6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +5 374, +10 370, PMPS 334

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Hi. I am Carla and I need dosing help this morning. I had a bad night with my hypo cat. I will attempt to either link the overnight thread or copy it here.

Thank you.
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo NEED DOSING HELP!

Since you tested Boo at +12, change your subject line so you have "+12 173" before NEED DOSING HELP.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Thank you Patty. I might try to shut my eyes for a few minutes while I wait for a reply.

Thanks a lot!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

In case you missed my last post, how much time before you leave for work? Also, is this Boo's normal shot time?
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Patty & Champ said:
In case you missed my last post, how much time before you leave for work? Also, is this Boo's normal shot time?

I can leave as late as 8:30 today (it's almost 7;00 now).

And yes, her morning shot time is usually between 6:30 and 7:00.

THANK YOU!
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

I'm not a dosing expert, but since you can't stick around to monitor and Boo is on such a large dose, given what happened last night I'd be inclined to skip Boo's shot this morning and see what the dosing folks say during the day. Then you can start with a clean slate this evening. The good folks here can help you determine a safe dose that will allow you to consistenly shoot twice a day.

You did great last night!

BTW - Welcome to LantusLand!

Amy & Trixie
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Skipping a dose isn't the ideal option, but you may have no other choice unless a dosing expert gets on before you have to leave for work. I sure wish I could tell you what to do, but I certainly don't have the experience or knowledge to do that. I'll keep checking in for moral support and to see what is decided. You did a great job last night!!!! You are going to be one pooped mamabean today!!!
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Boo was diagnosed May 23. Starting number was around 550.
Started on 1 unit twice a day for week 1.
Week 2.... vet took numbers.... back up to 500's ... increased to 2 units twice a day.
Week 3.... vet took numbers.....in the 400's... increased to 2 units twice a day
Week 4... vet took numbers... in the upper 300's... increased to 3 units twice a day
Week 5 ... vet took numbers... back up to 400's... increased to 4 units twice a day
Week 6 (this week).... vet took numbers ... mid 300's.. increased to 5 units twide a day.

Important bit of Boo's history.

I would take Boo back to 2 units. The rate of increase was very, very swift and there is a good chance you have missed Boo's ideal dose. Again, please read the stickies at the top of this forum regarding how we find regulation with our cat's on Lantus.

Edit: You had nice action at week 4, down into the 300's. When you say vet took numbers, did he do a fructosimine test or just an office test? VET STRESS can mess with the numbers.

Now, Boo is going to do what we call "bounce" from those low numbers last night. The 173 this morning tells me he is already on that trampoline, so I would shoot the 2u. It most likely will appear to not help, but it is because of the liver dumping hormones into the bloodstream to protect Boo's life.

That 'bounce' will take 72 hours...3 days to clear. So you will need to hold the 2u for at least 5 or 6 days and get some real good hometesting numbers. Don't be surprised if the advice from you vet's office differs greatly from what you get here.

Again, at this point....read this particular stickie.... LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL I even provided my vet's office with this protocol, Queensland Protocol. The vet called me back after reviewing it and said he was going to 'plagiarize' it. He had never seen it, but after an unbiased review was in favor of using it.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

The numbers at the vet, for us anyway, are usually around 100 - 150 higher. Every kitty is different. However, you won't be able to get some true numbers, like Blue said, until the bounce clears.

Welcome and good luck!
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Hi Carla, I'm certainly no dosing expert but just want to add my support. The learning curve for Lantus and FD is a steep one but you will get superb advice here. The dosing pros have had years of experience helping diabetic kitties and their owners ( we call ourselves "beans", as in human beans :-D ) They'll err on the side of safety for Boo and you can put total trust in them. Welcome to Lantus Land and good luck with Boo. Don't forget, hold that dose. Things get better, just to let you know.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Here's the overnight thread from Health.

I would not recommend shooting more than 2.0u at this point and I'm actually thinking that 1.5u may be a reasonable amount. It's very hard to know just where Boo may have been responding to Lantus given how big the dose increases have been. If you read the Tight Regulation sticky, you see we usually increase in increments of 0.25u so you can safely raise the amount of insulin until you find, and not miss, a good dose. Are you comfortable with that amount or do you feel like shooting less makes more sense. There is the potential that Boo may be sensitive to insulin.

