6/23 Latte AMPS-390, PMPS-453 (New infection found)

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS- 468
+1.75- 449
+3.5- 340
+5.25-246
yesterday::
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17888

Latte has been a little off kilter since my update last night. Not eating, restless, drinking a lot, and probably in a little more pain than usual. I woke to her staring at me from the side of the bed about an hour before the alarm. I picked her up and put her on the bed to cuddle and w/in a minute or two she was back on the floor at the side of the bed staring at me. :? I then found her outside laying in the rain this a.m. after her shot. She was refusing any food and honestly looked quite content and happy so I let her be. What else am I suppose to do?!?! its been almost 2hrs since her shot and she has had a few spoons of baby food and is now starting to take some licks of her wet food.

I made a mistake last night and gave her the old dose of pred. ohmygod_smile grr_red
After seeing that her #'s were not nose diving and she really was not going to eat, no matter how I tried...I gave up. Put some bupe in her for any pain she may be experiencing and went to bed a little early. Of course as soon as I turned off the lights she did eat a little kibble. :YMSIGH:

This is my only day off until NEXT friday. If its not too hot/humid, I may get a bike ride in. Other than that, nothing too exciting planned. Just rest, I guess.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390

I'm sorry to hear that latte is not feeling well today .. I hope that changes soon and she starts to eat some more for you soon ...
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390 +2-222

The kitties do things in their own time. The more you push, the more they stubbornly refuse. She'll eat if you don't coax too hard. And she clearly wanted a warm shower!
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390 +2-222, +3-141

Hi Carolyn & Latte, Some days we just have to "go with the flow". I hope you can get in your bike ride, Carolyn. By the way, I just got the greatest new wrist-band ID, designed for cycling, but could be used for any sport or activity where, after an accident, your life depended on quick access to your emergency contacts. Check it out on http://www.RoadID.com/Team You can get a $1. discount if you use the following promo code: http://www.RoadID.com/?CID=ThanksLinda771608 (that will just about cover the postage!!)

Latte, you have a good day today. Lucky you that your mamabean will be able to spend it with you!

Hugs to you both,
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390 +2-222, +3-141

P.S. to Latte: Hi Latte! I'd love to visit you this afternoon to drink catnip tea and discuss bouncing and other topics. I'll bake some tuna scones and bring them along. Later we'll go surfing with Mannie and Shadow. How does that sound?

Stu
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390 +2-222, +3-141

Vet just called and Latte has a NEW infection! :cry:
Strepptococcus (am I spelling all these right?).
He said there was no growth for the enterococcus or e coli (that is GOOD news, at least!). I was told the U sends their cultures out to a lab in wisconsin, and sometimes when there are multiple infections some of them will 'cloud' out others. At her regular clinic they culture it on the spot, immediately...so more likely to see everything.

He has a call in to the dr at the U already, because he is not sure what is happening. I told him to run a sensitivity because I dont want to mess around with guessing on an a/b at this point. He is always one to cut corners financially for me, but agreed that we need to work extra hard at nipping things in the bud at this point.

We also discussed the possibility of a kidney infection, which I brought up after realizing that her walking/back issues have both been exacerbated each time she shows an infection.

So we wait for the sensitivity and probably have to switch her to an a/b that will make her pukey...and wait for the two vets to consult on what to do.

+4 is 151. She is either starting her bounce or surfing. Considering the drop, I would guess starting the bounce.


Poor girl. She is just the innocent one in all of this. I love her so much.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141 (New infection found)

Oh Carolyn, just when you think you have turned a corner! I hope the vets can get the new infection under control. (It sounds as if it was there all along and just "discovered", however). Stu will bring a bouquet of healing vines this afternoon, when he calls on Latte. Fingers and paws crossed for an a/b that will do the trick.

Ella
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390 +2-222, +3-141

Carolyn,
I'm so happy you get today off, and Latte seems to be having some great numbers today. I hope she is eating now, and feeling better.
I found J.D. hiding under a bush in the rain the other day, and I had to practically drag him out. He liked being out under that bush all soaking wet :roll: .
I hope you get your bike ride in and enjoy your day off.

I tried to post at the same time as you. I hope all the infections go away, once the proper a/b is found, and that the proper a/b is found very soon.

I'm at work, so gotta go.

Do enjoy your day.

And Latte, surf
7_3_205.gif
the day away
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141 (New infection found)

Oh Latte! cat_pet_icon But maybe now they've found the underlying culprit and things will turn around.
âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§
:YMHUG: Carolyn :YMHUG: I hope you get a little relaxation in today and you get good results back from the vets.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141 (New infection found)

Hi Carolyn,
Sorry to hear about the new infection but hopefully with the right meds you can get this kicked. I know what you mean about the appetite issue. Pedro's new meds reduce his appetite and he has an infection right now and on antibiotics too which decrease appetite even more. What a cycle - but - thank goodness we have a pill for this and a pill for that.

