6/22 Snuggie: PMPS 492; +3.25 414; +10.5 263 ((AMPS 502; +6 543 - WTH?

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
502?! His reading on the FL with the bootleg strips from overseas was 396.

this raises a LOT of concerns for me!

which one is right? I know we are looking at “trends” but really we aren’t - how the heck am I supposed to make dosing adjustments when I know there’s 100 POINTS between these meters?

And now - someone said if he doesn’t see 100s he will need to bump up to 8. Well heck, we will be lucky to see 300s on this meter! We will be up to 15 units in no time!

was the past month-plus a lie?

did I miss his ideal dose?

On the flip side, guess he’s waaaay far away from hypo and I really shouldn’t be afraid to shoot lower numbers now, knowing they’re a full 100 points above freestyle. I don’t mean to swear but holy he**.

honestly given how well he is doing - he’s basically his normal self minus being super snuggly - gained weight and maintaining etc - i am 100% expecting one of the test results to come back positive this week. I am so glad I got them done - at least we will finally know and can figure out a treatment plan.

Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...amps-340-6-310-switch-to-relion-prime.248881/
 
There can be a 20% difference in allowable readings of strips. 80% of 502 is about 400, so about 396. And bottom line, you don't do anything different with dosing whether it's 502 or 396. Both are too high. When the numbers get lower, where we care about them in terms of dosing decisions, the numbers will be much closer together. I also found switching from Freestyle to Relion I saw a lot more higher numbers. So I got a third brand of meters (Bayer Contour) to break the tie and it's results were much closer to the Relion. Freestyle was artificially capping the height. Sigh.

did I miss his ideal dose?
Absolutely not - he needs more insulin. Try not to stress about the number of units (I know, had the same issue here :rolleyes:), the important numbers are his blood sugar numbers. He needs whatever insulin dose he needs and every cat is different.:bighug:

I rather suspect he saw some blues the night of the 20th and his poor little body freaked out at them and bounced. Some cats delay the worst of the bouncing. Neko's worst bouncing numbers were the start of the third cycle after the "low to her" event. Weird, but that was her. :cat:
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko - I’ll put my xanax away LOL!!

that all makes sense. And I’m glad to hear you broke the tie and Relion and Bayer agreed and freestyle was the outlier. I won’t buy a fourth and have been playing with the idea of using up the last of my control solution and busting out the alpha trak again just to really mess with my mind!!

Interesting about Neko’s worst reaction to the bounce being the 3rd cycle. I see this guy not having his low event til like 4 days in then the bounce effects still linger when it’s dose change day.

yea I’m trying not to freak about how many units he needs - like you said tho it’s tough, I think it’s less about the amount of insulin and more about how long it might be (how many more weeks of frustration) Til we get to his ideal dose. Now I see the benefit of TR. our other kitty loves her chip reader feeder - maybe it’s time to get him an Ice pack auto feeder for nighttime or make cat-sickles for nighttime and try ditching the dry....
 
Hang in there. I'm with you, I hate the transition between meters. Interesting info about the Freestyle numbers being lower than the others. Maybe once I get through the giant ebay batch of strips I will think about reverting to the Novamax for BG as well.

Good luck as you continuing working your way along the dosing scale.
 
Thanks @Summer and Susie and @Liz & Minnie !! I know y’all got my back and have paws crossed for us. Such is the roller coaster / pogo stick we all deal with here!!
I appreciate everyone’s input and support so much! Someday soon I promise I’ll get more involved in helping others here. I feel bad I’m not more interactive but if you know me you know I love to help people! I really just am drained right now so am so thankful people still help me :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Summer and Susie and @Liz & Minnie !! I know y’all got my back and have paws crossed for us. Such is the roller coaster / pogo stick we all deal with here!!
I appreciate everyone’s input and support so much! Someday soon I promise I’ll get more involved in helping others here. I feel bad I’m not more interactive but if you know me you know I love to help people! I really just am drained right now so am so thankful people still help me :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I totally understand how drained we can become. When you are on surer footing you can take some time to visit others on the site. Just take care of you and Snuggie right now.
 
busting out the alpha trak again just to really mess with my mind!!
Only do this if you want to bust out the Xanax again. ;-) I use AT, mainly because the blood drop needed is so tiny, and Chewy just keeps pumping out the strips to me on auto-ship. I know they are more expensive, but I'm used to the torture of all the pinks, reds, and blacks at this point....o_O:rolleyes:

Hang in there!! Snugs to Snuggie.
 
Only do this if you want to bust out the Xanax again. ;-) I use AT, mainly because the blood drop needed is so tiny, and Chewy just keeps pumping out the strips to me on auto-ship. I know they are more expensive, but I'm used to the torture of all the pinks, reds, and blacks at this point....o_O:rolleyes:

Hang in there!! Snugs to Snuggie.
Thank you! So - I was just going thru some photos from the last few months and came across a pic of a 218 reading on the AT. I celebrated at the time but MY GOD, if I knew then what I knew now - he would probably have been in the high greens on the FL!! LOL!!!
 
Back
Top