6/21 PMPS 304 NEW CAT ON THE BLOCK

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyAmber

Member Since 2010
HI all...I'm Amber and my "patient" Kitty is GG. Last night she was up in the 300's (her spreadsheet is in my sig) and this morning she was upthere...i called the vet to ask about uping the dose, got permission to up it .5 a unit. So, her pm shot was 1.5
Unfortunately I'm doing a droolersitting gig for the rest of the week and have to leave my house after giving her the pm shot...so I can't test until before the am shot. It'll be like this Tues and Wed of this week and then again Mon thru Thrus next week. I committed to do the dogsitting quite some time ago...GG was just dx last week!

Anything you can tell me will help. I've been over the the "main" board bopping around there...I have read ALOT of things on this site and have gained so much information, I feel very confident in what I am doing thanks to all of you...and your experiences. I even got my own ketone kit from Cindy and Mouser!

I feel terrible that I can't be home to keep testing her...but I will be able to over the weekend at least.

Peace,
~Happy Amber
 
Welcome Amber! That's great that you've been reading a lot already and have set up your SS.

I understand about the difficulty testing during the day this week, many members have similar difficulties due to work schedules. If you can, try to get some tests done when you get home and before you got to bed. Every piece of information can really help. The before bed checks are pretty important since many cats can go lower at night than they do during the day. Getting in a test or two can gives some clues to how the dose is working. I see you already have done some evening tests, good for you! Keep it up.

I'm sure you will get a lot more information as the days go on and please ask lots of questions. This is a great place to share and learn.
:-D :-D :-D
 
Thanks CD and Big Mac!

Right now I'm sleeping at the house with the droolers so I'm unable to get any evening testing done...will be able to do that Thurs and Fri though. I feel badly for the droolers too...they're alone for more than 12 hours a day (they have doggie door, plenty of food and water)...i work fulltime 8 hours a day...plus hour commute total...then go to my cathouse to check on my fellas and do GG's testing and insulin, then quick drive to the drooler house (1/2 hour commute) and sleep here with the droolers. It's gonna be a crazy week this and next week!

Thanks for the welcome though. I do appreciate it. I look forward to meeting many more members.

Peace,
Amber
 
Welcome!

You've done a great job with getting started testing and getting your SS up and running. The info on the Health (Main) board is great to get you oriented. If you've not done so already, please read the starred notes at the top of this Board. In particular, please read the Tight Regulation Protocols note. One thing you may notice is that we generally increase in 0.25u amounts. If you've not already found them, you may want to track down syringes that are marked in 1/2u increments to make dosing a little easier on the eyes!

The notes and the links embedded in them, contain a huge amount of information -- posting conventions, links to our slang dictionary, how to handle Lantus, etc.. It's a little overwhelming at first. Let us know how we can help and if we can answer any questions.
 
Hi Amber and GG and welcome! You sound like you have a full schedule for the next few weeks, but you also sound like you can handle it! Just do the best you can and try to be consistent with the timing of your shots. Read everything you can and ask questions. This board is full of wonderful people, many of whom are very knowledgeable about Feline Diabetes.

Ella & Stu
 
Hi Amber and GG - I just wanted to pop on in and say HI!, and welcome aboard! You found a great place with lots of caring and knowledgeable people. No question is too small or trivial - so ask away!, and welcome aboard!

Michelle and Mannie
 
Welcome Amber & GG--Boy you have a lot going on, & the week after dx! Brave girl!
If you can get a bg curve over the weekend it will help a lot..
Also yes we do increase doses by 0.25U with the syringes that are 5/16", 1/2 unit markings, 31 gauge-3/10ml/cc--they are easier to measure the insulin,and the needle is shorter, so the cat feels it much less..
You are doing great for a newbie-this is the way that BG should go during the 12 hour cycle-
I usually test at Amps, +3,+6,pmps, and before bed--That's the minimum that I test..
Getting data on weekend will surely help you see where her bg is going over the matter of a cycle.
I always give this to newbies because it helped me so much
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
Welcome to lantus land! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Amber,
glad you made it over to Lantus Land!

Good job on spreadsheet too!

I'm with Sienne - highly encourage you to pick up 1/2 unit syringes, I believe in the U.S,
GNP, BD, Monoject and Relion (from Walmart) are some brands that have 1/2 unit markings.
You're going to need them to do .25 increments, easier like Sienne mentioned.

If you're interested online, check out:
HOCKS Supplies
or check your local pharmacy like Walgreens CSV, Walmart etc..
 
Hi Amber just want to welcome you to LL and it sounds like you are one busy girl looks like you are getting good advice already just take time to read the stickys at the top of the page when you get the chance wonderful info :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Hi Amber and GG - Welcome!

Everyone else has already told you some good info. When you get a chance - you might want to go ahead and create a profile page so that members can look at it and you won't have to answer some of the same questions over and over. In addition to the links Sienne and Ronnie gave you, here's some other links that you might want to take a look at if you haven't already:

How to create Profile

New to the Group

Binky's Food info and lists
 
hello and welcome to the group, amber and GG! :-D

just a suggestion... i would drop the dose back to 1.25u bid in the morning. lantus has a cumulative effect... meaning one dose builds upon the next. *usually* it takes 6 cycles (3 days) to get an idea of what a dose can do. after 4 cycles and a skipped shot, GG was in the mid-200s. when nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 we increase the dose in increments of 0.25 unit, rather than by a half unit.

you mentioned being rather busy this week. increasing the dose to 1.25u may be a better way to go since you won't be able to monitor as much as you would like.

hope to see you posting often...
 
Welcome Amber & GG! You have come to the exact right place for help with GG and FD. I'm a newcomer myself and I can't tell you how great this group is. Welcome and best of luck to you and GG. :smile:
 
hi guys! Don't have much in the way of dosing advice just wanted to drop in and say it's nice to "meet" you guys .. theres a ton of great people and great advice on here. Can't wait to see GG's progress!
 
HI all...thanks for the welcomes.

I'm taking JIll's advice and gave GG 1.25 for this evening's shot. I also shot in the flank instead of the scruff...i'll see for the amps how/if it makes a difference.

I'm already feeling exhausted from getting up so early to be home in time for her morning dose and then running up to the dogs right after the evening dose!

I'm thinking for next week I might see if my "wife" (bestest friend) can do the evening doses.

thanks again everyone.
 
Hi Amber,

I just wanted to say welcome to lantus land.
You've already gotten a lot of advice and it's a lot to take in one day. Lantus like constancy: dose, shot time, food... and patience!

See you around.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top