When you have a chance, please take a look at all of the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board. These two posts will help get you oriented and maximize your experience here.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Blue said:
That 'bounce' will take 72 hours...3 days to clear. So you will need to hold the 2u for at least 5 or 6 days and get some real good hometesting numbers. Don't be surprised if the advice from you vet's office differs greatly from what you get here.

.
So just to summarize..... Here was my night:

6:30 p.m. I gave her 4.5 units (just couldn't make myself go to 5)
6:50 p.m. Test: 243
10:30 p.m. 53
11:00 p.m. 43
11:15 p.m. 34
(karo and dry food)
11:45 p.m. 43
12:00 p.m. 45
12:15 a.m. 45
(karo and dry food)
12:45 a.m. 52
Edited to add: 1:30 a.m. 55
(ate a little dry food)
2:15 a.m. (approaching +8): 57
3 a.m. 65
6:30 a.m. 173

And I'm supposed to give her 2 units and leave for work??? I hope I don't sound disrespectful when I say that scares me to DEATH. I'm so scared she will bottom out and I won't be here.

Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

She was diagnosed May 23.

first week: 1 unit twice daily
second week: 2 units twice daily
third week: 3 unites twice daily
last week: 4 units twice daily
this week (starting Monday): 5 units twice daily, but I measured out at 4.5 because 5 scared me.


6:30 p.m. Gave 4.5 units Lantus
6:50 p.m. Administered my first successful Home BG test. It was 243
10:30 (+4). Reading 53
11:00 (+4.5) Reading 43
11:15ish (+4.75) Reading 34
Gave Corn Syrup... Had her eat some high(er) carb dry food (Royal Canine Urinary s/o)
11:45 (+5.25) Reading 43
12:00 (+6) Reading 45
12:15 (+6.25) Reading 45
Gave a little more corn syrup and she ate some Science Diet Light dry food.... drank a lot of water... peed in box
+6.5 52
+? 55
+8.25 57
+9 65
+12 173

carla, can you re-test now so we can see the rate of the rise... if there is one? once you get the test, post the number and tell us how many hours it has been from the last shot.


a reminder for everyone else...
boo has not been transitioned from dry to a lc wet food. one of the prerequisites for the tight regulation protocol is feeding a low carb canned or raw food exclusively.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

And I'm supposed to give her 2 units and leave for work??? I hope I don't sound disrespectful when I say that scares me to DEATH. I'm so scared she will bottom out and I won't be here.

a reminder for everyone else...
boo has not been transitioned from dry to a lc wet food. one of the prerequisites for the tight regulation protocol is feeding a low carb canned or raw food exclusively.

I recommended the reduction to 2 units ...which is greater than a half dose reduction as a conservative response to they low numbers last night. That is almost a 'starting over' dose, but you are still feeding dry too.

Do you have the updated numbers Jill has asked for?
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Sorry... i don't have the new numbers yet. Will post as soon as I do.

Thanks
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

in addition to the new number and how many hours it's been since the last shot...
how long has it been since boo has eaten?
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

90 minutes after her 173 reading, she is now at 201.

Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

cmcd65 said:
90 minutes after her 173 reading, she is now at 201.

Carla

+13.5 201

when was boo's last meal? want to figure out if this number is influenced from food...
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

She ate a little bit of dry food after her 6:30 reading (173), then she hid and did not eat again until I tested her again at 8:00 (201). She ate a little bit more dry food after the 8:00 reading.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

seeing as though she hasn't risen much even after eating some hc dry food, i'd be inclined to skip the shot this morning. we don't like to do that, but she dropped pretty low last night (some cats are more sensitive to insulin after such low numbers) and you won't be home to monitor today. she'll undoubtedly be high when you come home tonight, but i think skipping is a safer choice given the circumstances. i'd get a test as soon a you walk in the door tonight and post the number. we can help you with dose at that time.

what do you think?
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

I sooo hope this doesn't come across as ungrateful, because I appreciate everyone's help more than I can ever express. I'm just a little overwhelmed because I've gotten suggestions to skip the shot and also to give 2 units. What about if I split the difference and give 1 unit and try to get her to eat something... and call in sick to work so I can watch her?

I know this isn't a split the difference kind of game... it's no game at all, and believe me, after last night, I have a healthy fear of the wrong dosage amount.

So unless I hear strong objections, I think I will give one unit and test in a couple of hours.

Thank you all so much..... I'm reading material as fast as I can. I just want my girl to be happy and healthy.

Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

if you'll be there to monitor it changes the whole picture. :-D
shooting 1 or 2 units is fine...
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Hang in there Carla! You are doing great. It is a lot of information to take in and it is easy to get overwhelmed. I can't give dosage advice but wanted you to know that I have been there and you will get through it.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Well Carla...

All of that is up to you. You hold the syringe.

There is not going to be any harm in skipping the shot entirely. In fact, if Boo is being over dosed on the insulin at this point...draining the shed isn't the worst idea at all.

Plus then you can go to work and not call off.

What exactly is the dry food you are feeding on a regular basis...
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

ps --- please get a +1 and +2 if you're shooting.

you should see a food spike at +1.
the +2 *should be* about the same as your preshot number.

post the numbers as you get them.

also want to mention... the next shot will be due 12 hours after whatever time you shoot this morning.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

cmcd65 said:
Thank you all so much..... I'm reading material as fast as I can. I just want my girl to be happy and healthy.

Carla


Don't read too fast...there is a lot of detail to understand about Lantus.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Thank you all for being so sweet.

I took the day off and will watch her

I gave a little shy of 1 unit at 8:30 a.m.

The dry food is Purina DM. The higher carb dry food that I mixed in with it last night is Royal Canine Urinary S/O.

Here's to a good day.

Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

My Atlas was on Purina D/M canned and dry when we first started out.

Purina D/M isn't exactly low carb, but it is down there in that 13-15% range. Still a bit too high for diabetics, but for those addicted to kibble better than regular store bought dry. I keep EVO dry on hand for one of my addict civvies. It is 13% carb and it will still spike the blood glucose on Atlas...but we all do the best we can.

I am sure you have heard the mantra of switching over to low carb canned food and away from all the veterinary diet foods. Truth is there are so many better options available for diabetic cats in the over the counter foods.

Have you had time yet to visit the Janet and Binky food charts?

Feeding Your Diabetic Cat
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

hope you can get some rest today, carla. you must be exhausted!
royal canin urinary S/O is pretty high carb. if you can possibly transition boo over to a low carb diet i'm sure her insulin requirements will drop considerably. please let us know if/when you begin the transition.

post your numbers. i'll try to check in from work, but in any case, there will be others here to help.

oh, and hey! welcome to the group! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Jill is one of the leading experts here. You can never go wrong with taking her advice. She's been doing this for years!!!! I know how scary it is to take the advice of a stranger, but she has more knowledge of and experience with FD than most vets.

Do you plan to get Boo off dry food eventually? This really should be done as soon as possible, but make sure you let the dosing experts help because when you take her off dry food, her insulin needs will be greatly reduced. She may even be a kitty who needs nothing more than a diet change to get off insulin!!
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Hi Carla-

Sounds like you've got a great plan in place, even though you got thrown into it rather abruplty! The support and advice you'll get from this group is amazing. I hope you have a calmer day today!

Amy
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Hi Carla and Boo,

We just wanted to welcome you to Lantus Land and tell you that it does get lots easier! Follow the protocol and you will see that Boo will do fine. Everyone here will support you; we all want the best for your kitty.

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

TODAY SO FAR:
Initial Reading this morning at 8:20 a.m.: 201
8:30 a.m. Gave 1 unit of Lantus
Immediately after the shot she ate some Purina DM dry food
+1 = 202

Is that ok??
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Jill & Alex said:
hope you can get some rest today, carla. you must be exhausted!
royal canin urinary S/O is pretty high carb. if you can possibly transition boo over to a low carb diet i'm sure her insulin requirements will drop considerably. please let us know if/when you begin the transition.

post your numbers. i'll try to check in from work, but in any case, there will be others here to help.

oh, and hey! welcome to the group! :mrgreen:

Jill, I had gotten Boo off the Royal Canin over the course of a month, but I got it back out last night when I needed a higher carb option during her hypo episode. She is not taking to the wet food of any kind. I wil have to be VERY careful as I try to successfully switch her over to it. So thankful to know you all are here as I do.

Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

cmcd65 said:
TODAY SO FAR:
Initial Reading this morning at 8:20 a.m.: 201
8:30 a.m. Gave 1 unit of Lantus
Immediately after the shot she ate some Purina DM dry food
+1 = 202

Is that ok??
Carla
No worries - it almost always goes up after eating, because digestion is faster than Lantus onset.

