6/23 Calli Mae & Rocky amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Active Member
Callie Mae was at 154 this morning at ps. Not exactly where I would have liked to have seen her, but she's getting down there. Maybe she is upset with all the "attention" Rocky is getting. I gave her a fat 0 just to push her along some more. Maybe I should have held off and just gave her a real 0. We'll see.

Rocky came in at a whopping 361, so since I am not working today, he got a whole unit. Warming up my dancing shoes as I type. I think today is going to be a jitterbug! :lol:
 
Well, I don't know what is going on with Callie Mae.
Her +2 is 171... :o
I don't know why she would be going up.
What could be going on? I don't understand.

Rocky is coming down nicely. His +2 is 182.
 
If you take into consideration the +/- 20 percent meter variation- there is really no difference in 154 and 171-- (11 percernt diff in test). Just give it some time and test again.

Also, sometimes there is a different onset in kittys. Maybe the onset of "a drop" vs. 1 unit would be slower. I know nothing about micro dosing!!!

When did Callie Mae eat last? You know her pancreas is working some from the drops you have seen. You could feed her a little to see if it would stimulate her pancreas to help out some.

You are doing fine! Just test her again in a couple of hours.
 
Yea, that makes sense.

She ate at breakfast, which was 8:30.

i planned on doing another test around +5 or so, hopefully she will be where I want to see her.
Guess Rocky is causing more stress that what she let's on.

Oh well-she will have to deal. That guy has no where to go, so she will just have to suffer through it!

He is such a nice kitty. If she would just give him a chance, they could be lounging buddies,,,, :lol:
But she doesn't want anything to do with him. Avoids him at all cost. At least they are not wanting to fight each other. Just the silent treatment to each other.
 
One more thing--first let me assure you I am no dosing guru. But, since some of our experts are at a "convention" this week and there is little traffic here, I feel compelled to say this.

I was looking at Rocky's spreadsheet--you started at .4 and stayed there one cycle, then you went to .6 the next cycle, then this morning the third cycle you went to 1 unit.

It would probably help if you stayed with one dose for a few cycles before switching. He is not in dangerously high numbers and it normally takes a few cycles for them to settle into the dose. The most alarming issue I see are his numbers at +2. Last night on .6 units, his + 2 was 143--you have no more test after that and normally the nadir would be around +6. He probably dropped considerably lower last night and the 361 this morning probably was a "liver" reaction--a bounce- to the lower numbers last night. He is not use to dropping back into those numbers and his body has to settle into it.


I have had this said to me more than once--and still get it frequently--Don't shoot the bounce!


I would get some test in today. You probably could move back to .6--maybe .5 and stay there a few cycles and get some test, unless you see numbers climbing higher daily. Then adjust your dosing according to your midcyle test.
But, you were successful in getting Callie OTJ--so, who am I to advise?!!!

Just my thoughts--
 
Good call on the fat 0 dose for Calli - she will probably need a little help in the coming days insulin wise.

Keep tabs on Rocky today - that is a bit of a drop in only 2 hours. I hope it levels out! :shock:
 
Sounds like you are doing great with both of them,
I do have to agree with Kim though that maybe stick with one dose for a few days...
He very well could havae bounced...
but overall ...Kudos to you!
 
yea, i'm not sure why i did that.
I just wasn't comfortable giving 3u as the vet wanted me to do, and I don't feel like I have gained enough experience with Callie Mae because she went OTJ so quickly, I just didn't know what to shoot.
I didn't get a lot of input here, must have been the convention thing, so I just started out real low.
After thinking about it, and looking over his and Callie's chart, I thought maybe .4 wasn't enough, that's why I gave him .6.

Why I didn't just stick with that this morning is beyond me!... :shock:

I will stick with a dose for a couple days to see how he does, IF I can find one. :lol:

I gave him the whole unit this am, and his +5 is 94....yeah for Rocky. His first look at green. Want to check him again at +7 just to see if he's heading back up. Hopefully he will be by then.
If he heads back up to where he was this morning, maybe I will stick with that dose, if not, I may need to come back down to .6 and let that ride a few days.
I am hoping some one will be around this evening around ps time so I can maybe talk it through with someone. Not expecting anyone to give me dosing advice, just maybe talk me through it. You know, cuz I still feel like I'm walking blind through all this! There is so much out there I have yet to learn and I want to make sure I haven't overlooked something.

