6/23 Minnie +12.5 PMPS 62 (after 38, 47, 45, 49) +1 90 +3 93 +4.5 81 +6 96

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Was so anxious going out last night with the lowish PMPS, and she was out of camera range so I came home early. Of course she was fine! Ate for me though.

Feeling bad about late AM shot, overslept and then she was difficult about getting the shot again today. She only ate a bit of breakfast so I woke her at +1 and +2 and offered food which she ate happily, now snoozing again. Larger pee than usual compared to last few days so I got urine tests of ketone and BG - first time I've seen a negative on the BG strip!
 
Last edited:
Answering yesterday's posts! and thanks to you both for taking the time to post when you both have so much going on yourselves.
And they think her teeth are okay? Mr. D will have to communicate with Minnie about this! How is Sam, by the way?
Not great, IM said she scraped off chunks of tartar during last checkup when I asked about teeth. At annual in Jan, regular vet said ok to hold off cleaning due to unregulated diabetes - though previously she'd been getting cleaned I think every year, her teeth are terrible. Makes me laugh when she hisses at me and shows me her yellow teeth. Sam is fine, clearly feeling left out and jealous and I have to chase him when he tries to finish Minnie's food when it has the meds in!

I've given ondansetron every eight hours. 2mg for Butters. But I would use it every six for a short while if needed.
I have injectable cerenia on hand, more in case Butters can't keep the pills down rather than because of difficulty pilling. I haven't had to use it yet <anti-jinx>. If you decide to go the injectable route, ask your vet for extra needles so you can replace the needle after drawing the cerenia into the syringe barrel. That way at least Minnie won't feel stinging from any residual that's left on the needle while you're poking her. If you give Minnie fluids, it is supposed to sting less if you inject it into the fluid ball.

Does Minnie enjoy butter? I've been able to pill Butters much easier, including Cerenia, by coating them in a generous layer of butter. Sometimes as soon as she tastes the butter she will just swallow it. Not sure if Minnie would do the same, but just another idea for you to think about. I hope she feels better soon!

I actually had to buy extra needles for the antibiotic. They told me to switch needles because every time you stick it, they get less smooth. Not sure how much that bothered her but I was getting through 5 needles a shot at times last week. The stinging antibiotic definitely did bother her - she'd jump and I'd jump and pull the needle out!

Sigh, Minnie does not enjoy butter. She does not enjoy anything that normal cats like....but thanks for the tip. I will keep persevering!

Today she has been licking her lips quite a lot but no issue eating every time I've offered food. I'll give her an ondansetron but will wait til she's in a good position. She's started growling whenever I pick her up :(
 
She woke again and only ate a tiny bit, then this time walked away when I followed her with bowls...and lots of lip licking today so I decided time for a pill. Then thought, well let's have another go with cerenia first before trying ondansetron since it's only 1/day. After re-watching this youtube this morning, I was a bit more forceful keeping her head pointed up and got it 3rd attempt (only needed 1 gelcap) - gave up with the pill gun. SO RELIEVED!! Then of course she immediately chose to eat the same food she'd rejected earlier. Clearly the meds can't work that fast. :p:cat:
 
She woke again and only ate a tiny bit, then this time walked away when I followed her with bowls...and lots of lip licking today so I decided time for a pill. Then thought, well let's have another go with cerenia first before trying ondansetron since it's only 1/day. After re-watching this youtube this morning, I was a bit more forceful keeping her head pointed up and got it 3rd attempt (only needed 1 gelcap) - gave up with the pill gun. SO RELIEVED!! Then of course she immediately chose to eat the same food she'd rejected earlier. Clearly the meds can't work that fast. :p:cat:

Yippeee! I LOVE Helpful Vancouver Vet! :D I watched this video a lot when I was learning how to pill Ruby.
 
Just got 38 at PMPS, re-tested and got 47. Trying to follow instructions from before, stall for 10-15 no food and re-test. Right?
 
45 after 10+ minutes.

ETA I am so confused. Normally this low I would be feeding HC immediately. Because it's PMPS, sticky says it's ok to let her hang out in the 40s.
 
