6/24 Johnny PMPS 271 - *rambling indecisiveness inside*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Well, I think Johnny must have bounced again. Not too bad though. Hoping for more blues tomorrow.

Still working out details for while we are on vacation for a week (it's not an option to bring him). We have a trustworthy friend who came over last night to learn the ins and outs and she did the PM shot. She can only watch for 1/2 the week b/c she'll be out of town.

For the first 4 days, we have the option of a pet sitter (vet tech) coming in twice a day ($25/visit) or my in-laws. They have shockingly stepped up to the plate, I think out of guilt. The thing is that my FIL is a big cat person, but will literally get woozy and possibly pass out (has in the past) at the sight of blood. MIL says she can do the testing/shot and I don't doubt that she could, but she's not a big cat person (and talks loud, scaring any potential cat friends). Sigh. And they will be going to their house in MI for 4th of July, so Johnny would travel from Chicago to South Bend (where they live) and then another 6-7 hours to the Michigan house and back. He's an A+ traveler, but I worry about him being up there. Their cat (who Johnny gets along with) eats dry food and does not try to get outside when doors are left open bringing in whatever. Johnny just might try to get out. I'd have to trust them to be UBER cautious about that.

We also have a nervous friend who said she could stay with them and then backed out. I thought that having someone coming in to do the testing/shots that she would be fine, but she's still hesitant. Sigh again. She's unemployed, living at home and complains about the lack of privacy. Stay here for a few days! Sorry for the vent. This is just at the forefront of my mind. I'm not decisive and making emotionally charged decisions is worse. I just want a plan that I feel good about. Plus, I'm nervous about trusting someone else to reduce a microdose that we don't even feel 100% about hitting exactly after weeks...there's no good option for someone who will test, test, test like we have been doing.

Thanks for letting me get that out. Felt good!

6/22 thread (didn't get a thread up yesterday):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17945&p=177554#p177554
 
It is nerve wracking. I have friends who could test and shoot but are very reticent to learn because of the responsibility for watching a diabetic cat. Then, of course, my cat would probably not let them get near enough to test. Personally, I'd be leery of the in-laws. That's a huge amount of travel coupled with dry food and open doors. But, that's me.
 
Ok, glad u feel better Janice. LL is good for venting.

Sounds like you got some decisions to make, we know you'll do your best and safest for Johnny.

I just saw your SS, looks good!
Were you all nervous and antsee today? Maybe he felt a bit of your stress, but he's doing very well you know.
 
Hmmmm... We were saddled with a decision like that, literally one week into our diagnosis and DM fun. We ended up boarding Vesta at a place that would test and shoot on a good schedule. It wasn't the best situation, as she would have done better at home (always preferable), but honestly, the guys there said she totally hammed it up and enjoyed herself.

If we were to do it again, I'd just pay the $50/day for the sitter. Yeah, it blows spending that kind of money, but I know I'd feel better having someone with experience.

One more option- could the inlaws do a few days, then have the petsitter take over when they have to leave for the 4th? You'd save a bit of $$ that way.

As far as dosing- I'd leave a syringe with the plunger where you guys do your 0.35 as an example. Or, since it seems Johnny likes to go low on this dose during the PM cycle, maybe consider having them shoot a lower (and maybe easier to measure?) dose while you're away, just to be safe. You can double-check with the dosing experts. You may or may not lose a little progress in the mean time, but it's better safe than sorry if someone's not going to be as anal-retentive about testing as you (I mean that in a good way- god knows we are always more paranoid about our furbabies than others are).

Good luck....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top