The levels may be a bit wonky for a while, so hang in with as much patience as you can muster (been there, still trying to do that!) I had a night like yours the 1st week I was testing - its pretty exhausting.

Take some time to do some stress management for yourself - some stretching, maybe a walk and/or hot shower/bath, slow deep breathing, etc. (ok - I used to work on a crisis hotline!) Boo will thank you for not being so harried, LOL.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Thank you, BJ. I am handling it better than I thought I would 12 hours ago.

I'm just so happy I learned to test...even under these extreme circumstances. Had I NOT started testing yesteray, I would've gone to sleep last night, gotten up this morning and given Boo 5 more units as instructed by the vet. I'm so thankful I don't have to know what that might have done to my sweet kitty.

Hangin in there.... but REALLY hope these numbers don't plunge in the next 3-4 hours.

Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Since you're staying home today, I'd encourage you to do either hourly or bi-hourly testing, just in case.
My cat can go down roughly 150 from his pre-shot test, and you started at a 201. Each cat is different, so just monitor and see.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo +12 = 173 NEED DOSING HELP!

Hi Carla!! I'm glad you were able to stay home today. You'll need to catch up on your rest and it will ease your mind to be home with Boo today.

You'll want to change your subject line again. Go to the first post and change it to read 6/22 Boo AMPS #, +1 #, +2 #

Whatever times you're checking, just put that in with the number, no comma or = separating the time from the BG #. Everytime you test, add that to your original subject line. That way, when Jill or Sienne, or any of us, are looking at the forum main page, we can instantly see what Boo's numbers look like and notice if you need any help.

About the food situation...there are some cats out there who just make it very difficult for us to feed them a proper diet, meaning wet only. Champ HATED pate food and would only eat the sliced, boat-load of gravy type. Until I put Fancy Feast in front of him. You might want to give that a try with Boo. She might surprise you!! They have to be the "classic" variety of Fancy Feast because that's the low carb kind. Start with something like the cod, sole, and shrimp feast. She'll love it because it's fish and she'll start getting used to the mouth-feel of pate food. Because you should'nt feed fish flavors all the time (it can cause urinary problems, but more often in male cats), also try the tender beef and chicken feast. That one is Champ's favorite of the non-fish flavors. Give it a try and see how it works out. And let me know how she does with it. Because she'll never be able to get regulated without switching to a low carb wet food diet, you'll have to find a way to get her to eat it. The dry just has to go. I sure miss the convenience of dry food, let me tell you!! But I know it's in Champ's best interests. Once you start switching her over to wet food, you'll need to test more often so you'll want to do it on a day when you're home all day. The fact you've reduced her dose to 1u b.i.d. is a good thing. You've just reduced her chance of having dangerously low numbers when you do the switch than if you kept her at the high dose she was on.

When it comes to vets....wow. They have a tough job. They have to know everything there is to know about every kind of animal...every disease, every treatment, etc. That's just impossible. Unfortunately, they get very little education in feline diabetes. Most of us let our vets know we are following this protocol, we have done our research, we feel we are doing what is best for our cats, and let them know we will be taking charge of their diabetes care when it comes to dosing, etc. We still go to them for everything else, but the diabetes is our responsibility. Sometimes you come across a vet who won't go for this, but most of us have found vets who respect our wishes and even want to learn more about the protocol. If or when you call your vet, he's going to want to make radical changes in dosing again. I think you should stay with the 1u, get Boo on wet food, follow the protocol on when to increase, test,test,test, and watch how she thrives, because she will!!!

I'm not going to kid you...this is one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life, and I'm a single parent so that's saying a lot!!! But it does get easier. It becomes part of your routine. You'll have bad days and you'll have good days. And the great thing is, you have everyone here to help you through every bit of it. You can vent and we understand. You can cry and we understand. You'll celebrate and we'll be cheering right along with you. This is a great place to be when you have a cat with diabetes and I'm really glad you found it!!!

Now...let the healing begin!!!!

I hope there aren't any typos in this because it's such a long saga, I don't want to read through it!!!
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

Thanks Yall (sorry... I am a Southerner).

I changed my subject. I'm assuming AMPS is a.m. pre shot?

