6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 pmps=126 -civvie wont eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

Angie and I have been through a lot over the last two weeks (it's been that long since I've posted). We've finally moved house, mostly unpacked and have Jetzin back with us again. So after 3 months of being unsettled the three of us have a place to call home. However, my two cats are not happy here yet. There are two other lovely cats that live in this house and my cats have confined themselves to my bedroom. There hasn't been any fights - just a bit of hissing, growling and a lot of running away.

It's been really hard to test Angie because Jetzin is in the bedroom too and he gets quite distressed when I try and test her. I took her into the bathroom to test her today and it worked but she was unhappy about being taken out of her safe place and yowled and growled a lot.

I've missed some doses because she was so upset about testing and it hasn't seemed to have much affect on her blood sugar. Could it be that the insulin is old and Angie has been doing this by herself the whole time? Or has her pancreas just started working yesterday because I didn't give her insulin? Should I keep shooting/trying or see what happens without shooting?

Our last condo is here.

Thanks for your help again,

Grace
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 - shoot?

I am going to comment but am hoping some more experinced lantus users will chip in. ... You could try to dose 0.1IU for a few days to see how that goes because I don't thnk she is quite ready for OTJ since she is still showing numbers over 130..
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 - shoot?

Yes, she starts blue and drops to green and goes back up. Looks like a lantus curve to me. You didnt get any mid day tests today but I suspect she would be blue all day when you skipped three doses.. Saying that though, 110 is pretty good for no insulin. You could hold off and take a few spot checks through the day for the next few days to see..
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 - shoot?

I agree with Wendy. I would try to keep giving insulin for a while, and maybe try to 0.10 dose and see if you can get those blues just a little lower. Would it help if Jetzin got a treat at testing time too? Maybe make it a good experience for both of them.
I know it's hard for the kitties to live in a bedroom with other kitties in the house. I hope they all get along eventually.
Are the other kitties in the house at least on LC wet food?
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110

We're transitioning the other two cats to LC wet food so that by the time Angie is willing to come out, it will be safe for her to do it. (Also better for the other two I think!)

I do give Jetzin a treat when I test Angie. He gets concerned for her and climbs up on things to see what's going on. She feels a bit threatened by having him up above her or climbing around. I'll keep testing in the bathroom if he doesn't settle down.

I'll go to 0.1 IU this evening and get her back on a regular testing routine. I'll test her now and see what her number is - it will be +3.5 from her ambg.

Thanks guys!

Grace
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

I suspect you're seeing some "action" from Angie's pancreas. Given that you're also seeing blue pre-shot numbers and some of those pre-shot numbers are not in a normal BG range, I do think Angie's pancreas still needs some support. Hopefully, once Angie and Jetzin have acclimated, these numbers will start to come down, as well.
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

What about putting Jetzin in the bathroom with his treat while you test Angie?

Hope things settle down with all the kitties :-D
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

I am happy to put her back on to insulin if you think it's advisable. I'm still wondering if the insulin is working at all? She's had a curve without insulin very similar to what she had with insulin.

I didn't do as much testing over the last few days because we had just moved house and she was very stressed and difficult to test. I thought that might keep her bg up. I didn't want to keep shooting without testing enough though so I stopped. That may not have been the right thing to do either. Some days I didn't have a choice because I had moving/work commitments and couldn't be home.
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

I think it's understandable why you skipped shots and she was find. But I also think you either should shoot a small amount of insulin and get some more tests. There's only one cycle of no shot where you have a little bit of data.

I'd also suggest that you feed her at about +9 whenever you can. If her pancreas is working and you feed at +9, it should bring the preshots down.

Good luck, Grace. Glad you got moved and are back with us.
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

Thanks so much Marje,

I will trial feeding at +9 and shooting 0.1 IU. I think that it will get easier to test from here as she settles into the house (today is going much better than yesterday) and I get back into a routine.

She normally gets three meals and her nadir can be as early as +3. I'll try feeding at +9, am/pmps and +2?
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

Cleo & Jane said:
What about putting Jetzin in the bathroom with his treat while you test Angie?

Hope things settle down with all the kitties :-D


That's a brilliant idea!!! So much less complicated. :-D
 
Re: 6/24 Angie - amps=110 +3.5=86 - curve w.out insulin?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I suspect you're seeing some "action" from Angie's pancreas. Given that you're also seeing blue pre-shot numbers and some of those pre-shot numbers are not in a normal BG range, I do think Angie's pancreas still needs some support. Hopefully, once Angie and Jetzin have acclimated, these numbers will start to come down, as well.


Thanks Sienne,

I missed your post before. Back onto some insulin it is.
 
Hi,

Thanks for all your help today. I have an unrelated question. My civvie Jetzin hasn't eaten since yesteday morning (3 meals skipped). I moved him two days ago and he had some valium to help with the move. He's very nervous and can get aggressive when frightened. He hasn't eaten since about when he realised that there were other cats in the house. I figured it was just stress and he'd eat again when hungry but now I'm worried about him.

I don't think there's anything wrong with him, other than new house and new cats.

How long can they go without eating? He's not the type of cat you could put food into his mouth. I've even tried tinned salmon but he's not interested.

:cry: Grace
 
Will he play with something? A favorite feather toy? Fingers under the covers? Anything to make him feel as "normal' as he can. I don't think kitties can go very long with no food before they start damaging an organ (liver maybe).

Someone who really know will chime in soon. Scary when they won't eat. Good luck. Sounds like you are finally settled, and now just a matter for the furkids to realize it!
 
He's not playing - he's a tricky cat. He was a feral kitten and he reverts a bit when he's scared (he needs a general anaesthetic for anything more than a vaccine at the vets and the vaccine is done with a nurse wearing think leather gloves!).

I've been patting him when I can but he's also been growling at me sometimes and I don't want to stress him further.
 
Oh Jetzin, please munch up your fuds.
I hope he's started eating again.
If he's nervous, maybe you could make a semi-dark space for him. You might try his dish in a closet or slightly under your bed. I have one "used to be feral" civie. When he's nervous or frightened he likes his dish under the table with the cloth all the way to the floor.
lots of good appy vines for Jetzin and nice surf vines for Angie.. and hugs to you!
 
You definitely want to get him eating something.... anything he'll eat (good or bad) . If he doesn't eat anything in the next day , you should take him to the vet right away.
it doesn't take long for hepatic lipidosis and time is important.
Perhaps you could lay down in the room with him, take a little nap and set food beside the two of you and see if he can't relax a little if he thinks you are relaxed too.








http://healthypets.mercola.com/sites/healthypets/archive/2011/12/13/feline-hepatic-lipidosis.aspx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top