6/22 Little Boy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anyname

Member Since 2010
AMPS 329.4 0.1 Ketones guestimate 3.25units, +4 286.2, +9 304.2, PMPS 340.2 guessing 3.25units.

Talked to the Vet on phone. He talked about increasing Lantus to 4 units. Told him I needed to find a syringe that was more specific but didn't manage to do that today. Very disappointed in the levels. Over two weeks on 3 units x 2 daily. Is it normal to take this long to bring figures down as Little Boy was 385.2 before treatment (in Vets office with stress of visit etc). Told Vet I wouldn't go to 4 units but would try to do 3.25units x twice daily. He is going to run a fuctosamine test next Monday. Don't know what that is but hope it will tell us more.

Advice? thanx
Marilyn
 
Good morning Marilyn

I believe a fructosamine test will basically tell you what you're already seeing with home testing - and is usually done once a year. and/or before starting insulin if needed. Plus dose adjustments should not be determined by a fructo test....And not to mention some vets tell you to do these more often, more $$ for them, when home testing is just as good. In my area those tests run about $100!

Hoping others with experience will stop by and offer more insight.

A little info about:
Fructosamine
 
Marilyn:

Can I suggest you put Little Boy's BG test numbers in your subject line? It makes it much easier to tell what's going on from outside of your condo. It's important, particularly if you need help since some of us scan the board looking to lend a hand. Your subject line would read:
6/22 Little Boy AMPS-340, +4-286, +8-304, PMPS-338​

I'm glad you decided to increase by 0.25 than what the vet advised. Increasing in whole units makes it very easy to miss an optimal dose. Keep in mind that when you raise doses, two things can happen. First, it will take a little time for the shed to fill with insulin from the new dose. The results of increasing won't be immediate. There is also a phenomenon that we refer to as NDW ("new dose wonkiness") that happens only with a dose increase. Rather than numbers going down they way you would expect with more insulin, they go up. It can take a cycle or two for the dose to level out and do it's job. I am also going to nag you to please get at least one test during the PM cycle. Many cats run lower numbers at night.

You're going to get very tired of hearing this, but Lantus requires patience. It's the trade off between a faster acting, harsher insulin vs. a long-acting, gentle insulin like Lantus. Hang in there!

Just out of curiosity, how are you testing for ketones? We use Ketostix here. I ask, because you mentioned the price of the test strips, which seemed quite high. A container of 50 strips here costs around $10 - 15.

A fructosamine test is good for diagnosis. Now that you are testing often at home, there is little information that it can provide. The test gives you an average of BG over a 2 - 3 week period. It's very much like the glycosylated hemoglobin test they use to diagnose diabetes in people.
 
Hi, yeah I started out trying to make it in the subject line but wasn't familiar with how to condense it. Was on way to bed and took the easy option. (thanx for demo line)

Not sure how to tell vet we no need the fructos test. I wonder whether it was his only way of taking back some control. I sent him the url to the spread sheet. I think he was a bit worried that BG testing was some form of animal abuse. Knowing how badly LB behaved at their clinic re having his teeth cleaned he was surprised to hear that LB is placid during testing.

Still don't know what Sheds are.

Optimum Brand machine for BG testing also performs ketones if buy specific strips for their machine. 10 for $26AUD.

thanx Marilyn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top