6/24 Charlie 441 AMPS, 444 @+6.5

Katy and Charlie

Active Member
Previous post

I started Charlie on some Nutramax Proviable probiotics last night to help with his belly issues. I hope that starts helping him soon.

I think I'll raise his dose tonight unless @Wendy&Neko believes that's not a great idea. It's been over 6 cycles. I just have been waiting for his numbers to come down since the dental and they really just haven't budged at all. So I was thinking of increasing by 0.25 units.

Other than his poopy bum and high BG, Charlie is doing well!
 
Don't forget your PM tests past PMPS. Those are crucial in telling us if he's going low at night them bouncing or just on too low a dose. I don't see any data the last two nights in the SS. Without that, it's hard for me to say what you should do.

Inflammation from dentals can typically cause higher numbers, as can upset GI.
 
The spreadsheet is up to date with all the data I have. The summer is my time. I love to be outside gardening, fishing, and camping. I try to be there all the time for Charlie, but I also still need to live my life. I'm trying to do my best.

I decided to increase since with the data I have, I haven't seen much under 400. I am sure the effects of the dental are still lingering and he is having tummy issues due to the antibiotic and that's not helping his situation.
 
Hi Katy. I’ve been following your posts on Charlie’s dental since my Tiger is having dental on the 8th.
Did you use your regular vet or a specialist?
What did you do for feeding before and after? Insulin doses?
Anything you can fill me in on! I’m so worried to have it done….

so glad Charlie came through it so well and I hope his tummy gets better quick!
 
Hi Katy. I’ve been following your posts on Charlie’s dental since my Tiger is having dental on the 8th.
Did you use your regular vet or a specialist?
What did you do for feeding before and after? Insulin doses?
Anything you can fill me in on! I’m so worried to have it done….

so glad Charlie came through it so well and I hope his tummy gets better quick!


Hi Deb!
I went to my regular vet.... kinda. I've been trying a few different vets in my area and wasn't super thrilled with any of them. I did the dental after taking Charlie to this vet once. They are a full service hospital though. I would say just make sure you are really comfortable with whoever is going to perform the dental. I wouldn't have wanted any of the vets I had seen previously doing it. But this one was a very sweet lady that spent time talking with me, seemed very knowledgeable, and showed she cared. Plus she is a cat lover herself so I knew I was leaving him in good hands.

I had stocked up on all meat baby food anticipating that Charlie was going to be in rough shape after the dental. When I got him home, he walked right over to his food bowl and started eating. He honestly acted like nothing had happened. I give him Weruva BFF minced food. So a wet food that has some meaty bits but it seems pretty soft. The baby food is still sitting on my table because he didn't end up needing it. I think that can depend on what Tiger ends up getting done. Charlie had two extractions but they were teeth more near the front so it really didn't affect his chewing. If Tiger ends up needing extractions of his molars.... it could be a different situation. I'd say get a couple jars of baby food just in case. We got Gerber mealtime for babies chicken with gravy. Ingredients are chicken, water, and cornstarch.

I gave Charlie his insulin like normal before and after surgery. They didn't have Charlie fast before surgery either. I would double check with your vet on what they want you to do. I did a small increase of 0.25 units shortly after the surgery because his BG wasn't dropping.

If they give him an antibiotic, stock up on some probiotics as well because antibiotics are rough on the belly. I've also found the churu treats to be extremely helpful when I am giving Charlie meds. I had to give him some pills to help with pain and inflammation for three days afterwards. I would drop the pill in his mouth then squirt in some churu so he'd have to swallow. Also the clindmycin antibiotic is nasty tasting so the churu treat helps with that too.

Lastly, expect some high blood sugar numbers. The surgery was on Thursday last week and Charlie hasn't come down yet that I've seen. I'm not sure he's feeling much pain anymore because he wanted to play tug o war with me last night. :p But I think the antibiotics are upsetting his stomach and that's making his blood sugar higher too.

Its easier said than done, but try not to worry yourself sick like I did. Anymore questions you have please let me know!!:)
 
Hi Katy! Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a detailed reply. So much good advice! I already got the probiotics since I had to order them online. I am meeting with the vet on Monday but they already told me to reduce his insulin that morning and that he will need to fast. I hate that because of his tummy troubles when it gets empty.
After we meet with vet, I may have more questions, so thank you for that!
 
Back
Top