Playing catch up.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

AMPS is indeed AM pre-shot
PMPS is PM pre-shot

+1, +2, etc are how many hours since the shot
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

:lol: :lol: I say y'all all the time. My mama was born and raised in Mississippi and I lived for a few years in South Carolina so it's really cemented in. Besides, it sounds better than "you guys!!" :lol:

Yes, it means AM preshot. So when you do your PM shot, it will be PMPS. I'm sure you know that Lantus is meant to be dosed every 12 hours. A variance of 15 minutes is the maximum you want to do. I know you gave Boo her shot late this morning. What time did you give it and what time would you prefer it to be? Remember, if you give a shot at 6 a.m., you must give the next shot at 6 p.m.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

My best friend is a southener...I love all his little sayings and southern-isms. I may be in Jersey, but I've picked up quite a few, just from talking to him!

Boo is looking good today! She'll probaby have some leftover shed action going on, so you probably won't see "accurate" numbers from this new dose for a few cycles. Don't let that worry you...wonkiness is normal, especially early on in this whole thing. Just keep asking questions!

Like Patty said, don't forget the shots need to be 12 hours apart, so tonight's shot needs to be 12 hours from when you shot this morning, even though this morning's shot was delayed from your usual schedule. To get yourself back on schedule, you can shift the shot back 15 minutes per cycle until you get back on schedule. (I'm a bit more cautious and sift it back 15 minutes per day when I have to shift).

Amy
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

AMPS ~ 201
+1 ~ 202
+2 ~ 176

Can you get a +3 please? And can you tell me if you have seen her eat since you shot?

Welcome to Lantus Land! And tell Boo sorry for all the pokies.

It won't always be like this. Lantus has an effect that we "affectionately" call the "Shed" (insulin depot). It means that even when you reduce the dose, there will still be some residual effects from the previous higher dose for a couple of cycles. Even though you only gave 1 unit today, there is still some influence from last night's 4.5 unit shot. That's ok (it is one of the things that makes Lantus work so well for cats), but it's something we might have to keep in mind today.

I'm at work today, but will check in occasionally. I'm sure others will be checking on you too.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176

Libby and Lucy said:
AMPS ~ 201
+1 ~ 202
+2 ~ 176

Can you get a +3 please? And can you tell me if you have seen her eat since you shot?

Welcome to Lantus Land! And tell Boo sorry for all the pokies.

It won't always be like this. Lantus has an effect that we "affectionately" call the "Shed" (insulin depot). It means that even when you reduce the dose, there will still be some residual effects from the previous higher dose for a couple of cycles. Even though you only gave 1 unit today, there is still some influence from last night's 4.5 unit shot. That's ok (it is one of the things that makes Lantus work so well for cats), but it's something we might have to keep in mind today.

I'm at work today, but will check in occasionally. I'm sure others will be checking on you too.

+3 262
Indeed wonky.
She has eaten Purina DM DRY food off an on all day (mostly just after I stick her with ANYTHING) and there is a little bit of the higher carb Royal Canin Urinary SO mixed in from last night. She just did #1 and #2 in the box and all looked normal. She's been very lazy and tired but has stuck by me really closely until this last test. She's tired of it/me now. :smile:
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176, +3 262

ok, I just wanted to make sure she wasn't still dropping. I think you're good to wait until +5 for the next test. This might be the beginning of the bounce Blue mentioned earlier, or the rise might be from the food. The +5 should tell us which way Boo plans to go for the rest of today.

Great job getting the tests done! I know we're asking a lot.
 
Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176, +3 262

A note on glucometers: per the FDA (in the USA), a glucometer must read within 20% of a "true" lab value.
This means that when 2 test values are within 20% of each other, they are approximately the same.

ex. 100 could be from 80 to 120, a 40 point band.

To narrow the estimate range, you would take 2 tests at the same time and use the 80% value of the highest number and the 120% value of the lowest number as the boundaries of the range.

ex 110 and 100 have boundaries of .8*110 to 1.2*100
ie 88 to 120, a range of 32

Your test values today:
AMPS ~ 201 from 160.8 to 241.2
+1 ~ 202 from 202.0 to 242.4
+2 ~ 176 from 176.0 to 211.2

They all overlap, so he's holding pretty steady.

Non-BG reasons test results may be incorrect:
Test strips may have expiration dates, plus if not stored air tight, humidity and temperature controlled, may become defective.
Home meters can malfunction too, so it may be helpful to have a back up meter, just in case. WalMart Relion Confirm is roughly $9 and the strips aren't horribly expensive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top