6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 +4 73 +6 66 +8 84 +10 108 1st day on Lev

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67 1st day on Lev

Just give HC like you normally do if he continues to drop. He may be a later nadir cat. Neko often nadirs from +9 to +12 (PS). I would have started at 5U or 5.25U which is 70% of Tiggy's Lantus dose. Some cats do have a marked reaction to Lev so you want to be conservative at first. If you are worried or unable to test tonight you can always skip tonight and start with a lower dose tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67 1st day on Lev

Yeah I am not sure how to handle PMPS. Normally I would shoot as low as 50 but thats on lantus. Unless he suddenly does a bounce I might well skip, drain the lantus depot a bit..
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67 1st day on Lev

I've shot as low as 53 on Lev, but only when I know she's coming up. Once when she gave me a 49 I waited until she was coming up. The trick is that some cats (like Neko and Gracie) sometimes nadir as late as +11 or +12. It'll take a while until you figure out where Tiggy's Lev nadir is or ranges from/to. He could be doing a bounce breaking cycle from the Lantus too.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67 1st day on Lev

typically we start at 70% of the Lantus dose - we have had kitties be very responsive to the first dose of Lev. I'd probably drop down to the 5.25u that Wendy is suggesting and work up from there. Much less stressful to be going up than to have to reduce when you're first beginning and don't even know what the cycles will look like.

if you get low numbers, just treat them like you normally do.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67+11 71 1st day on

Tonite or tomorrow? Still not sure if I should skip. Now he looks like he might be surfing or even rising ... At least that's what I would have said before... Sigh.. It's day one and I am already stressed lol.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy AMPS 312 +3 249 +6 148+10 67+11 71 1st day on

i've seen a lot of cats on Lev at least some of the time, have their nadir around the next preshot time. It's up to you. You know if you do shoot tonight, you'll have to monitor. Considering that Lev has to build a depot, just like Lantus, i think i'd err on the conservative side tonight. Perhaps a token dose of 1-2u for tonight only.

It does look like Tiggy's bottomed out - if the BGs are up at +12, i might shoot something. Depends on what your plans are for tonight.

At whatever point you do shoot the next "regular" dose, i'd decrease the dose a little more.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 1st day on Lev

Looks like he is rising so I shot 2 units. I will get a test at +3 and +9 for sure. More if +3 is dropping again... Doesn't normally with lantus .. With lantus this would be a bounce starting but let's see... Anyone going to be around in 3 hours?

Wendy
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 1st day on Lev

i won't be, but sometimes people having pj parties are.

if i were you, i'd probably get a +2 just because this is a new insulin.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 1st day on Lev

I'll be up in 3 hours but not much longer. Neko doesn't onset until well after that so it only gives me a hint of what she's going to do later. I found the first few weeks after the switch very frustrating. I felt like a newbie again. A +9 test will be a good one to start.

ETA: Marje gets a +2 and I get a +3 (depending on the PS), cause it gives me a good idea of what the rest of the cycle will look like.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 1st day on Lev

Ok +2 it is.

I do feel like a newbie all over again! But I have my hypo kit stocked and ready.

How long does the lev depot take to fill, same as lantus?
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 1st day on Lev

I find the depots act very similar between the two insulins.

The biggest frustration I found out when I started was trying to pinpoint when Neko's onset and nadir are. She is about 3 hours later for her onset and nadir about 2-3 hours later than on Lantus too and she still has a variable nadir. Some other cats on Lev are more predictable and onset earlier. The second frustration for me was learning the new patterns and when it's safe to go to bed or do other things during the day. And it does take the cat a while to really settle into the insulin so don't expect to figure it out right away. Overall though, I'm glad I made the switch.
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 +4 73 1st day on Lev

HI Wendy

Good luck with the Lev on Tiggy...............hope it works out for you. How's his walking? Remember what you told me - "go slow, be patient"...........LOL, you'll do find and Davidson sends his vines - oh, Harley too!
 
Re: 6/22 Tiggy PMPS 99 +4 73 +6 66 +8 84 +10 108 1st day on

His walking is pretty much the same... some days are better than others!

Last night he did pretty well on the levemir despite only get 2 units - it will be interesting to see what happens now. Part of all this was his lantus depot I am sure.. and the impact of the BCS is probably still to come. I am expecting a bounce or highs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top