Hope you do get that bike ride in. And Latte, while your mom is biking I hope you are surfing
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141 (New infection found)

At least the strep is typically not AB resistant. There are also several different strains of strep (S. canis is most common in cats, I think). I don't know if the strain makes a different in treatment, though.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

I'm sorry Latte is not feeling well. Maybe when you get this new infection cleared up you will see some dramatic improvement. I think it was a good call on your part to check out the kidney infection. That would certainly make Latte feel unwell. I hope she eats more today and starts feeling better.

Enjoy your day off, Carolyn. You deserve it.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

Well, good that you know about this now and you will be able to treat it....
poor Latte...
if it's not one thing, it's another.
Hopefully they will find the right ABs to give her and she will be right as rain in no time at all.
Good +3 today! :mrgreen: Hope she doesn't go too high....
fingers-crossed-emoticon.gif
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

wow, and what to say - I feel for you and your girl. just when things get resolved something else shows up. just unreal. well - hope this is the last - poor Latte. (((((healing vines)))))

At last she has Stu coming for tea - yay!

Good luck!
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

Sending healing vines Latte's way.
She'll get through this too, Carolyn. Latte will get through this one too !

xoxo ♥
Caryl, Alex and Jackson
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

Keeping Latte in my prayers and thoughts. Hope the infection clears quickly.
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

I'm sorry to hear Latte has another infection (are you giving probiotics? I don't remember if you said)...

They'll find an AB that's right for her. I sort of think they should go ahead and treat this as a possible kidney infection and prolong the treatment time - especially if the ABs that will work for her other infections will also work on this new strep infection (or vice versa). Kasha has one more Baytril to take tomorrow and that ends her 6 week course of ABs... Which makes me nervous... But look at her SS... You can see where the ABs kicked in and started fighting that kidney infection. It took a good 2 weeks, and the day after our first "HI" - the numbers started to tank and since then we've reduced our dose by 1/2 (1.5 to .75u).

Now Latte - what your mama bean meant when she said Kasha should be your inspiration was NOT to get a matching kidney infection! However, she did mean you should get better like Kasha has been doing and try to get to those blues and greens and STAY there!!!
 
Re: 6/23 Latte AMPS-390, +3-141, +5.5-247 (New infection found)

I'm very sorry about the new infection appearing, Carolyn. I know it isn't good news, but at least it gives you a chance of targeting it with the right a/b. That's better than having the infection present, and NOT showing up in the culture. In my completely uneducated opinion, I would guess that the Orbax is working on the first infection. If you had received a negative culture today, you would have concluded that the Orbax was being effective against the UTI, and would have continued treatment, hopefully for at least 6 weeks. If treatment is stopped prematurely, the bacteria will reappear. Bacteria can be present deep in the bladder walls, or deep in the nephrons of the kidney, and not show up at all in culture, even though infection is present. Maybe the 2nd infection was just hiding like that at the time of the first culture, or maybe the killing of of some bacteria allowed the other to flourish a little more (complete speculation on my part). Bear's experience with pyelonephritis is that he was first diagnosed after presenting with serious illness and elevated white blood cell count. He has had only one positive urine culture in his life. His diagnosis was confirmed by ultrasound. He is on Baytril (a fluoroquinolone like Orbax, I believe) for life, as a senior renal kitty on steroids and a history of recurrent UTI's is at high risk of re-infection, and stopping and restarting a/b's may promote a/b resistance. Bear's damaged kidneys also leak blood and protein, so his urine always looks suspicious for UTI, whether one is growing or not.

I am sending many vines your way in the hope that they can find a good a/b to target the infection, and that Latte tolerates it and responds well. (((Carolyn))).
 
AMPS- 390
+2- 222
+3- 141
+4- 151
+5.5- 247
+8- 303
+10- 442
PMPS- 453

What a waste of strips. I knew I should have stopped at +5. Very disheartening.

I gave the RIGHT dose of pred tonight (the decrease).

I did find vomit under the piano today. Im guessing she did that overnight. I wonder why she didnt get in bed with me like she usually does after she vomits in the middle of the night? Maybe she couldnt, all stoned on bupe, and thats why she was just sitting staring at me for so long. Poor thing.