45 after 10+ minutes.

ETA I am so confused. Normally this low I would be feeding HC immediately. Because it's PMPS, sticky says it's ok to let her hang out in the 40s.
I'm sorry I'm no help but go with your gut. It's end of cycle so she shouldn't drop any more (unless she's a late nadir-er) she should be flat and start to rise on her own. But yes stall without feeding, I think the limit on that is an hour or two or they might start to go down just from not eating.
 
TR sticky says
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

Her nadir seems to be moving. Few days ago Wendy suggested maybe she was having a double nadir.

Tonight was 38 retested at 47. No food wait 10-15min. 45, gave 1tsp LC. Wait 10-15min. 49, gave 1tsp LC.
 
Just finished studying SS. The last time you skipped, she went high. The closest you've shot was a 71, and she hit 40s after that.

What I'm seeing is she's become a late nadir-er right now, Mr Kitty does it every now and then on Lev (and was doing it on Lantus too).

TR shoot 50 and above. How far off schedule can you be?
 
1) Do not shoot if she is still under 50
2) If after the LC food and retest, if numbers are in the low 50s, can you afford to wait and retest 20 more minutes just to be sure the number is on the rise? how long can you hold off and not give insulin? Can you adjust shot time tomorrow?
 
1) Do not shoot if she is still under 50
2) If after the LC food and retest, if numbers are in the low 50s, can you afford to wait and retest 20 more minutes just to be sure the number is on the rise? how long can you hold off and not give insulin? Can you adjust shot time tomorrow?
I can wait. I don't want to, but I can do it.
 
Looking at your notes for tomorrow, it may not be a bad thing. You'll be out of the house earlier in the cycle, but not so early you'd miss another potential late (like +14) nadir
 
62 after 20min, gave her another 1tsp LC. Shoot now and give her dinner?

Asking because now I'm afraid this is food influenced, wondering if I need to wait another 20 to see what happens...though I think gut says to shoot based on the other morning. She did drop more at +2 though
 
Good to see numbers on the rise. I'd suggest doing 5.5u since she did get a reading under 40 which technically earns a reduction. I can stay with you for a couple of hours, if you need help.
 
Good to see numbers on the rise. I'd suggest doing 5.5u since she did get a reading under 40 which technically earns a reduction. I can stay with you for a couple of hours, if you need help.
Urgh, too late. I gave her dinner but still LC with a smear of MC (ad, she's being finicky) and gave 6u. I wasn't sure if the 38 counted....

Thanks to you and @FrostD for jumping in so quickly. I thought I was ok with low numbers now but having them at shot time is a doozy and really feels opposite to what you normally do, kick into action and feed at the low numbers! I realize now I'm calmer why it's different, but it's REALLY hard not to bust out the karo.

She was really mad at me at the last pokey, hissed and hissed and hissed. I do her pokeys on the piano stool - she lies and I sit behind her, straddling the stool. Poor girl, I was sitting on her tail. At least I hope that was it otherwise it's going to be an ugly night!
 
62 after 20min, gave her another 1tsp LC. Shoot now and give her dinner?

Asking because now I'm afraid this is food influenced, wondering if I need to wait another 20 to see what happens...though I think gut says to shoot based on the other morning. She did drop more at +2 though
I think that was a +14 nadir. Its always possible you might see that tonight, but that LC would have brought her up enough to keep her out of the scaries.

Have you thought about adjusting feeding schedule given nadir shift?
 
Urgh, too late. I gave her dinner but still LC with a smear of MC (ad, she's being finicky) and gave 6u. I wasn't sure if the 38 counted....

Thanks to you and @FrostD for jumping in so quickly. I thought I was ok with low numbers now but having them at shot time is a doozy and really feels opposite to what you normally do, kick into action and feed at the low numbers! I realize now I'm calmer why it's different, but it's REALLY hard not to bust out the karo.