Thanks again guys, for all your input. I really do feel like I was lucky in regards to Callie Mae. I found you wonderful people and with a little guidance and knowledgeable suggestions, I was able to get her OTJ in what I feel like was VERY fast. Now, it's like I am just starting the REAL sugar dance with Rocky. Callie Mae was just a warm-up! I don't know where I would be with out you people!
 
Yay, that you didn't give the 3 units!!!

What time do you shoot tonight?

Rocky's numbers look good today-- who knows maybe you have hit his dose perfectly! It would be interesting to get a +10 and his pmps, to see if there is a zoom or bounce toward the end of his cycle. The drop has been about 75 percent-- pretty big, but no one can argue with the 94.

You are doing great!

How's the beach?!
 
pmps will be at 8:30.

I am going to get another check in at +6 just because I am kinda scared that he could still be dropping. I don't want him to go to low. I don't know if that 94 is a safe number for +5 or not. Rather be safe than sorry.

I will most definitely be able to get a +10.

Poor Rocky and his ears. WHY must we be so fascinated with their numbers.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

The beach......hummm, well it feels like 120 today. So the beach is probably just fine, but my air conditioning is better. lol
Suppose to be a little cooler starting tomorrow, so if I am not busy dancing, I may just take my chair and go catch some rays on the surf and catch up on a good book.
Weather permitting of course.
 
Whether 94 is a good number at +5 will be determined by where he goes from here. Truly, I think it is okay.

Supposedly, after +6 the drop should not be as much-- the insulin is normally wearing out. Normally, prozinc only last 12 hours. He probably will hang out in the same numbers for awhile.

Once you get your +6 post it. If you hit 50, I would post on health for advice.

Tonight there should be more people here at 8:30.

I'll keep a check for the +6.
 
ok, so I think this is what a bounce looks like? His +6 is 165.

Have to run out to the store. Will check back in when I get home.

SS is updated, not that it matters much. I have been posting his numbers all day... :lol:
 
Rocky's +10 was 289.
Just a guess,, but I am thinking he will probably be around the same as he was at amps.
If that is the case, what do you think about going ahead and shooting the .6?
I think the whole unit was to much, which caused the bounce. That's what causes it, right?
This stuff makes my head spin!!!!!!
If I shoot a .6, I will definitely get some more checks in throughout the night, but maybe he will handle that better and I can ride with that for a few days.
 
Check him again at your pmps. Truly, this is not much bounce.

Post the pmps and there will be some people around to help you. It looks like he had a good day.
 
No, not 1 unit--- too much with such little data.

I'm going to look at the ss -- be right back.
 
With Asher, when he bounces, we keep the dose the same. When we have reduced, he has lost ground. But that is our cat with data to support this and many past mistakes made :shock: ECID as everyone is fond of saying here :-D

That being said, you had quite a good drop today, and you have less data on Rocky, so maybe a slight reduction is in order here. I’d say .6 or .8 ? What does everyone else think?

The bounce may take a few days to clear too.
 
After seeing your pmps and looking at the spreadsheet, I’d go .6 to be on the safer side. FWIW...
 
It looks like the .4 and .6 did pretty good into the Mid 200 preshots.

It is your call, but I would drop back to .5 and see what happened. There will be a lot more help on later tonight-- people much more qualified to give dosing advice. But, Rocky dropped from 382 to 98 today and you preshot is 100 points lower. I think 1 unit is too aggressive, with such little data. You had about a 75 percent drop on the one unit-- if the same drop occurrd tonight you would be in the 70 range. That to me is really agressive.



See what others think.
 
I am okay with the .6 -but, it too dropped really fast last night on a similar preshoot. Who knows what happened after the +2 last might-- possibly resulting in his higher numbers today.

I say .5! And it is easier to see!!!
 
Oh, I see she went to test Callie Mae. I see Joanna is on....thank goodness...take the pressure off us! :mrgreen:
 
totallybeachin said:
I just wasn't comfortable giving 3u as the vet wanted me to do, and I don't feel like I have gained enough experience with Callie Mae because she went OTJ so quickly, I just didn't know what to shoot.
I didn't get a lot of input here, must have been the convention thing, so I just started out real low.
After thinking about it, and looking over his and Callie's chart, I thought maybe .4 wasn't enough, that's why I gave him .6.

