6/23 Tori - Results in - She has Lymphoma

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17930

Hi every one. Tori has been surfing blue today. Nice to see.

WCR- She's been her wonderful sweet feisty self. But Rockie in his place this morning when he got into her personal space. That girl can give such "malignant looks" as Doug our vet would say. She even makes me nervous.

Well Doug called this afternoon while I was out at a union meeting. Wouldn't you know. The results must be back . My son took the call. I asked how he sounded and my son who is completely auditory couldn't tell. Doug works til 7 tonight so I'm waiting for him to call back. Oh God I am so nervous. This is killing me. Trying to remember to breathe and not get too emotional around Ayanna.

Start praying hard guys. This is it. I'm so scared.
 
Re: 6/23 Tori AMPS 167; +5~135 Results in - Waiting for the Cal

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

we're with you Barb. I hope it's ok news.
 
Re: 6/23 Tori AMPS 167; +5~135 Results in - Waiting for the Cal

We're decidedly sending all sorts of good thoughts for a good outcome.
 
Re: 6/23 Tori AMPS 167; +5~135 Results in - Waiting for the Cal

Dear Barb, Fingers and paws crossed. Prayers said. Good thoughts thought.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/23 Tori AMPS 167; +5~135 Results in - Waiting for the Cal

Big BIG
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/23 Tori AMPS 167; +5~135 Results in - Waiting for the Cal

OK Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner but Doug didn't call til close to 7 and we talked for about a 1/2 hour. Tori has something called Jugular Furrow Lymphoma. Apparently it is quite rare. Doug hadn't heard of it before. The treatment of choice for this is a combination of radiation and chemotherapy. The downside to radiation apart form the cost is the fact that it would have to be done in Calgary. She would have to be there Mon, Wed , Fri for a minimum of 3 weeks and probably 6 weeks. That would mean that we would have to board her there While treatment was going on. Apart from the stress that that would cause for her Doug and I are also worried about how well her diabetes would be managed. He doubts that she would be watched as carefully there as what I do at home. I got to say I kind of agree. Besides whatever time she has left I want her to spend it with her family.

The second option would be going with straight chemotherapy. For that she could be at home the whole time. The response for this type of lymphoma apparently is quite good. The oncologist was a bit concerned whether the chemo would throw her diabetes out of whack because of the daily Prednisone. I told Doug that I thought we could work our way around that and just play with her dosage. Also the drugs may bring on a Pancreatitis flare. I don't know but I really think that this might be our best option,

The next stage is staging the lymphoma. Tomorrow afternoon Tori will be having some needle aspirates done of other lymph nodes in her body and also an abdominal ultrasound. then we'll decide what to do next.

It's funny now that we know what we're dealing with I feel so much calmer. Maybe it just hasn't hit me yet . Anyway all I know is for now we plan to give it one H--l of a fight.

Thanks so much for all the prayers and healing vines. The blizzard of snowflakes is beautiful to see. WHo would ever have thought we would like snow in June in Edmonton?

I forgot to ask Doug when kitties have ultrasounds to you withhold food? What is your experience?

Sorry this is so long. I better go now and feed my little girl. I bet she's hungry.
 
I'm glad you have an answer and can begin to think and come up with a plan. Your vet truly sounds like a partner -- which is great. I hope tomorrow is a relatively easy day for Tori, and for you.
 
Barb & Tori - We are sending you strength & optimism as you make your plans to deal with this dx. We are here to support your good fight as you address your options. We believe all things are possible including a positive outcome. Lots of hugs!
Susan & Lanky
 
((((((((Barb and Tori))))))))))))

it sounds like you already have plans for a great fight. The power of LL will be behind you all the way.
 
I"m sorry to hear she has lymphoma. (((((((((((Tori))))))))))))))))
There are several people who use pred and manage FD very well, no need to worry about that part of it.
Noisy had GI Lymphoma, we used chemo and pred. I felt like Noisy tolerated the chemo well, I didn't see any obvious side effects. His cancer was aggressive so it didn't help us but I know it has helped others.
Hopefully, you will have a good amount of time with her.

p.s. I didn't like the pred that comes in an ear cream. The pill form was more dependable for us.
 
So sorry to hear about the lymphoma, Barb. We're thinking about you both and sending tons of positive thoughts and prayers your way.

Logan is on a chemo drug for his IBD. His biopsies didn't show any cancer cells but he was completely unresponsive to the usual treatment of prednisolone. The pred did make him very resistant to his insulin but I'm sure we could have worked around it had his IBD actually been responsive. He's on Leukeran (Chlorambucil) and is doing really well. We wonder if he didn't actually have lymphoma and it wasn't found in the particular samples taken. His pred dose was as high as 10mg a day and he wasn't getting any better. Best of luck with your decision about the radiation. It would be extremely hard to have to board Tori for the duration of the treatment.

We'll be thinking about you guys! At least you know what you are fighting and like Sienne said, it sounds like your vet is a partner in all of this!
 
Sending positive thoughts and prayers to you. He sounds like a very caring Vet who will work with you and help you decide the best options for Tori.
 
