? 6/24 Ivy AMPS 363, 228 +3, 285+6, 400+9, PMPS 338 Increase Carb Recipe

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...t-out-vaca-dose-question.278754/#post-3082300
Ivy has been on a lowered Lantus dose of 3.25 for the past 12 days while we waited to get a reformulation of her home cooked diet from her nutritionist.
I finally got the recipe and made it today. It is 12.5% carbs lamb & sweet potato plus supplements.
(Sounds high carbs to me, but her 6% carb recipe was not able to handle taking her into higher doses of insulin, needed to bring down her glucose.)
She’s been peeing and drinking more than normal.
When she was on 3.5 units Lantus, she was constantly bouncing and diving very low, sometimes under 100 on the human Contour meter, which I cross check against Libre 3, when in very low numbers.

I would like to start her on this higher carb recipe tomorrow morning for a few days see what her numbers do, and then try to raise her dose to 3.5 again.

Question: Does anyone know how long to try the new recipe before increasing the insulin dose?
Thank you.
 
It’s middle carb. Do you have her lc also? You will need both. I would feed lc and switch to mc if her bg starts to drop too fast. I’d start that immediately because you don’t want insulin resistance and her bg is staying too high. Have you gotten any ear pricks or relying on the libre only?
 
It’s middle carb. Do you have her lc also? You will need both. I would feed lc and switch to mc if her bg starts to drop too fast. I’d start that immediately because you don’t want insulin resistance and her bg is staying too high. Have you gotten any ear pricks or relying on the libre only?
I do have her LC 6% food, but when she was on 3.5 u Lantus she was diving constantly. So I lowered her dose and went back to SLGS. she definitely could not handle the higher dose of insulin on the low carb food. That’s why I had it reformulated to be higher to try to handle higher dose of the insulin.
I have not gotten any ear pricks because she has not dropped low on this dose.
 
She’s not been low. If she were my day I would increase now and use the mc to guide the curve. You can see what others think.
 
As I said, start with l and if yiu see a drop fast or too low then give some mc to see if it slows her down.
 
As I said, start with l and if yiu see a drop fast or too low then give some mc to see if it slows her down.
I tried low carb and she did go straight down under 100. It was constant and that’s why I lowered her dose. Her LC doesn’t seem to be able to handle the highly dose.
Can I try a higher carb to handle the higher dose?
I'm not sure what else to try. I’m at my wit’s end.
 
Back
Top