6/25 Ann & Maggie AMPS 85; PMPS 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
I think it would be worthwhile to try a dose shave to 0.1 units. She has been in low numbers overall for a week, other than whatever happened today. I wouldn't try OTJ just yet, let's give her some time with a drop of insulin.

Here is what Dr. Rand says about the feline meter:

Instead of aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in
contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.

Hi Libby,
Thanks so much for your help and for the above info. I have to remember I'm following a slightly different protocol than the others with this meter. Sorry I didn't get back to you and Sienne last evening. I received a phone call that lasted too long and then fell asleep. I thought I'd start a new condo with a +6 after yesterday's pm shot. Maggie awakened me at midnight which was six hours after her pm shot, so I tested and got a 102 bg on the Alpha Trak. Smart little girl making me get up and test; she really wanted food, of course! Yes, I love the little Relion and was tempted to start using it because of the savings on strips, but the Alpha is the one I've been using. I think the only other one, besides you and Jazzie, using the Alpha is Six. I am amazed at the difference in readings.

I'm comfortable shooting a 0.1 units, as I'm also not quite sure she's ready for a trial OTJ. My Vet says she seems to need just a little Lantus to keep her stable. I have almost two hours before I do her AMPS shot, so I'll back later with that reading.

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18083
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102

My thinking is along the same lines as Libby's. Let's see if Maggie keeps in these good numbers on a drop. I'm all for making sure her pancreas is given every last second of assistance that it may need.

Some of the human meters run numbers close to that of the AlphaTrack -- that's why I asked. If the Relion was consistently lower, then you know where Maggie's numbers sit relative to both meters.

Thanks Sienne. I didn't realize there would be so much difference between the human meters!! How can anyone know they are getting a true reading? I am going to ask my Vet if they use the Alpha Trak when they do a bg reading.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

Hey, this is a nice surprise! I really didn't expect her to be this low. Libby and Sienne, you asked if I had compared the human meter to the Alpha Trak, and I did it this morning (poor Maggie's ear; this time it didn't cooperate). Anyway, the Relion meter read 67 bg, and the Alpha Trak read 85. This time it was only an 18 bg difference in readings. The other time when I was testing, it was a 27 bg difference in meters, strange. So now I wonder if the Relion meter is off a bit!

She was very feisty and playful this morning, so a good start for the weekend. I measured 0.1 and hope I got something in her. I guess we'lll see next check. I wonder if I need to give her a little HC?
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

It's not strange at all. The difference is most likely a percentage of the number on one meter vs. the other. As a result, the higher the number on the AlphaTrack, the larger the number. (i.e., if you have a reading of 200 on the AT and there's a 10% difference between the meters, the Relion would read 180. If you had a reading of 100, the Relion would read 90. In the first case, it's a 20 point difference; in the second a 10 point difference.) If the difference is based on the standard error of measurement for each meter, the differences will be less at high and low numbers and greater in the middle numbers. (Sorry, I'm a research geek and I've had a lot of training in measurement.)

Keep an eye on Maggie's numbers and see if you can keep the numbers bumped up with food to keep her surfing above dose reduction territory. It's a good way to keep her pancreas supported.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

Nice numbers Maggie! beautiful!!
We are having a Full Moon party tomorrow...late in planning it...hope you can make it on such short notice maggie!
Have a great day!! Looking GREAT!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

Okay, I have a few hours' here at home, and I don't want her to go any lower while I'm gone today.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Nice numbers Maggie! beautiful!!
We are having a Full Moon party tomorrow...late in planning it...hope you can make it on such short notice maggie!
Have a great day!! Looking GREAT!!!

Maggie says she can make it anytime there is a party. She's already resting in preparation for the trip.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

OMG - Maggie is doing so well! I think it helps that you're using that Alpha Trak meter, because if you saw the lower numbers you get from the Relion, you might chicken out on her dose!!! If Kasha ever starts getting numbers like Maggie's, I'm going to have to remind myself that you were shooting these numbers with an Alpha Trak, so it should be ok... I'm such a wimp since I'm still getting used to Kasha having blue and green numbers fairly consistently...

Good going Maggie! You too, Ann! She's doing so amazingly well!
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80

Oh my, she's going the wrong way. She's eating the Sophisticat but was doing more sucking the juice than eating. Just now I fed her some Chopped Grill sophisticat and then topped it with some FF Chicken Feast & Gravy just to keep her from going lower. Just checking the syringe markings on the graphs, I believe the skinny .25 I was giving her was very close to a .01 unit! I didn't even think I got the drop in her this morning.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85

kryskat said:
OMG - Maggie is doing so well! I think it helps that you're using that Alpha Trak meter, because if you saw the lower numbers you get from the Relion, you might chicken out on her dose!!! If Kasha ever starts getting numbers like Maggie's, I'm going to have to remind myself that you were shooting these numbers with an Alpha Trak, so it should be ok... I'm such a wimp since I'm still getting used to Kasha having blue and green numbers fairly consistently...

Good going Maggie! You too, Ann! She's doing so amazingly well!

Thanks Krys. I think so, too, that with changing to the Relion, you're right, I probably would have done chicken shots. So best to stick with one!
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80

Maggie just wanted to make sure you knew she wanted this dosecrease... In case you were questioning it.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80

Nice Maggie! Go surfing now - surf's the word!

Ann, it's very hard to go hypo with the physical signs, on one drop,
I was scared of it too when we were on it, but the lowest Luna got was in the late 30's with no hypo signs.
ECID, and you've got good instincts as well as knowing Maggie.
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80; +6 76 Question

She keeps going lower, even with a little hc added to her regular food. Should I give her some gravy and hc? I just picked up some more today? This is very strange as I'm sure it was just a drop. She even was hiding under the bed, as the Maintenance man was here fixing a switch, and I thought her bg would be high from the stress.
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80; +6 76 Question

Unless you have to leave, I wouldn't gravy or HC this number,,,it's very nice!

if you want u can mix a little HC to the LC and then you see :lol:

little snacks along the way :)
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80; +6 76 Question

Ronnie & Luna said:
Unless you have to leave, I wouldn't gravy or HC this number,,,it's very nice!

if you want u can mix a little HC to the LC and then you see :lol:

little snacks along the way :)


I picked up some Prime Bites chicken. Even with the Alpha Trak, these numbers are okay??? She looks kind of sleepy! Maybe I'll go over and poke her!
 
Re: 6/25 Ann & Maggie +6 102; AMPS 85; +2 80; +6 76

+9 125

Well, back up to 125 bg. I cheated and added a little hc to her lc chopped grill.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top