6/25 Kitty AMPS 397, +1 376, +3 98, +4 43, +5 60, +6, 183, +7 275, +8 389

Miss Kitty Berry

Member Since 2024
Hello,

I have never really posted on here so pardon the long first post. Honestly, I am not even sure what I am looking for in posting on here but we are at our wits end. We have been struggling to find the right balance for my cat Kitty and she is bouncing all over the place. As you can see on my spreadsheet, we started at 1 unit of lantus and the vet changed us to 1.5 because her numbers were still really high. It appeared to be doing the trick and she was doing great on it but then the day we took her to vet for her 1 month recheck, she started bouncing all over the place and has not really leveled out since.

We had our first below 70 reading on 5/23 and our first real hypo event with scary symptoms on 6/12 and it scared the daylights out of us! We spoke to the vet and agreed that we might need to lower the dose but she needed a glucose curve. With me working, it is hard to get an at home glucose curve done so we opted to get a Freestyle libre 2 put on instead so that we did not have prick her so often. Boy am I glad we did!!

The first full day with the CGM, we had 3 low glucose alarms (I have it set for 100 because I know there is a bit of a lag between the actual BG and the sensor glucose levels due to what they are each measuring) with no symptoms. We checked against the Alpha trak and the numbers were often pretty much the same but one of the times, the Libre was giving a false low. This morning, however, we had another actual, symptomatic low event and spent another hour trying to get her numbers up. We literally just got her blood test results last night and talked to the vet about keeping her at the 1 unit for now and seeing what happens. Now I am thinking we need to talk ASAP about a med change. This does not look like typical remission indicators, right? Could we be experiencing bouncing/rebounding?

Also, do I need a new spreadsheet now that I am using the Freestyle libre? What changes do I need to make the spreadsheet?

If this is not the place to post these kinds of things, please just let me know and I will move my post. Thanks!!
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-pre-insulin-130.289346/#post-3174241

@Bandit's Mom can recode tge ss for the Libre.

I’m not sure if you have chosen a method to follow but your ss says SLGS. If that’s correct, add it to your signature. If you want to follow SLGS a reduction was earned with the bg under 90 but you raised the dose. Are you going to switch to TR? If so you still hold the dose with the bg hitting 55. . Nice to see three hours of green. The only thing is the Libre often reads lower than an ear prick and definitely lower than the AT. So if you see a bg under 50 check with an ear prick when possible.

So it’s confusing that she was symptomatic of a hypo. What were the symptoms? Tge ss did not show that 43. Reduce to .75 at the next shot and stick with that. She’s bouncing a lot which is common with newly diagnosed cats. It took Max about 9 months to regulate but every cat is different.

I’d get some high carb canned food when you go to the market to use to bring up the bg. It works quickly, within 20-30 minutes but you need to keep giving food until the bg is up for a couple of hours.
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-pre-insulin-130.289346/#post-3174241

@Bandit's Mom can recode tge ss for the Libre.

I’m not sure if you have chosen a method to follow but your ss says SLGS. If that’s correct, add it to your signature. If you want to follow SLGS a reduction was earned with the bg under 90 but you raised the dose. Are you going to switch to TR? If so you still hold the dose with the bg hitting 55. . Nice to see three hours of green. The only thing is the Libre often reads lower than an ear prick and definitely lower than the AT. So if you see a bg under 50 check with an ear prick when possible.

So it’s confusing that she was symptomatic of a hypo. What were the symptoms? Tge ss did not show that 43. Reduce to .75 at the next shot and stick with that. She’s bouncing a lot which is common with newly diagnosed cats. It took Max about 9 months to regulate but every cat is different.

I’d get some high carb canned food when you go to the market to use to bring up the bg. It works quickly, within 20-30 minutes but you need to keep giving food until the bg is up for a couple of hours.