Yes we really have a wonderful find in Doug. He had just graduated when he diagnosed Tori. I will never forget when he called to day she had Diabetes. He said, "Well I have the results on our little girl Tori." Right then and then I knew he was going to be her vet. He has always gone the extra mile for her. I know he really cares about her. He has always said how special she is to him. He calls her Queen Victoria. OK I'm rambling now.
 
(((((Barb & Tori))))) We know that you will do the best for Tori. We will be thinking of you and praying that whatever treatment you decide to do, it will help her. Tori is a very brave kitty.
Many hugs and all our support,

Ella & Stu
 
((((Barb and Tori))). Doug sounds wonderful. I'm so happy you have a caring vet and partner to help you decide on the best treatment options for your girl.
 
(((((((barb and family))))))
(((((((Tori))))))))

I know, as you have always done, you will give this girl your best...and she will soak up every second of it! :mrgreen: Bless your heart for the care and confidence you give her. Latte and I will ABSOLUTELY keep you guys in our daily thoughts.

Regarding the u/s...I *think* Latte couldnt eat from 6am that same a.m. (though it could have been midnight). It wasnt terribly long...tho it didnt seem to matter to her, ms. innappetant. You should probably ask the vet or technicians doing the procedure, and of course adjust insulin accordingly. I was not there during the procedure, but they told me she was a good girl and looked completely unharmed from the experience. Her shaved belly was kinda cute, too! :lol:

Your vets sound knowledgable, but just make sure they are offering prednisolone vs prednisone. Prednisone has to be converted into prednisolone thru (the liver?) in cats. So its easier on them to just give the prednisolone and skip that extra step of working an organ harder than necessary.

Many people have great success with chemo in cats. Cats are often much more tolerant than people with the process. You will probably need to add things such as pepcid and ondansetron, as well as a stock of cerenia for any days there is nausea. I cant remember which one's you use of those now, if you do. Just a heads up.

You may want to consider looking to see if there is a google group for this type of lymphoma in cats. I know there is one for GI lymphoma...if nothing else, you could join that. I only mention it because everyone there uses similar therapy you are considering. Good place to ask questions and gain additional support.

Go give that girl a skritch and a kiss on the head for us, k? And uhhhh...a nice bubble bath for you tonight!
 
Anyway all I know is for now we plan to give it one H--l of a fight.

Good for you - I'm so sorry to see the result is this - but she (and you) are fighters. It's a rough diagnosis for you - and for your sweet baby. I have no experience with it so can offer no advice other than what you've already decided. I too would opt to keep her at home where she feels safe and secure and loved and where you can keep an eye on her sugar numbers. Am pretty sure that's the route I'd take with Dude if it were him.

I'm sending a lot of snowflakes north to you, too, Barb - even though coming from Oregon, they're a bit wet and soggy - but along with them come lots of healing thoughts, vibes and prayers - along with hugs.

Good luck on your son's visit to the doctor tomorrow also.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Sending loads of healing vines & snowflakes to dear sweet Tori--I feel that with all your love & strength, Tori will beat this & be well again--
All our biggest HUGS to you all today, & paws & fingers crossed for improvement & a well being for Tori!!
 
((Tori)) and ((Barb))

I think that I remember "them" saying that lymphoma was a better bet than squamous cell carcinoma... b/c it was very treatable.

As for U/S, I think it depends on whether Tori will need to be given any anaesthetic. But call and ask. they'll be able to tell you for sure.

You might also ask if you can be in the room. I was able to be in the room for some, and not for others (not sure if it was b/c I didn't ask, or if b/c they didn't allow it for some U/S). I found it to be a comfort, and I hope that it made Cosmo less scared since his mommy held his paw...

as usual, sending along tons of white light, healing vines, and snowflakes.
 
Barb I am sorry to hear this. I am very upset myself, as you saw, but had to click on your post in community since i know very much how you are feeling. And i have read a lot on this subject in the past 24 hrs.

Jugular furrow lymphoma is a kind of casual or layman's term. I think that the pathologist is indicating a Hodgkins-type lymphoma, which is actually recognized in cats. You will find more info by searching on that term. It is also called a "T-cell rich B-cell lymphoma". ( two types of lymphoma are B-cell and T-cell. B cell seems to be more susceptible to treatment than T-cell.) Anyway, from my quick perusal right now of the info, it looks like if the staging is negative, the affected node can be surgically excised (get a very, very good surgeon to do this, it is a tough area) and the cat can be 'watched'. If the staging is positive, indicating metastasis, you can start chemo, and may get away with even just oral drugs, depending on how widespread things are. Did your vet talk to you about flow cytometry or further testing to type this? There are no good established protocols because not enough cats have it for protocols to have been confirmed (there are a handful of different ones have been tried, but to set protocol you need a solid history of cats getting XYZ protocol and having ABC outcome). The good news is that this cancer does not seem to have the aggression of some types of lymphoma (like Elliott's) so you can always ramp-up your plan if it seems like a milder chemo approach isn't having results.

