6/24 Jimmy amps 185 Please help with dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

chloe1

Member Since 2012
I'm new to this forum so please forgive if I'm not in the right section, I recently posted on the Health forum. Jimmy was running consistently high numbers for the past month often at over 550. He's undergone alot and needed alot of calories to gain his weight back. As of 2-3 weeks ago he was put on 3u of Lantus 2x a day. At this level still very high, the 400 range. About 2 weeks ago I bumped him to 3 1/2u- no change, 5 days later went to 4u- some change (330 on average, morning and night) For 3 days now he's been on 4 1/2u- still the 330 average (once it was 285, once it went up to 508 but I think he overate) I've started feeding him less and he's not peeing as much and seems to be doing better. As I said he NEEDED the calories before so 'we' just had to deal with the high numbers 'till he could put on the weight. My question is: last night I gave him 5u and woke up this morning and he was at 185. This morning I went back to the 4 1/2u because I just felt uneasy about the 5u (for whatever reason). I'm not real sure what to do tonight IF he's back at the 185 number. I usually leave food out at night if he needs it- it's not his favorite so I'm not worrried about him indulging (dry DM). Do you think if he's at the 185 number to give him the 4 1/2u of course with food left out, or what? try back at the 3- 3 1/2? I'll keep checking his numbers throughout the day. Thank you all.
 
Re: AMPS 185

Hi, and Welcome to the forum. :-D

Is your name Chloe?

You'll want to get a spreadsheet up, so we can help you with dosing questions. I will say one thing, and that is we usually do dose adjustments in 1/4 unit increments. Do you have the syringes with the 1/2 unit marks on them?

Also, taking away the dry food and replacing it with low carb wet food, will help tremendously. You'll want to do that gradually as it could lower his blood glucose numbers quite a bit, so you'll have to be around and able to monitor and test Jimmy, when you do.

Ask all the questions, you need, and post all the numbers you get today.

We may ask you a lot of questions, too, so be patient while we get to know you and Jimmy's situation.

Have a great day!
 
Re: AMPS 185

Hi!

Welcome to Lantus Land! You are in the right place, in fact the best place to be for you and Jimmy. There are lots of supportive very knowledgeable people here to help you and Jimmy get him on the right track and keep him there.

We like to do our subject line a certain way to make sure you get help right away. If you could fix it please (click your message, click edit, then change it to read: "6/24-Jimmy-AMPS-185, Help with Dose" you will attract the correct eyes to help you.

I'm glad to see that you're home testing. We usually increase by 1/4 units to 1/2 units on longterm large users to make sure we don't miss the best dose and 5u is a large dose however Jimmy is eating dry food which raises the bg. We have pros at dosing & I will let them advise you but generally we switch diabetic cats to wet food. It's much better for them. My Racci started on the dry dm also but eats wet food with low carbs now and the difference is amazing. The change allowed me to get her regulated.

You also will need a spreadsheet to keep track of her bg's and anything else of note in her day. We have a link to it that I will get you in a minute. That will make it easier to help you. What is your name? Also can you supply a link to your thread on health?

Melanie & Racci

Here is the link to the spreadsheet and instructions:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?p=179835#p179835

and the links to canned foods comparisons. You want low carbs:

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B8Uu8g1u8Su9YTgxNGE1MDItM2MyMC00Y2Y3LWI4ODMtMzhkYTkxOGM4NThk/edit
 
Re: AMPS 185

Hi, welcome to Lantus Land, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :-D You're at the right place to figure out the best care for Jimmy. Dyana is right to get Jimmy off the dry and onto the wet food. The amount of carbs in dry food is way too high for kitties.

Another thing I suggest is setting up a spreadsheet. The instructions are here. That's how we keep track of a kitty's history so the dosing experts (not me!) can quickly asses what's going on.

The starred sticky notes at the top of the forum have tons of useful information and will take some time to digest so please check those out. Meanwhile, please ask questions. We understand what you're going through.

Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Thank you for your replies and I will definitely switch him back to the canned DM. I'm not real computer saavy. He was in the high 300's on 4u for about a week. I then switched him to 4 1/2u for the last 3 days and he was running in the low 300's. Last night I gave him the 5u and he was at 185 this morning. I gave him 4 1/2u this morning, and he's doing ok. He was at 218 at 11:00 and 162 right now at 2:22pm. The food is left out and he's not overindulging (unless I were to put the wet). I'm not sure what to do tonight at 6:30pm if he has such "great" numbers. It seems like that 1/2 dose from 4 1/2 to 5 did the trick, but...now what? I gave him the 4 1/2 this morning. He hasn't been in the 160's for EVER it seems. A little history: he got real sick so the vet pretty much gave him carte blanche with his food, as much as he wanted when he wanted- recovery was looking slim :sad: He's doing so much better now- like a brand new cat, so we're having to start everything over, insulin and eating. I changed his food and gradually went to the dry (about a week now) He's not peeing as much and seems to be more comfortable- sleeping with me again at night, playing a little (just more himself). He's not gorging himself with the food because it's not his favorite, but I do give him a little Friskies pate as treats and during his "official" dinner time. I guess I'm more concerned with what to do with a 160bg at 4 1/2u (but for only 3 days now) AND did that 5u last night "fluke" set it off? Do you think I should skip or give him ? Thank you. oh, and yes my name's Chloe
 
Welcome, Chloe!!

As you can probably tell, we're pretty numbers driven here. It is hard for me to keep all of the information you're providing about Jimmy's tests in my head -- I'm more of a visual person and very used to looking at the spreadsheets that we all use. We also log the information in what may initially seem a peculiar way. The test you get immediately before you give insulin is your AM or PMPS (AM or PM Pre-Shot). Everything works in relation to when you shoot. So if you test 3 hours after you've given Jimmy his shot, that test is your +3. If it's 8 hours after his shot, it's your +8. The reason for this is that people here are in different time zones do your 2:00 isn't necessarily my 2:00. Also, it gives us a better idea of where your cat is in terms of the the twice a day insulin cycle.

If you can't get the spreadsheet up and running, would it be possible for you to give us the times and test data and how much insulin you were giving even if you have to list it out?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top