6/23 Hershey PMPS(376) +4(283) +6(256)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
6/22 Hershey

Went to bed at +6 (172), so getting up to

AMPS (338) was a little disappointing
+4 (196)

Debated about feeding him a little, but am home and think I'll wait and see where he is at +5. Thought about waiting until +6, but afraid that may be too long.

Be careful out in the heat!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

+5 (180)
+6.5 (180)
+8.75 (216)
+11 (389)

PMPS (376) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:05pm
+4 (283)
+6 (256)
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196)

Bummer on the 338, a little bounce I suspect. and WOW on that +4. Nice drop Hershey! Another test around +5 sounds good. It will eb a good indication of where Hershey is heading. A nice blue surf Hershey?

Enjoy your day today!
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196) +5(180)

Good morning, Michelle - Good to see you. :smile: I'd love a nice blue surf! :-D

+5 (180)
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196) +5(180) +6.5(180)

+6.5 (180)

We're planning to go out for seafood tonight - to the same place we went 6/15. Attached is what he did that night. I ended up loading him up on HC (see comment section). :sad: hmmm...maybe all I have to do is tell him we're thinking about going out and he'll give us some blues...maybe even green???

Almost hate to feed him now and possibly end the nice blues. But, hopefully they'll make a return visit!
 

Attachments

  • 6-15.JPG
    6-15.JPG
    48.6 KB · Views: 375
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196) +5(180) +6.5(180)

Thanks for asking, Liz. It seems much of the pain has subsided (of course, we're not letting him do anything!) so he's trying to cut back on the percocet. The muscle relaxers are doing their job - keeping him relaxed enough to doze off! ;-) I'm concerned about the swelling in the knee/ankle. The knee was pretty scraped up, but I can't see anything wrong with the ankle and he said it doesn't hurt. Maybe the swelling is from sitting more than usual? I don't know.

I'd sure love for Hershey to decide he likes surfing in the beautiful blue! :-D
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196) +5(180) +6.5(180)

Glad Doug's feeling better - and hopefully Hershey will cooperate... why not tell him you'll bring him some yummy seafood in a "doggy bag" :o if he keeps his numbers in a safe zone??? Hope you have a nice time tonight! I know you've GOT to be loving the BID schedule again!!! Trusting you're getting more rest than before!
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +6.5(180) +11(389)

Grayson & Lu said:
Glad Doug's feeling better - and hopefully Hershey will cooperate... why not tell him you'll bring him some yummy seafood in a "doggy bag" :o if he keeps his numbers in a safe zone??? Hope you have a nice time tonight! I know you've GOT to be loving the BID schedule again!!! Trusting you're getting more rest than before!

Thanks, Lu. Considering all of the crazy schedules in our house, I'm not really getting any more rest with BID. Sometimes I have to remind myself we're BID, again. I keep typing +8 at shot time. :roll:

I came to check on Grayson, but didn't see anything new. I hope things are going well for him!!

+11 (389) - Well, it was nice while it lasted...another bounce? or still settling in? or will we find it's not enough?
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey AMPS(338) +4(196) +5(180)

Hi Libby,

i don't know if this works for Hershey or not, but I find that Racci does better if I give several small meals. I just give smaller portions more often. It seems it would be easier to digest and it keeps her bg lower.
It seems you got your blue surf anyway though! :lol: I hope you enjoy your dinner and Doug feels better soon.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey PMPS(376)

PMPS (376) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:05pm

Hershey seems to continue being fond of the pink PS's.... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey PMPS(376)

I see blue in 2 cycles in a row! Lucy held onto her pink preshots forever, but I decided not to worry about it as long as she was coming down in each cycle. Eventually she flattened out. Hershey will probably need another dose increase, but usually we suggest waiting 8-10 cycles once they start hitting blue. Maybe tomorrow night, if he doesn't see green tonight or tomorrow.

Looks good!
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey PMPS(376) +4(283)

Libby and Lucy said:
I see blue in 2 cycles in a row! Lucy held onto her pink preshots forever, but I decided not to worry about it as long as she was coming down in each cycle.

Thanks, Libby. I keep trying to figure out which is more important - lower PS's or more hours lower during the cycle and I'm thinking it's the latter? He rises fast, wish I knew why, but I like that he's able to enjoy more hours with lower BG.

And, I think he's fluffier lately. My kids noticed it, too. When my son came home yesterday, he remarked that Hershey was fat, but when he picked Hershey up he was like - 'that's all fluff!' :-D

+4 (283)
 
Re: 6/23 Hershey PMPS(376) +4(283)

Doug N Libby said:
I keep trying to figure out which is more important - lower PS's or more hours lower during the cycle and I'm thinking it's the latter? He rises fast, wish I knew why, but I like that he's able to enjoy more hours with lower BG.

And, I think he's fluffier lately. My kids noticed it, too. When my son came home yesterday, he remarked that Hershey was fat, but when he picked Hershey up he was like - 'that's all fluff!' :-D

Absolutely the latter the more time spent in those healing numbers the better :smile: and often the improvement in the cat is seen before the numbers are where you'd like them to be and of course Hershey feeling good is the most important thing of all. He seems to be motoring along quite nicely but remember he does need to eat! I wouldn't be withholding food early in the cycle to try to get to lower numbers.

Vyktor has always free fed and I didn't need to change that for him but many people frontload kitty's meals (at shot time, +1, +2, +3 ) and don't feed in the latter half of the cycle (when the insulin is wearing off) to help keep the numbers lower overall. More frequent smaller meals are definitely the way to go so as not to overload a healing pancreas.
 
+6 (256)

Will be gone tomorrow until at least +4, maybe even +6. Do y'all do anything differently if you're going to be done that long, like reduce the dose or anything? Looking at his SS, I don't see that he's gone that low by +6 where I need to worry about it. Do y'all?

Thanks for the extra eyes!!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top