dustyboy4
Member Since 2010
Can't believe Dusty has finally received some greens. Yay.
On a down note, not sure if the lower BG is the cause of Dusty not eating very well but to me he's not eating well.
Both Saturday & Sunday and again today he hasn't eaten very much. I'm used to seeing him eat 3 (5.5 oz.) cans a day and right now he's eating 1 to 1.25 cans per day.
Some of it I'm hand feeding him and he will take it from me, thank goodnes. Some I just hold his dish up to his mouth so he's not bending over trying to eat.
Sometimes I think his neck hurts him. He looks at the floor a lot instead of looking up. I know he's acting as if he's hungry because
he is still waking me up frequently during the night asking for food. Over the weekend I have pysically taken him to his bowl and shown him that there is still food in it but he
isn't very interested. He might take a couple of licks then quit. I'm trying to keep him hydrated so periodically I have given him water by syringe and he licks it right up.
When we go to the food bowl, he runs after me as if he just knows I'm going to put something good in the bowl other than what he has left. Then when I don't, he looks at me and I can see the disappointment on his face. I'm going to go by the grocery store this evening and pick up some cans of either the fancy feast or the frisky's low
carb canned food. I think I will mix just a little bit with his Purina DM and see if the flavor will entice him to eat. He desperately needs to gain weight.
I've been mixing water with his food for several days now to give him extra water. And as I said, he licks it right up, I think he thinks it's gravy.
Because he has such large, firm stools, and doesn't go very much at a time, for yesterday's evening meal I added 1/8 tsp mirilax in 1/3 cup water and mixed it with his food.
He licked the water right up and only ate some of the food. I'm not really sure how much of the mirilax he ingested, but I knew I needed to have him take more
water than he has been taking in the last couple of days. I've never tried the mirilax on him before and I'm not sure how he will react to it,
so I gave him extra water by syringe during the night. Hopefully he won't end up with loose bowels from it.
Since his BG is lower I am hoping that his kidneys won't pull the extra water off of him and he can get it into his intestines but all during the night
last night he used his LB, (about 4 times in an 8 hour period). The frequent LB use worries me that he could get dehydrated again. I'm not sure he has recovered fully from the dehydration from last weekend.
I cut .5 off of his insulin because of how little he is eating and yet his BG enters the low 100's over the weekend. Hopefully I haven't made a mistake in this, but
I'm not there to test him during the day and I know he isn't eating as much. I know he hasn't earned a reduction, but I worry about the low food intake.
I guess we'll have to see.
Everyone, have a great day.
On a down note, not sure if the lower BG is the cause of Dusty not eating very well but to me he's not eating well.
Both Saturday & Sunday and again today he hasn't eaten very much. I'm used to seeing him eat 3 (5.5 oz.) cans a day and right now he's eating 1 to 1.25 cans per day.
Some of it I'm hand feeding him and he will take it from me, thank goodnes. Some I just hold his dish up to his mouth so he's not bending over trying to eat.
Sometimes I think his neck hurts him. He looks at the floor a lot instead of looking up. I know he's acting as if he's hungry because
he is still waking me up frequently during the night asking for food. Over the weekend I have pysically taken him to his bowl and shown him that there is still food in it but he
isn't very interested. He might take a couple of licks then quit. I'm trying to keep him hydrated so periodically I have given him water by syringe and he licks it right up.
When we go to the food bowl, he runs after me as if he just knows I'm going to put something good in the bowl other than what he has left. Then when I don't, he looks at me and I can see the disappointment on his face. I'm going to go by the grocery store this evening and pick up some cans of either the fancy feast or the frisky's low
carb canned food. I think I will mix just a little bit with his Purina DM and see if the flavor will entice him to eat. He desperately needs to gain weight.
I've been mixing water with his food for several days now to give him extra water. And as I said, he licks it right up, I think he thinks it's gravy.
Because he has such large, firm stools, and doesn't go very much at a time, for yesterday's evening meal I added 1/8 tsp mirilax in 1/3 cup water and mixed it with his food.
He licked the water right up and only ate some of the food. I'm not really sure how much of the mirilax he ingested, but I knew I needed to have him take more
water than he has been taking in the last couple of days. I've never tried the mirilax on him before and I'm not sure how he will react to it,
so I gave him extra water by syringe during the night. Hopefully he won't end up with loose bowels from it.
Since his BG is lower I am hoping that his kidneys won't pull the extra water off of him and he can get it into his intestines but all during the night
last night he used his LB, (about 4 times in an 8 hour period). The frequent LB use worries me that he could get dehydrated again. I'm not sure he has recovered fully from the dehydration from last weekend.
I cut .5 off of his insulin because of how little he is eating and yet his BG enters the low 100's over the weekend. Hopefully I haven't made a mistake in this, but
I'm not there to test him during the day and I know he isn't eating as much. I know he hasn't earned a reduction, but I worry about the low food intake.
I guess we'll have to see.
Everyone, have a great day.