6/24 Heart Back in Black :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope Heart's bg comes down. Is he eating? He's a gorgeous boy kitty! Hang in there; I'm sure some others will comment. Hugs for Heart and you.
 
dodgingwrenches said:
Oh yeah, he's still loving his wet food and begging anytime someone is in the kitchen!


That is good to hear he is a good eater. Sometimes with a high bg they are picky with eating. Good thoughts for Heart today.
 
What would you think about raising Heart's dose tonight? It's been 6 cycles (3 days) at this dose and I think both you and Heart would like to see better numbers.
 
If Sienne suggested a dose increase, I'd listen to her! She knows what she's talking about!)

I can't see your SS from work... but if this keeps up, despite increasing his dose, you might want to consider a vet visit to rule out an infection... Kasha gets really high numbers when she has a UTI...
 
I'm honestly afraid of going back to the vet. How do I tell him that I have gone rogue and ignored his Novolin 5 units twice per day prescription? Heart has always had high numbers though since diagnosis, and at the time no infection (had complete bloodwork done), so not sure if he would have gotten one in the past month since then. Is there some way, at home, that I can check for an infection? I know with ferrets, they'd have a fever which means warm paws. Hearts paws are cool, although is body is very warm (could be the heat though - we don't have A/C)

I will try an increase to 3 units tonight. Checked a few pharmacies, but still haven't found one that sells syringes with half unit markings, and I can't eyeball a quarter unit increase. I did just order some new Lantus just in case its a bad batch, but then again, I'm on the same batch as Odiesmom, so I'm sure if there was a problem with the batch, she'd have problems, too. Will still try just in case to rule that out.
 
Do you have a Walmart in your area? They carry the Relion syringes with half unit markings. Or you can order some (different brands) from Hocks. I use the Relion and have never had any problems.

Good luck with your dosecrease. I know how frustrating and scary those high numbers can be.
 
Relions are cheap, reliable and they have good accuracy - as good or better than the more expensive syringes. I know what you mean about measuring quarter units - I am so visually/spatially challenged! That's what made me go out to get the Relions - the 1/2 unit markings. I also have fewer problems with bubbles when I use the Relions...

Is there another vet you can go to? Otherwise, I would just state that this is what I'm doing, here are my SS results and this is what I need. Or basically tell him that you are doing your own thing to treat the diabetes and you just want his expertise in diagnosing an infection.

But if Heart's numbers have always been high - it may just be that you need to increase to work your way to the right dose... Don't stress too much over it! It's a process... I'd be more concerned if the numbers were low and then spiked up... Again - I can't view your SS from work, so I don't have all the data, and I'm not an expert anyway ;)
 
dodgingwrenches said:
Checked a few pharmacies, but still haven't found one that sells syringes with half unit markings, and I can't eyeball a quarter unit increase. I did just order some new Lantus just in case its a bad batch, but then again, I'm on the same batch as Odiesmom, so I'm sure if there was a problem with the batch, she'd have problems, too. Will still try just in case to rule that out.

Walmart at South Keys have the BD syringes with 1/2 unit markings - they're short needles though - purple box with some yellow labelling. They're on the display right in front of the pharmacy.

Costco has them too I think.

Odiesmom
 
Do they have the Relions at your WalMart? They are considerably cheaper... And somewhere on this site there was a comparison done that showed BD syringes could vary by up to 1/2 unit per batch and I think the Relions varied by .25 units only... I think... Anyway - maybe there was an issue with the batch I had, but the BDs were really hard to remove bubbles from when I had them...
 
Okay so it's NOT just me! I just can't remove all the bubbles from my BD syringes :(

I'll have to check my Wal-Mart. We don't have Relion monitors. Don't know about Relion syringes though.
 
dodgingwrenches said:
Okay so it's NOT just me! I just can't remove all the bubbles from my BD syringes :(

I can't either... but I've never tried any other type (we don't exactly have a lot of choices here), I just kind of figured it was just how syringes were :smile:
 
dodgingwrenches said:
I did just order some new Lantus just in case its a bad batch, but then again, I'm on the same batch as Odiesmom, so I'm sure if there was a problem with the batch, she'd have problems, too. Will still try just in case to rule that out.

Let me know if that works. I initially bought the 5-pack that we're both using because Odie's numbers had started creeping upwards and I figured my old vial had gone bad. His numbers still haven't gone back to where they were even with the new vials, but he's not been feeling great... so who knows what is causing what.

Odiesmom
 
No - it's not just you. I thought it was just me and then I read other people who complained. Not everyone has a problem with the BDs, but I just find the Relions so much easier to use in regards to the bubbles.

You know not to roll or try to mix the Lantus, right? My vet tech initially told me to roll it to mix it, but it turns out you don't have to do that with Lantus - in fact, it just made more bubbles show up.
 
odiesmom said:
Let me know if that works. I initially bought the 5-pack that we're both using because Odie's numbers had started creeping upwards and I figured my old vial had gone bad. His numbers still haven't gone back to where they were even with the new vials, but he's not been feeling great... so who knows what is causing what.

