Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Hugs to you Elise ~ here is Eddie's condo. :smile:
6/23 Condo
YESTERDAY: AMPS/245, +2.5/282, +6/257, +11/262, PMPS/316, +2/309, +4/309, +5/285, +6/275, +8/266
TODAY: AMPS/243, +2.5/216, +6.5/169, +7.5/204, +8/202, +10.5/297, PMPS/419 :cry:, +2/360, +4/300
Hi LL. Something is going wrong here and I'm hopeful someone has some suggestions as to what to do. This pattern is not typical for Eddie at all so I have no idea how to interpret it.
Despite walking up the dose, Eddie's numbers are barely budging for the last 5 days. :cry: He last had green nadirs (propped up steering with food) on the PM cycle of 6/20. He's hit blue twice since then. Other than that, it's been yellow (mostly around or above renal threshold) or pink, and then this horrible red tonight for PMPS.
I'm beating my head on a wall here, and hope someone can help maybe rule in/out some of these things?
Bouncing - still?? 9 cycles of bouncing would be way longer than normal for Eddie. I suppose it's possible that he dropped between AM +2.5 and AM +6.5 today, but Eddie's not usually a huge diver, so I really doubt that he nadired super low, super early today. Bouncing off mid-blues at nadir today? Maybe - but bouncing into the 400's is really pretty unusual for Eddie.
NDW? AM's cycle was the 4th cycle at 1.75, so I'd be very surprised if it were still NDW. He usually seems to see some movement within the first two or three cycles after an increase - particularly when he's had good nadirs on the last dose.
Needs more juice? I can live with that. Glucose toxicity getting ahead of us? Probably need to increase after 6 cycles if this keeps up?
Insulin is toast? We have a vial from 4/4, so it's getting close to 3 months old. It looks fine. We try to be very gentle with it. Not in the fridge door, kept refrigerated, etc. I have busted DH sometimes see-sawing the dose. The vial did travel with us, but I think we kept it pretty stable. Vet was initially reluctant to prescribe pens when we first switched to Lantus, simply because she had never heard of anyone using pens for a cat, so I didn't force the issue. Now, I am going to press the issue with pens. If it is in fact the vial, and I have to get another vial - that's an extra $200 for a new vial to test whether or not the current one is shot. :YMSIGH:
Infection? Eddie doesn't have any symptoms of a URI or UTI or dental infection. I know they checked out his teeth when he was first diagnosed, and there was nothing obvious. I can't see anything obvious. He's not pawing at his mouth, and his appetite is totally normal. We did have one inappropriate pee incident a few weeks ago when I caught Eddie peeing on a towel. Since then, I don't think he's had any other inappropriate pees. He's not straining or avoiding the litter box. In fact, I put him in his box tonight to see if he'd pee so I could get a ketone test, and my ever-cooperative boy did pee. I saw no evidence of discomfort or straining. No snuffles or sneezing or goopy eyes. All P's are normal, except he does seem a little less energetic.
I called the vet tonight and have Eddie scheduled to go in on Friday afternoon. I'm not sure which vet we're even meeting with since I'm scheduling on short notice. Our regular vet is great and our regular tech is an angel, but some of the other staff have not historically been as good about working "with" us on Eddie's FD. Either way...I've requested B/W and a urinalysis? Anything else I should request?
Am I missing something? Panicking for no reason when I need to just pull up the patience pants?
6/23 Condo
YESTERDAY: AMPS/245, +2.5/282, +6/257, +11/262, PMPS/316, +2/309, +4/309, +5/285, +6/275, +8/266
TODAY: AMPS/243, +2.5/216, +6.5/169, +7.5/204, +8/202, +10.5/297, PMPS/419 :cry:, +2/360, +4/300
Hi LL. Something is going wrong here and I'm hopeful someone has some suggestions as to what to do. This pattern is not typical for Eddie at all so I have no idea how to interpret it.
Despite walking up the dose, Eddie's numbers are barely budging for the last 5 days. :cry: He last had green nadirs (propped up steering with food) on the PM cycle of 6/20. He's hit blue twice since then. Other than that, it's been yellow (mostly around or above renal threshold) or pink, and then this horrible red tonight for PMPS.
I'm beating my head on a wall here, and hope someone can help maybe rule in/out some of these things?
Bouncing - still?? 9 cycles of bouncing would be way longer than normal for Eddie. I suppose it's possible that he dropped between AM +2.5 and AM +6.5 today, but Eddie's not usually a huge diver, so I really doubt that he nadired super low, super early today. Bouncing off mid-blues at nadir today? Maybe - but bouncing into the 400's is really pretty unusual for Eddie.
NDW? AM's cycle was the 4th cycle at 1.75, so I'd be very surprised if it were still NDW. He usually seems to see some movement within the first two or three cycles after an increase - particularly when he's had good nadirs on the last dose.
Needs more juice? I can live with that. Glucose toxicity getting ahead of us? Probably need to increase after 6 cycles if this keeps up?
Insulin is toast? We have a vial from 4/4, so it's getting close to 3 months old. It looks fine. We try to be very gentle with it. Not in the fridge door, kept refrigerated, etc. I have busted DH sometimes see-sawing the dose. The vial did travel with us, but I think we kept it pretty stable. Vet was initially reluctant to prescribe pens when we first switched to Lantus, simply because she had never heard of anyone using pens for a cat, so I didn't force the issue. Now, I am going to press the issue with pens. If it is in fact the vial, and I have to get another vial - that's an extra $200 for a new vial to test whether or not the current one is shot. :YMSIGH:
Infection? Eddie doesn't have any symptoms of a URI or UTI or dental infection. I know they checked out his teeth when he was first diagnosed, and there was nothing obvious. I can't see anything obvious. He's not pawing at his mouth, and his appetite is totally normal. We did have one inappropriate pee incident a few weeks ago when I caught Eddie peeing on a towel. Since then, I don't think he's had any other inappropriate pees. He's not straining or avoiding the litter box. In fact, I put him in his box tonight to see if he'd pee so I could get a ketone test, and my ever-cooperative boy did pee. I saw no evidence of discomfort or straining. No snuffles or sneezing or goopy eyes. All P's are normal, except he does seem a little less energetic.
I called the vet tonight and have Eddie scheduled to go in on Friday afternoon. I'm not sure which vet we're even meeting with since I'm scheduling on short notice. Our regular vet is great and our regular tech is an angel, but some of the other staff have not historically been as good about working "with" us on Eddie's FD. Either way...I've requested B/W and a urinalysis? Anything else I should request?
Am I missing something? Panicking for no reason when I need to just pull up the patience pants?