She has been on the orbax for almost 2 weeks now. We will not stop it quite yet because it obviously did something for the ecoli AND that resistant enterococcus. Its likely she will finish that out for at least 3 weeks total (if not more), AND add whatever a/b is going to work for the new infection. Its a wait and see until the sensitivity comes back and vet consults with specialist. In the meantime, she still has an infection that is going untreated. We cant do full diagnostics to see if its a kidney infection. If the overwhelming majority believe it could be, that is what we will treat for as well.

Her day was spent in the bathroom. She continues to sleep in there as we head into the evening. She finished about 2/3 can wet this a.m. and snuck in some kibble while I ran out for a bit this afternoon. We will work on babyfood the rest of the evening, unless she shows interest in something else.

I spent some time reminiscing with her about our 'first' apt together. How she would play fetch down the stairs, sit on the roof with me to watch cars go by, the fish tank she would wrap herself around and fall asleep while watching the fish. The escape she made off the roof and was so lucky to be found...IN A DUMPSTER down the alley! :shock: Or, how i let her out a few times to 'know' the area around the house and she would play cat and mouse with me...she being the mouse! She always let me win...she knew where the food and cozy bean was! Then there was the time a bird flew into the apt! She was terrified and ran under the bed! :lol: Suppose it could have been my screaming that scared her, and not the bird. I dont know how she could jump onto the clawfoot bathtub and walk around the edge without falling. Talent!

She purred a lot when we talked about this, eventually getting up for a drink of water. I was then quickly reminded of how old she looks, as well as how old I feel! :lol: Sometimes these positions on the floor to be next to her can be quite painful to get out of!
 
That's interesting about Bear being on Baytril for life. I'm so worried about what will happen when Kasha goes off the Baytril after tomorrow... The specialist only recommended a 4 week course and we've done 6 weeks. I really hope that's enough. She's got some kidney issues, but not so much that they definitely recommend treatment - we do fluids once in a while, but it's not a "must do" yet. And no steroids so far. I hope that this does the trick...

I know what you mean, Carolyn - about seeing them look old. I remember when I first noticed that Kasha had old-cat eyes. Made me so sad... But so far, every time she's started to look old, we've found out there is something causing it - first hyperthyroid and now FD. So - at least some things to treat, since you can't exactly treat old age itself. Of course - when I looked in the mirror this morning - my eyes looked a little like that too! I've got to get more sleep!

That dumpster story sounds crazy! How did she get into it???
 
carolynandlatte said:
Its a wait and see until the sensitivity comes back and vet consults with specialist. In the meantime, she still has an infection that is going untreated. We cant do full diagnostics to see if its a kidney infection. If the overwhelming majority believe it could be, that is what we will treat for as well.

This makes complete sense, especially with a positive culture. The treatment is going to be a/b's either way. Even an ultrasound would probably only say something like "consistent with pyelonephritis ..." at most. It's not definitive.
 
Hi Carolyn & Latte, Lovely reminiscences. I could picture it all so clearly. Stu paid a visit while you were out today and he and Latte drank catnip tea and nibbled on tuna scones in the bathroom. Latte told him about her youthful escapades and he told her a few stories of his own. They had a really nice time. Latte decided not to go surfing today with the boys, however.
I hope that all will get figured out with regard to the medicines and the infections. We are continuing to send healing vines to your girl and we're thinking lots of good, get-well-soon thoughts. Hope you both will have a good night.

Stu sends love to Latte and hugs from us both to you both,

Ella & Stu
 
kryskat said:
That dumpster story sounds crazy! How did she get into it???

Funny you ask! I dont know!!! Ive been asking latte for almost 18yrs. What Im most curious about is how she got to the ground from the second story. She said she was taking her secret to the bridge! :lol:

It was raining and 2am when someone found her and brought her to my house. I never thought ANYTHING could smell so badly. She got a full on bath IN the tub WITH water! :lol:
 
Carolyn, I know what you mean about how old our kitties are and how old we are. :lol: I was 36 when I got Blackie and now he's 17 and well, you do the math. :-D I've got way more white hair than he does, though.

I hope Latte is feeling better. I enjoyed your reminisces. (I wish we had spell checker :mrgreen: )
 
So sorry to hear about the new infection, Carolyn. You guys just can't catch a break! At least they know what it is and can find the right AB to fight it. Hang in there! You have such great stories about Latte. It's so hard to see them get old. I tear up just thinking about my babies getting old. :sad: They're here for too short of a time! You're doing great, Carolyn. Latte knows how much you love her. You have such an amazing bond. We'll be thinking of you both, as always.

Logan said to tell Latte he's saving a dance for her at the next party so get well!
 
Hope this new bug gets knocked out in no time!!!
Latte is a strong girl with the bestest momma bean ever!!--Wishing you a speedy recovert--Hugs from Us~!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top