And here I thought your numbers looked great :)

I'll be getting the 5-pack I ordered tomorrow (the ones they had in their fridge were expired so I'm getting a brand new one) and will let you know. If you want to try one, just let me know!
 
kryskat said:
You know not to roll or try to mix the Lantus, right? My vet tech initially told me to roll it to mix it, but it turns out you don't have to do that with Lantus - in fact, it just made more bubbles show up.

Yup! Odiesmom made sure that I remember not to roll it :) I just take it out of the fridge, turn it upside down, and take out the insulin. Then pump some back, pull some out a few times to try and get rid of the annoying constant air bubbles!
 
Oh no!!! Don't ever pump Lantus back into the cartridge! You will contaminate the Lantus in the cartridge!! Maybe that's what's causing your problem!!! (The stuff they put into the syringes to make them move smoothly will get into the Lantus in the cartridge.)

Ella
 
Hoping Heart gets better numbers today for you :smile:

I too am rougue with my Vet, when I started researching Diabetes, because I looked up the signs Doodles was showing, then took her to the Vet. I was concerned because everything I was reading about Humilin N was not good. That was what she was on....That was for two weeks, no home testing just shoot 2x a day! Her two week test was awful, I swore I would never take her back, and I won't. It took 3 days for her to come out of it. My savior was Lori, she got me on this board, I told my vet I wanted to change to Lantus, she wrote out the prescription and here we are :-D :-D
I keep her updated with her spread sheet, but these great people have helped me with her highs her lo's and her dosing and I'm so grateful. I hope to convert my Vet since I'm her only client on Lantus.

Don't be afraid go with your gut or find someone else :-D
 
Yeah - I've heard not to pump the insulin back into the vial once it's been in the syringe (although I've been guilty of that as well).

Here's some advice I gave recently about getting the bubbles out - this is what works for me:


I used to have a lot of trouble with bubbles but I'll tell you what worked for me. I switched from the BD syringes to Relion ones (from Walmart). Don't know why, but I've had a LOT less trouble with bubbles (I also learned that you don't have to roll the Lantus vial to mix it -which is what I was taught by my vet's office. That also cut down on bubbles). Now, I draw in a little bit more (couple units?) insulin than I need. I take the needle out of the vial and turn it upright (needle facing up) and TWIST the plunger slowly to expel the air from the syringe (a small bubble of insulin will form on the needle). I know this is slightly different from how others do it, but this works for me: After I've expelled the air, I tap the syringe with my fingernail (or snap it with my nail) fairly firmly until I see any little bubbles rise off the bottom. Then I pull the plunger back a little to catch those bubbles and expel the air again, making sure that no bubbles/air pockets remain at the top either. Then I turn the syringe horizontal to the ground and measure the insulin (expelling any excess into the sink or a tissue till I have the amount I need). It sounds more complicated than it is - but it works well for me and I rarely have issues with bubbles that I can't get rid of. Once in a long while, I'll just give up and take a different syringe - luckily the Relion ones are so cheap it hardly matters !!!
 
Wal-Mart in Canada doesn't carry Relion syringes either, but I bought BD ones with half unit markings. I did increase his does tonight to 3 units, but his PMPS was still 423 and at +3.5 he's still at 362
 
Glad you found the syringes.

Sorry about the yucky AMPS. At least its not hi again tonight.
I cant recall if anyone's bugged ya for ketones checking lately, when you can ok?

Have a good nite and (((tummy scratches ))) for Heart!
 
A couple of things ....

Your vet is providing you with a service. I don't follow any sort of directions relating to FD from my vet. I use what Insulin I feel is needed and leave the real vet stuff to the vet.
Stuff like blood draws and sending out for tests, or doing Xrays or u/s or dental stuff.
Even then, I tell the vet what things I do not want done or given.

I take an updated ss with me on all visits to show our progress. And that's that.

I would be willing to be that YOU know more about what Heart needs now that you have been here and learned a great deal on the subject. Don't want to tell your vet that you are using a different insulin? ?Well, just present your case and show WHY you are using a different one. The numbers don't lie, plus you know how Heart was acting on the two kinds.

With the increase, be prepared for NDW until the new dose settles. With the high numbers, be sure you are checking for ketones, and if even a trace shows on the test, post here right away.

About numbers coming down, or seeing changes after shots ... Shadoe does not seem to react much untill about +3 or so and Oliver is much later, more like around +4 and later.
Don't worry about a slower drop because it gives Heart a chance to adjust and not be shocked with crazy drops.
 
Raising the dose doesn't necessarily have an immediate effect. Remember, you need to get the shed filled at the new dose. It gets tiresome to hear but, Lantus requires patience!
 
dodgingwrenches said:
Wal-Mart in Canada doesn't carry Relion syringes either, but I bought BD ones with half unit markings. I did increase his does tonight to 3 units, but his PMPS was still 423 and at +3.5 he's still at 362


Heart, buddy, what is wrong?! Don't you like blue and green?? I'm sure they would look great on you. Let's say we try and see, k?


My next box of syringes, I'll try and see if I can get the generic Costco brand (if they actually have them in half unit markings). I'll let you know how they are. It'll be a little while yet though.

Odiesmom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top