I know about chlorambucil so far.
If anyone has any experience or knows about chlorambucil, I'd really appreciate any input.
Did it work? Did it cause nausea? etc. etc. :?: :?:
Lucy had a good appy day yesterday, but her appy is just so-so this morning.
She finished the 1st breakfast, and I am about to offer the 2nd serving.
Sorry about the long post again.
I hope everyone's having a nice day.
I am going to repeat some of what I wrote in yesterday morning's condo because it disappeared, and I didn't re-write.
Yesterday's condo
Yesterday
AMPS=155 (0.75u); +2=162; +8.5=319; +10.5=304
PMPS=274 (0.5u); +2.5=194; +3.5=198; +5.75=193; +9.5=158
Today
AMPS=167 (0.5u); +2.5=191; +8.75=218
PMPS=216 (0.5u); +2.5=223
Lucy's cobalamin test came back, and she's too high again. :roll:
The lab ss is updated with both Lucy's & Ginger's latest b/w, if you care to take a look please.
The vet is happy that Lucy's getting enough B-12, but wants to reduce the dose from every other week to every 3 weeks.
Her white cell count is pretty high again.
The vet said that the high white cell count combined with the low total protein indicates that her IBD is severe.
She said that is the biggest issue with her right now, and probably will not be treated with food change alone.
We discussed our options, and decided to put Lucy on chlorambucil, which she said she has used for severe IBD and lymphoma patients.
She said one of the side effects of this drug is bone marrow suppression, and she's had one cat patient that went anemic on it, but recovered quickly after stopping it.
The vet thinks it's not a dangerous medication as long as we monitor closely.
So, I am going to start giving chlorambucil from this weekend.
The vet suggested I start on weekend so I can keep an eye, and also she works from Sunday to Wednesday so if anything happens I can call her.
She said if it was going to cause bone marrow suppression, we'd know early, so we are to re-check her CBC within 7 to 10 days.
I am thinking about checking twice, first after a week because I want to catch it early if it's going to cause anemia, and then again after another week in case the first one was too early.
I'l have to discuss with the vet if this is a reasonable idea.
She said usually they start from a higher dose before moving onto a maintenance dose, but she was considering skipping the starting dose part, and just start her on a maintenance dose.
Partly because Lucy is a sensitive cat, partly because I get stressed with new things, partly because I was really worried about it causing inappetence.
Another thing she said is that it usually takes 3 weeks for chlorambucil to take effect.
:?: :?: These are pretty much all I know about chlorambucil so far.
If anyone has any experience or knows about chlorambucil, I'd really appreciate any input.
Did it work? Did it cause nausea? etc. etc. :?: :?:
Lucy had a good appy day yesterday, but her appy is just so-so this morning.
She finished the 1st breakfast, and I am about to offer the 2nd serving.
Sorry about the long post again.
I hope everyone's having a nice day.