? 6/25 Ivy AMPS 274, +2 139, +3 104,+4 118, +6 135, +9 257, PMPS 357, Diet Change

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...338-increase-carb-recipe.278879/#post-3083063
Ivy is on Lantus dose of 3.25 for the past 13 days. We are doing SLGS now.
She’s been peeing and drinking more than normal. She’s been in 300s most of the time on 3.25 dose.
(When she was previously on 3.5 units Lantus, she was constantly bouncing and diving very low, sometimes under 100 on the human Contour meter, which I cross check against Libre 3, when in very low numbers.)
She is not carb sensitive and doesn’t really get a bump from LC food. She needs MC to get a bump.

Today I fed her at AMPS 50/50 (approx 9.25% carb) combined LC 6% carb recipe with new 12.5% carb lamb & sweet potato recipe to see how she responds to a little higher carb diet.

As if she knew I want to increase Lantus dose back to 3.5 Units, this morning (before AMPS) at +10 to +12 she dropped steeply from upper 200s/low 300s and has spent the past 4+ hours surfing in the mid to lower 100’s (on Libre).
If she goes very low on Libre, under 50, I will cross check on Contour meter as that’s when she is actually under 100 on the contour meter). I have fed her a 2 TBSP snack LC/MC blend at +2, then 1 Tsp LC at +3 to help her surf in 100s (on Libre)

Question: How long should I let her adjust to this new blend of LC & MC food before I increase her dose? I have read that you should not make a dietary or medicine change and then adjust insulin dose at same time. I don’t want her to repeat the constant dives under 100 by until I get her to adjust to some lower numbers and will follow SLGS.

Again, I am trying to give her a bit higher carb diet since when she was on 3.5 units & LC diet 6% carbs, she was constantly diving to low 100s and under 100 (on Contour Meter).
It was too hard on her and me *(with no sleep since it was round the clock dives, late Nadirs & bounces, etc).
Thanks.
This is what her AMPS and the past several hours have looked like on Libre graph.
upload_2023-6-25_10-20-40.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-25_10-20-40.png
    upload_2023-6-25_10-20-40.png
    90.6 KB · Views: 100
The guideline (for SLGS users) to delay dose changes while changing carbs in food is for those going to lower carb food. Since you are increasing the carbs, you can increase the dose any time.

You shouldn't be trying to avoid numbers under 100. It's only by spending time in those healthy healing numbers that she'll learn to stop bouncing. It's that bouncing that is causing her to hit higher numbers. Higher numbers means bigger drops than lower numbers.
 
The guideline (for SLGS users) to delay dose changes while changing carbs in food is for those going to lower carb food. Since you are increasing the carbs, you can increase the dose any time.

You shouldn't be trying to avoid numbers under 100. It's only by spending time in those healthy healing numbers that she'll learn to stop bouncing. It's that bouncing that is causing her to hit higher numbers. Higher numbers means bigger drops than lower numbers.
Thank you, Wendy :)
 
Back
Top