6/21-Shakespeare - new to Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone
Shakespeare is actually not on Lantus but he just went from PZI to Levemir
Spreadsheet is up to date
It appears that tonight will be our first night that I will be staying up checking low nummbers...
I shot 2 units tonight into his PMPS which was 259
his +4 was 143
his +5 was 115 - Fed some ff food
I will wait until 11pm to take his blood again and see what he is
my quetion is...what should I shoot in the morning?
I will be at work all day and I work too far to run home at lunch
any thoughts would be appreciated
Thanks
Denise and Shakespeare
 
Denise

Welcome to Lantus Land. Let's see what his next number is ok? I'll be up....I'm on west coast time.

Can you tell me what test 11pm would be? Thanks Denise. We're excited you and Shakes are here and happy to help.
 
Thank you Marjorie,
At 11pm will be his +5.75 ( almost 6)
I have been shooting at about 5:15
this is the first time that he is actually reacting to levemir
from the tests I was able to get he didnt START going lower until +6...
so tonight was very surprising
thank you and I will post again in about 20 minutes
 
Hi Denise,
Well it took a little while but it looks like shakes finally grasped the lev concept :-)
He must have been reading Hershey's condos.
Carl
 
Boy I sure hope this contnues!
but not like this...I need sleep!

but it sure is nice too see him in these numbers!
 
ok his +6 is 157, but that is because I
fed his a tablespoon of a 9% carb food at +5....
he usually has 2 or 3% carbs...
so I am thinking he is going to be ok tonight with hopefully no bounce since he only ate a little food
Do you have any thoughts as to what I should shoot in the mroning?
Should I reduce...
I dont want to lose momentum, but I want him to be safe
Thanks for your help and input
 
You shoot at 5:15 EDT? Dyana is usually on early....we really like to see those +11 or even +12 numbers. If he's high, definitely shoot 2u.

The thing about shooting reduced doses is you still have the shed to deal with so a cycle can still look the same even tho you shoot a BCS dose.

When do you get home?
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

There's so much that can happen in 6 hours, we try not to anticipate too much in advance.

From your SS, it looks like you reduced Shakespeare's dose this morning. With a depot-type of insulin, you don't always see the response immediately. In addition, there's always the possibility that there will be a bounce by tomorrow morning since it seems like Shakes hasn't seen blue in a while. This is my long winded way of saying we're not going to know what happens in the AM until your cat tells us!! If you need to, you can always leave food out if you're going to be gone all day. If no one has suggested this, you may want to look into getting a timed feeder.

If you can get a test in before your AMPS, that will let you know if numbers are rising or falling at AMPS. I'm guessing you shoot early (around 5 AM?). Dyana and a few others are usually on line then if you need a hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top