6/25 Kiwi, AMPS 413, need dosing help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiwi F

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98423&p=1052694#p1052694

AMPS 413 !! Help?

Kiwi's AMPS have been going up since the day we started insulin. In fact, 413 is the highest reading I've gotten on him since before his remission last year. Shouldn't his bg be lower now, even if his dose is too low, than it was before insulin? Does this make sense to anyone who knows more than me? Is there any possibility he's bouncing, like he did last time? Or is this a straightforward need of a higher dose? Sometimes the insulin does seen to get him into the blues now and again. Any thoughts?

I want to get him to a safe place as quickly as possible. But that said, I do have an obstacle ...due to my own health situation, I can't always watch him as closely as I would like (without much warning). I could use some suggestions regarding that too (what to do if he is dropping, and I suddenly become unable to monitor him for a few hours). Should it be sufficient to give him some food if that's about to happen? If you can think of any precautions I can take, please let me know.

Thanks for your help. And if anyone thinks its time to change his dose, I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Kim and Kiwi
 
Re: 6/25 Kiwi, AMPS 413

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but fingers crossed kiwi starts working the juice and shows off some nice blues and greens soon .. have a great day!
 
I think it's probably both. The red AMPS is likely due to a bounce off of the 180 the previous cycle. If you notice, Kiwi dropped 200 points in 3 hours -- hence the bounce. I would see how Kiwi does tonight and tomorrow AM. If Kiwi isn't busy bouncing tomorrow at the PM cycle, I'd consider increasing then.
 
Kiwi's +2 is higher than his PS. That hasn't happened before. I'm sure it wasn't a fur shot.
 
There could be a couple of explanations. It may be a remaining food spike. However, it's really not different that the pre-shot. If you factor in 20% for meter variance, they are really pretty much the same number.
 
You're right....I KEEP forgetting the variance. And as far as a food spike... I can't believe I didn't think of that. Where is my brain at??? Thanks, Sienne, for answering my dumb questions...its appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top