Let me say again that if the next step turns out to be lymph node removal, I'd ask for a referral to a boarded surgeon if there is one in your city. It is a delicate area and you want someone to confidently carve out a lymph node from among some very important blood vessels, and do it reasonably fast (while most vets can do this, it may take them much longer than someone who only does difficult surgery for a living! and older kitties with other issues should be in and out of anesthesia the sooner the better).

Let me know if I can help you in another way.

PS Thank you (and everyone else) for your support for me on community.
 
barb, sorry i happened to see this so late.

cleo has multicentric small cell low grade lymphoma and is on a combo of ccnu ("ceenu") and prednisolone. my vet thinks the prednisone and prednisolone are interchangeable but like carolyn i get the prednisolone coz why make the cat go thru the extra step of converting the prednisone if she doesn't have to.

i think the steroid actually is workable with diabetics -- sometimes it takes some fiddling around with dosing times and doses but i have cleo's diabetes controlled now by giving the 5mg prednisolone at once. others see better results by splitting it up and giving 2.5mg every 12 hours. cleo's lantus dose went from 0.75u BID to 1.75u BID for a while but now she's at 1.5u. so, yes, we had to increase the insulin but her numbers are fine. i just don't focus on greens as much as i used to.

i think what affected us more is her appetite. that's what makes the numbers wonky (when you don't know if they'll be inappetant or eat normally so their BG throughout the day is different). we started on leukeran (as part of the "preferred" protocol for her type of lymphoma) but that made her very nauseated and she lost weight so we switched to ccnu and she can tolerate that a lot better. i have to pay more attention to her diet and add little tricks to get her eat more to keep her weight up. i think as old hands with diabetes who actually home test it's a lot easier for us to keep them regulated despite the meds.

different types of lymphoma but at least i could share her experience. i had to add antinausea/antivomiting meds to her regular medications but she now acts like any other kitty in the house. no experience with radiation, tho, except in seeing a friend's cat going thru the I131 radiation for hyperthyroidism. that turned out fine tho he complained all the way home after he was finally released with minimal radiation remaining.

as for ultrasound, you should ask your vets what they'd prefer re eating. cleo and harry's internal medicine specialists do not require cats to fast before the ultrasound. their regular vet used to require at least 8-12 hours' fast before ultrasound.

we'll keep rooting for you, barb. generally speaking lymphoma is not "curable" per se but many cats live out their normal lifespans despite it and many go into remission. it just takes a little more work and more regular vet visits (we go once a month for blood/urine tests to determine whether she can get the next chemo pill).
 
So sorry to see this. I just lost a civvie to renal lymphoma, did not go with chemo because his kidneys were almost gone by the time he was diagnosed. In your case it sounds like there's a very good chance chemo would be effective, and I've read that there are few side effects in cats. Fingers and paws are crossed here for a good outcome for your Tori.
 
(((((Barb & Tori)))))
I am so sorry Barb....but you know, there are so many people here with good thoughts and ideas....not to mention the prayers and the healing vines that the group sends....I add mine to theirs as you start dealing with this....HUGS to you and Tori!! :YMHUG:
your vet sounds wonderful...that is so important for you and Tori....
 
(((Barb and Tori)))

Just seeing this now. Sorry for the news, but glad to hear you're going to give it H*LL! I wish I had your vet - he sounds so wonderful...

Lots and lots of snowflakes headed your way... My ex-bf who lived in Edmonton is going to be mad about the snow in June, but let him - he deserves it!

Healing vines for Tori...
 
(( Barb ))

Once again, it sounds like she's going to be in very capable hands.

I think Carolyn recently switched to injectable pred, though perhaps it's not the same thing since I don't think she mentioned it. With throat issues thinking that might be nicer than pilling.

Wondering, too, if she's typically a very good girl perhaps they won't need to use anesthesia, but I would ask them. Meowzi recently had US done and I thought she came out of the anesthesia pretty well.

I'm truly sorry you (plural) have to go through this, but glad you have a diagnosis, and some promise of a treatable condition.
 
When Kasha had an abdominal ultrasound in May, they told me to feed her a light breakfast because of her diabetes - but the literature they sent said for diabetic cats, just to feed and shoot as normal. Kasha eats lightly at meal time anyway, so I just let her eat whatever. The only issue we had was that she peed all over the vet (that's what happens when you keep us waiting 1/2 hour!) and so her bladder wasn't full and you couldn't see it as well as you might have if it were full... Everything else they could view just fine. She wasn't sedated or anesthetized or anything for the U/S...
 
I'm sorry you have received this news, Barb. My civie is a five year survivor of lymphoma. I am glad you have a good vet working with you. I just wanted add my snowflakes to all the others here, and let you know I am thinking of you and Tori.
 
(((Barb)))-

Sending good thoughts and snowflakes to you and Tori. Your vet sounds wonderful, and I am glad you have the beginnings of a plan in place. You and Tori can definitely do this, and we are all behind you 100%. :YMHUG:
 
I'm so sorry to hear this, but at least now you know what you are dealing with and you have a plan of action. Tori is in good hands with you, and all the support we can give you guys. She'll come through this.
 
(((Barb and Tori)))

Just wanted to let you know I am thinking good thoughts for Tori. A great bean along with a great vet is quite a start.
We are all here to support you. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top