6/25 Gilbert AMPS=358 +5.5=323 PMPS=353 dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christy & Gilbert

Member Since 2013
I got some ketone strips @ the vet a couple of days ago (not Gilbert's vet)...she is about an hr away & was on vaca as well. We talked about Gilbert & his diabetes while I was there...she recommended going up .50 next increase instead of .25 by the sound of his #s. What do you guys think? It almost seems like his #s were better when we 1st started Lantus a couple of wks ago @ 1.25u. I have read info on lantus, but still need assistance w/ experienced fur baby moms & dads.
 
I would raise his dose by .25u to 2.25u tomorrow morning. His nadirs are in the 200s; I don't think he needs a larger increase. He might need closer to 4u eventually but not now.......just continue to take him up in accordance with the protocol.
 
Here's the info on increases:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
There are a couple of cycles where you don't have spot checks and it's possible that Gilbert's nadir was under 300. Without the tests, it's probably safest to increase by 0.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top