6/22 James AMPS 137, +3 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

kateliz

Member Since 2012
Well, our beautiful run of green ended last night, but I'm really spoiled to be disappointed to see blue! James is extra purry and happy this morning, so I can't complain.

It's good he's giving me a break on the testing, because later today James travels to DGma's to stay for the week while I'm traveling! I'm staying with her for about a day so she and my DA can learn his routine. I'm putting together all the information they'll need, and will set DA an account up on here in case they have questions.

Also some good news, DA talked to her vet who would only charge 1/3 of the price I was quoted to perform James' hernia surgery (and about 1/2 the price of the low-cost clinic!). She's a great vet, and I'm so lucky she's willing to work with my DA and me. If DA and DGma are willing to take him, and then put up with a post-surgery kitty, I can probably swing this new price and he might get his operation done this week! :-D :-D

Hope everyone has a very happy Friday!
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

That is a gorgeous AMPS, even though it's not green!!

Great news about the hernia surgery, too!!! Be safe in your travels, and have a great day!
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

Such nice AMPS for James today! How great that DA's vet is cheaper and can maybe do it next week! Great news all the way around Kate. I know that you were stressing about it. Good idea on spending a day "teaching" DA what to do. Will she be testing? That is so nice that you have someone willing to do it. Have a wonderful Friday!
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

Thanks Amy and Melissa!

DGma will be the one testing, DA is going to stop by in the morning and evenings if DGma needs help with the insulin. (DU is diabetic and DA has 3 cats, so she's very well qualified, haha!) I'm going to print them a hard copy of a spreadsheet so that they can keep track of James' numbers. DGma kept James all last summer, and does love having him. I'm very lucky they're willing to take such good care of him.
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

I wouldn't be surprised if James is back to green today.

A suggestion or two for having someone other than yourself who's shooting.

I'd set up a sample syringe for your DGma and DA. Use juice or milk or colored water so they can clearly see what the dose looks like. The downside of having a family member who uses insulin is that they are probably used to seeing bigger doses and could easily get confused by how little insulin James is getting. Having a sample syringe to compare with will, hopefully alleviate the problem. (We had someone shoot 5u vs. 0.5u at one point so it really happens.)

You may want to establish a "no shoot" number unless you know that your DGma and DA are willing to closely monitor and feed. And, speaking of food, remember to bring not only your LC food but some HC, as well.

I'd also print out the two posts below:
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

Hi Kate, it's still a very nice number for James this morning. Good luck with all your travel this week, and how nice with your DA's Vet and the possible surgery next week. It looks like James will be in excellent care while you are away. Some great info above from Sienne. Safe travels Kate and lots of good vines to James while you're on travel.
 
Re: 6/22 James AMPS 137

Hi guys .. wonderful start to the day, I'm sure green is in the near future! How nice you have family that will take care of james while you are away .. and how awesome is it you found a vet that is so cheap you might be able to do the surgery this week! I knew things would work out .. have a great weekend and a safe trip!
 
Thanks, Ann!

Sienne and Devon, you called it! 85 at +3 :mrgreen:

And thank you, Sienne. I'm mixing up some food color now; that's a really great idea! I probably will not have them shoot green numbers, and the threshold might even be higher at night, since I don't think DGma is up to a pajama party :lol:
 
Thanks for the good thoughts everyone. Talked it over with everyone and we'll try to go ahead and schedule the surgery! I just know James will feel so much better!

Posting from my phone at DGma's. James is a little overwhelmed and has not been very cooperative with testing. He's even hissed at us! He and DGma are both anxious about the testing. Got so upset with all the attention after dinner that he upchucked everything he just ate and we had to do dinner part two. :roll:

Surprisingly, his numbers have been great today! All blues and greens!

DA got set up with her own account so hopefully she'll be able to post here this week.

Have a great weekend, all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top