Re: 6/24 Doogle PMPS 280
Good morning, Donna!!
Despite my first cup of coffee, I may still be a bit foggy. Am I interpreting your posts correctly in that you shoot at 1:00? If that works for your schedule, no problem. Just a "heads' up" though so you know that the traffic on the board is lighter in the early hours of the morning. It's not a problem -- I just wanted you to know that replies may not be as quick in the early hours.
Given your shot times, is the AM or PM cycle when you are mostly awake and around to test? If it's possible, can you do your best to get at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles in addition to your pre-shot tests? Since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, those spot checks are important.
As for the dose, when you first start with Lantus, typically you hold the initial dose longer than subsequent doses.
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:33la6u38][b:33la6u38]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b][/url] said:
"General" Guidelines:
- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Since Doogle was on another insulin, we may want to increase sooner. However, I'd like to see a bit more data before considering an increase.
On your SS, you commented on seeing a rise in Doogle's numbers last night at +1. That's expected and it's a place where Lantus and N differ. With Lantus, onset is usually at around +2 (vs. with N where the response is more immediate). As a result, you often see a rise in numbers at +1 due to the effect of food. The numbers are usually around the same as your pre-shot test at +2. There's an hour-by-hour outline of a typical Lantus curve in the
New to the Group sticky. What this also means is that unlike with N, you do not have to have food on board prior to shooting. With N, it's often recommended that your cat eat prior to your giving insulin. With Lantus, many of us give an injection while our cats are eating. Our test, feed, shoot is all within about a 5 minute time span.