Why I didn't just stick with that this morning is beyond me!... :shock:

3u :shock: :o :shock: TG you know enough not to go there, sheesh! It looks like you are doing great. It makes sense to me you did the rapid increases b/c the standard starting dose is 1u - so if you started lower than that and didn't see results, I would have done the same thing - bump right up to 1u and sort of start over there (assuming the #s weren't lowish or anything on the lower doses).

I am still catching up on the thread, but looks like he is getting a really great response! I think everyone is going to want to send their kitties to your house for Boot Camp. :lol: Maybe there is something in the water that has them going into blues & greens with barely 1u in them!!!!
 
Just to make some dosing comments, I think it's too early really to know a lot. It looks to me like 0.4 is too little and 1u I agree might be the right dose, but could be too much if he gets some overlap. So I think anything w/in those boundaries is fine to try. Typically the dose can build up in their system over maybe 2 or 3 cycles, maybe 4, but not really much more than that. PZI has some overlap for some cats, but not a lot.

I would probably be tempted to try 0.8 if I were planning to test a fair amount, or 0.6 if I didn't think I could test a lot. Do that for 2 or 3 days (lowering immediately if PSs are below 150 or nadirs below 50) and see where things are. But really I think you are making great calls, so I would follow your gut! You might be able to tell too from his symptoms - if he is feeling better now and symptoms are going down, then you aren't too far off. Of course it might take some time for the symptoms to settle down, but hopefully you will see improvement. If not and you are trying say 0.6 and don't see blues tomorrow, I might go ahead up to 0.8.

Not sure how much that helps!
 
I agree with Joanna on the 0.8u dose. 1u actually didn't look that bad to me. Your nadir was 95 - the rise up is either a * little* bit of body reaction or the natural course of the insulin wearing off.
 
For Callie, it makes sense like Kim said the rise by +2 - food, not really a real rise, plus maybe not onset yet. Also fat 0 may just not be enough. I would look back over what you gave her before and go with what worked - "last known good dose" theory. Looks like the fat 0s you gave her before didn't do a whole lot, she seemed to get more from the 0.6. Maybe try 0.2 or 0.4 on the next blue PS? You can't really tell from this latest 0.6 if it was too strong, or if it was enough to jump start her pancreas again and that gave you the good PS last night. I would lean towards 0.4, or if you want to kind of get more of a feel for where she is, I would try 0.2 and get data, and if that doesn't drop her into good numbers, then bump to 0.4. I don't have a lot of micro-experience though, but that's how it looks to me! [ETA and I think it's probably ok to shoot 0.6 if that's what feels right to you - I would try to get a nadir test in if you do that, to see where it is landing her]
 
Sorry I got lost there for a minute. when all the good advice was flowing in too. :oops:

Well, I did shoot .6.
I have all night so I can watch his #'s obsessively if I want. :lol:

Callie Mae didn't get anything tonight. Her ps was 148 and she was getting supper, so I know she is going to come down in a comfortable enough zone for me to not have to have her worrying me tonight as well. I will tend to her in the morning if she still isn't doing anything.

I haven't gotten a chance to read everything posted, so I want to play catch up and see if I made a good choice.
 
Oh yeah, I think that is fine! No need to obsess. Unless he is acting super-sick, I would not obsess for at least a couple days :-D and give his body a little time to get used to being on insulin. You are already pretty much at the fine tuning stage on what, day 2, LOL, so that's pretty amazing.

Are you testing him for ketones? His numbers aren't awful, but it's still good practice. I hope he is gaining weight now! He is SOOOOO lucky to have you, sounds like his situation was bad and going to get worse.

:RAHCAT
 
Yes, I tested him for ketones the second day he was here.
I had just dumped the urine and caught him going, so I know I got a fresh sample that was positively his.
He was neg. thank God!

Haven't really noticed any weight gain, YET, but I pray that it's coming. The vet said in his opinion, he looked good, but because he had never seen him before, he didn't have anything to go on. Maybe I am just used to him being a little on the chunky side, not really fat, just some meat on his bones. He is just SUPER skinny now. All I feel is bones. But he will get better. I know it. He just need time. :mrgreen:

Glad to know I don't need to obsess.
But what if I'm just curious?? :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top