Its so good to know that the bouncing is not abnormal early on! As far as the dosing, I have not really done any research into the two methods. I have just been following what my vet recommends and she has basically only given me directions "1 unit twice a day" or similar. It took me almost a month to get any more direction than that and it was just "don't give a shot under 100". Do you have any links to explanations of how the two work? I am just trying to get her regulated (hopefully) without having a hypo event.

I wasn't sure how to track the multiple numbers at each hour in the SS since we were testing about every 5-15 mins. Today, her symptoms were general lethargy, meowing like she was injured (or going to puke, she has what we call a "guttural" meow she does when she is about to have a hairball), and she was slightly limp. She just dropped so fast!! As soon as we saw the first number under 100, we did a prick test. She was 98 on the Libre and 88 on the Alpha trak. We fed high carb food and waited about 15 mins. Libre then showed 53 and an arrow showing it was dropping (and she started acting slightly lethargic) so we started testing about every 5-15 mins for an hour and a half, depending on how she was acting. We would give glucose gel in some delectable squeeze up treat and retest after a few minutes. Some of the number were as follows: Libre-45/AT-55, Libre-50/AT-50, Libre-43/AT-43, Libre only-50, Libre-63/AT-72, Libre-61/AT-50, and finally Libre-83/AT-92. We think that we were fighting against the insulin for a bit because we would give her a generous helping of high carb food and/or glucose gel and it would come up a tiny bit and then drop again. Now she is shooting high as she is at 420 on the ear prick just now.

Is it abnormal for her to be showing those signs at a reading of 43-55? I was told by my vet that she could start having convulsions or slip into a coma at anything below 60. The numbers portion of this whole ordeal is very confusing because I seem to get different numbers from different sources on what is "normal" and what is not.

Thanks for the reply! Much appreciated! :)
 
Last edited:
Vet just called and she wants us to skip tonight's dose and then give her 0.5 in the morning. I might go ahead with a 0.5 dose tonight too since she bounced up so high...
 
I’m just now seeing this. When is insulin time?

It takes 20-30 minutes for food to increase the bg. If symptomatic add some honey to the food and it works in about 15 minutes. I’ll answer more but need to know about the dose tonight.
 
Low in the AT is under 68. On a human meter it’s under 50. So you do want to feed high carb or Karo or honey if the bg is low. I was confused as to whether the ss showed Libre or AT numbers. Thanks for posting that.

Every cat is different but Max hit the 30’s and 40’s and never had a symptomatic hypo. He would get ravenous and meow to let me know. Some cats have been symptomatic at those levels. When under 68 on the AT, 50 on a human meter, or acting strangely go for the high carbs and test every 20 minutes. Feed small amounts to keep her hungry. If she won’t eat rub honey on the gums every 15 minutes. It takes more than 5 minutes to bring up the bg.

A reduction is definitely needed no matter whether you follow one of our methods or your vet. I’ll link the methods sticky. If high you can shoot .50.

if you are feeding all canned or raw. Food you can choose either method.
 
I just tested her again with an ear prick and she was 434. Vet wanted me to skip the dose but I do not think they saw how high she went since the front desk lady was communicating to the Dr. for me. I went ahead with a 0.5 unit dose and I will watch her closely. Insulin time is 6:30 my time and I just gave the small dose at 7:15. I think we should be okay for tonight but I will update if there is any complications. Thanks again!
 
I just tested her again with an ear prick and she was 434. Vet wanted me to skip the dose but I do not think they saw how high she went since the front desk lady was communicating to the Dr. for me. I went ahead with a 0.5 unit dose and I will watch her closely. Insulin time is 6:30 my time and I just gave the small dose at 7:15. I think we should be okay for tonight but I will update if there is any complications. Thanks again!

That’s good. The .50 is probably what you should use as her dose now since she had a symptomatic hypo. If more is needed you can go up but no sooner than 3-5 days if you follow TR or 7 days with SLGS.

We are from all over the states and the world so we use +times. I think you might be on pacifuc time as am I. Is that right?
 
Back
Top