6/24 Doogle PMPS 274 +3 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Ok trying to do this posting right.

6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189 +12 168.
No shot? Feed him a high carb? What do I do? I am getting upset at all the confusion. Husband is irritated with me about testing and when to give him a shot and getting advice. I am thinking hold off and continue testing?

Donna
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 280

Waited to give him his shot, tested his again at +1 it was 283....so decided to just give him 1 unit and check him again in a couple of hours. He is eating very well right now.

D&D
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 280

Hi Donna

When you have a question it is best to use the ? icon in the subject line. You can also put a brief description of the question e.g. Dose Qu, in the subject line so people know that you want assistance. If you haven't shot yet you should use PMBG instead of PMPS, that way people can see that you are waiting to shoot.

In regard to that, what should be entered on Doogle's ss for tonight is something like '+12 280 +13 283' in the box just before you shot and I'm guessing that your '+2' is atually a +1 and should be in that box. The + whatever refers to how much time has passed since you gave the shot and it is important to be accurate about that so people can see Doogle's patterns.

Also, if you skip a shot can you put NS (for no shot) where you would normally put the number of units. That way we know the shot has been skipped on purpose rather than wondering if you forgot to enter something on his ss. :lol: re scolding the husband on the food error!

To keep the kitty's history together we also link to the last post. In case you don't know how - you copy the address of your last post and paste it in between the that appears when you click on the URL button just at the top of where you write your post. Like this PASTE LINK HERE

It would also be helpful if you could create a profile for Doogle to help people help you e.g has he recently changed to Lantus or is he newly diagnosed, are you wanting to follow TR?

Here's a link instructing how to create a profile http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59890

Well that's the house keeping out of the way so all that's left is - welcome to Lantus Land :smile:
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 280

Good morning, Donna!!

Despite my first cup of coffee, I may still be a bit foggy. Am I interpreting your posts correctly in that you shoot at 1:00? If that works for your schedule, no problem. Just a "heads' up" though so you know that the traffic on the board is lighter in the early hours of the morning. It's not a problem -- I just wanted you to know that replies may not be as quick in the early hours.

Given your shot times, is the AM or PM cycle when you are mostly awake and around to test? If it's possible, can you do your best to get at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles in addition to your pre-shot tests? Since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, those spot checks are important.

As for the dose, when you first start with Lantus, typically you hold the initial dose longer than subsequent doses.
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:33la6u38][b:33la6u38]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b][/url] said:
"General" Guidelines:

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Since Doogle was on another insulin, we may want to increase sooner. However, I'd like to see a bit more data before considering an increase.

On your SS, you commented on seeing a rise in Doogle's numbers last night at +1. That's expected and it's a place where Lantus and N differ. With Lantus, onset is usually at around +2 (vs. with N where the response is more immediate). As a result, you often see a rise in numbers at +1 due to the effect of food. The numbers are usually around the same as your pre-shot test at +2. There's an hour-by-hour outline of a typical Lantus curve in the New to the Group sticky. What this also means is that unlike with N, you do not have to have food on board prior to shooting. With N, it's often recommended that your cat eat prior to your giving insulin. With Lantus, many of us give an injection while our cats are eating. Our test, feed, shoot is all within about a 5 minute time span.
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle's numbers and my mistakes in the SS

In regard to that, what should be entered on Doogle's ss for tonight is something like '+12 280 +13 283' in the box just before you shot and I'm guessing that your '+2' is atually a +1 and should be in that box. The + whatever refers to how much time has passed since you gave the shot and it is important to be accurate about that so people can see Doogle's patterns.

So should I go and change those numbers? The PSPM 280 number was exactly that. We held off an hour and tested him again at +1 which was 283 and gave him a 1 unit doase, tested him again at +2 and it was 252. I was trying to give all the numbers and give the info on it at the same time. Guess I messed that up.

Am I interpreting your posts correctly in that you shoot at 1:00?
Yes we shot at 1am and 1 pm but was thinking of changing to be easier on my new schedule. If we want to change, what is a good way to do that? I would prefer now like 11am and 11pm. His test this morning at +8 (10 am this morning) he was 200.

Sorry for all the confusion. I will get the hang of this yet.
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 280

No worries! You are doing great. Testing and shooting insulin are huge and you are doing that. Doogle thanks you. :-D You'll get the hang of everything, it's a lot to figure out and it takes a while.

The +1 and and +2 notation is from the time of shot, so that doesn't account for delaying (or stalling) the shot. If you want to adjust the shot time, you can change each shot by 15 mins or change 1 shot a day by 30 mins. So it would take 4 dyas to adjust by 2 hours. Consistency is important with Lantus so you don't want to change the shot time too much.
Liz
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189 +12 168

Donna

Looks like your +11 was 289 so you should be safe to shoot the 2u tonight unless he dropped. Once you get his PMPS, then go back to the very first post in this today, click on "edit" and then in the subject line put
6/24 Doogle PMPS XXX

XXX being whatever number you got. Then click "submit". But if you want to then add a comment, click on "post reply" so it adds it to the bottom of the condo. OK?
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 274

Ok, done!! PMPS 274.....Gave him his 2u and he is happy and I am happy. Thank you all for such a long and emotional day for me. Tomorrow you will see a better message :lol:

Yall are AWESOME!!!! Wish we had a facebook page to brag about you even more than I do already.

Donna
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 274

Great job!!!

I'd be sure and get a before bed test or if you are ready to go to bed, perhaps someone can grab a test mid cycle so we can see what he's doing at this dose at night. Most of us sleep/test at some point.....we set an alarm and get up and grab a test if we need to know what kitty is doing at night.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 274

Going to get one before I go to bed in a couple of hours and hubby will do one for me hopefully a couple hours after. I will set my alarm though just in case he forgets or gets involved in a movie or something.... :lol:

Donna
 
+3 was at 314....slight rise but not to bad. See I did this one right...... :lol: Bedtime for me...hubby will do one at +6. Unless its bad, you wont see me again till tomorrow.

Night All

Donna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top