She was really mad at me at the last pokey, hissed and hissed and hissed. I do her pokeys on the piano stool - she lies and I sit behind her, straddling the stool. Poor girl, I was sitting on her tail. At least I hope that was it otherwise it's going to be an ugly night!
She's been doing lots of weird things lately, understandable! I'd count the 38, mostly because she was also in the 40s on different days at this dose. Worst that happens is you do 5.5U in the AM, it doesn't hold, and you go back up.
 
I think that was a +14 nadir. Its always possible you might see that tonight, but that LC would have brought her up enough to keep her out of the scaries.

Have you thought about adjusting feeding schedule given nadir shift?
:D I was just thinking she is determined to have an 8am/8pm shot time. It was tricky with feeding because they bugged me for dinner between 5-6 and though I've read plenty that you really don't want to feed after nadir (which was around +8 before) but it worked. Then I had to bring it early because of the race last weekend, so this week I've been trying to stick around 630 which did seem to synchronize better with their mealtimes. And today? On the dot, 8pm right when the google reminder spoke to me.:rolleyes:
 
I think that was a +14 nadir. Its always possible you might see that tonight, but that LC would have brought her up enough to keep her out of the scaries.

Have you thought about adjusting feeding schedule given nadir shift?
Re-reading this. What kind of schedule adjustment are you thinking would help here? TBH we really don't have a schedule. Meal at AM shot time, last few days have given more at +1 and +2 which I know is a suggestion anyway. Ha, sometimes I just give the same meal back to her (because the meds are mixed in). PM she tends to eat better.

She's been such a brat lately, not eating much and sleeping most of the day...but she'll wake up and so I give her food which she'll eat. I can't tell if she's nauseous or just being a cat, and picky about her food.
 
Rube-anigans! I do NOT like those +2 lime greens at ALL!
It's been a while since she's pulled one of those on me, but I have the added variable of the prednisolone to contend with these days so it's a tough battle to win all the time against her numbers either going above renal threshold or going too low.
 
It's been a while since she's pulled one of those on me, but I have the added variable of the prednisolone to contend with these days so it's a tough battle to win all the time against her numbers either going above renal threshold or going too low.
Ugh ugh ugh. As if there isn't enough to worry about 'just' with diabetes. I was thrilled with my (ha, Minnie's) first negative urine dip today. Never been so happy to throw away a strip that didn't change color.
 
What’s the harm in skipping?
Part of me did think that, after our deliberate schedule-change skip last week when she jumped to 439. I was surprised how quickly that came back down, even with the reduced dose.

I am guessing that mixed UTI was really causing problems and I wonder how long she had it. She had high WBC during the last hospital stay back in April but they couldn't figure what caused it, urine culture was -ve, - she was on Orbax but maybe it didn't clear it up? And now she had 10days of mystery strong stinging amikacin, that's cleared it and now the insulin is more effective? (yes I still have 25min before next shot time)

I honestly was not expecting to see limes today after that high start - caused by my oversleeping leading to the +13 AMPS!

Now I can check in on our boy D. I hope there's an update :bighug:
 
The drop back down to 81 at +4.5 freaked me out a bit. This time she refused the 10ish% ad, only wanted LC TT so I dug through the stash and found some 14% FF and gave her a couple of tsp. I'm pretty sure if I'd asked, I'd have been told stick with LC but there's a long way to go in this cycle and I wanted to keep her up. Looks like it's going to be a long night on the sofa though (1:15am and I'm too worried and wired to go to bed)
 
Part of me did think that, after our deliberate schedule-change skip last week when she jumped to 439. I was surprised how quickly that came back down, even with the reduced dose.

I am guessing that mixed UTI was really causing problems and I wonder how long she had it. She had high WBC during the last hospital stay back in April but they couldn't figure what caused it, urine culture was -ve, - she was on Orbax but maybe it didn't clear it up? And now she had 10days of mystery strong stinging amikacin, that's cleared it and now the insulin is more effective? (yes I still have 25min before next shot time)

I honestly was not expecting to see limes today after that high start - caused by my oversleeping leading to the +13 AMPS!

Now I can check in on our boy D. I hope there's an update :bighug:
Very bad day yesterday for Mr. D. at the vet. We just can’t go on like this.
 
Back
Top