6.21 Trouble AMPS 105 PMPS 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Member Since 2010
Trouble just got back from a weekend road trip, but his numbers look great already. He and his brother are such troopers. Let me drag them all over the state. I can tell he is feeling really good because he his stalking his brother right now...what a meany! Hope everyone is having a great Monday...Happy Summer!
 
Re: 6.21 Trouble AMPS 105, +2 59, +4 53, +6 58, +8 61

Vet just called and told me to start skipping evening dose. I asked about the shed being messed up and she said it would be fine. My instinct is that she is wrong, what do some of you think? Skipping a dose on a 12 hour insulin just doesn't seem to make sense, but she said that is how I should wean him from insulin! I am too fearful to question her for fear of her not renewing Trouble's prescription.
 
Re: 6.21 Trouble AMPS 105, +2 59, +4 53, +6 58, +8 61

I also agree that your vet is wrong and that skipping shots will not do Trouble any service. As I may have mentioned before, vets trained in lantus are few and far between. I think Trouble is doing fabulously on this dose and I bet you can hear his pancreas healing. You can reduce (wean off) insulin, when Trouble outgrows his dose and he's working on it but he's not there yet. The protocol doesn't have skipping doses and we like to follow the protocol as much as we can because it works! Reducing the dose right now would, IMO, set him back as opposed to giving Trouble a chance at getting him OTJ at one point... and I'm saying that with hope that he will get OTJ, because as you know there is never any garantee. All this blue and green is very very nice though.... I say keep up the good work.
 
Re: 6.21 Trouble AMPS 105, +2 59, +4 53, +6 58, +8 61

Your instincts are dead on. Lantus is a 12-hour insulin in cats. You will lose all of the wonderful progress you've been making if you start shooting once a day.

It you look at the {url=http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm]Tight Regulation Protocol[/url], it specifies that Lantus dosing is twice a day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top