6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256, PMPS (+24) 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Good Morning LL,

6/20

Well, I apparently decided I wanted to make today expensive and difficult. So I dropped Munchkin's insulin. Of course it shattered all over the ground, quiet a bit of insulin all over my kitchen floor. Woohoo! And of course it was before I loaded the syring. ohmygod_smile @-) :YMSIGH: :evil: grr_red :-Q cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam Her vet will have another vial ready in 3 hours, so it wouldn't be until her typical +4 before I got home with it. We'll have to wait until tonight to shoot. I'm so upset. sigh.

Thanks to the visitors yesterday. Of course she's less hungry because of the +8, duh. I don't know why I didn't see the obvious there.

Hope everyone has a good day. Lovely, healing, comfort vines to all!
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Sorry about the insulin. It's not the Lantus pen type? I believe the pen is more durable.
Hope a new vial will bring all the good bg numbers for Munchkin! Cheer up!
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Sorry to hear about the vial accident, Reagan. I hope Munchkin makes the day easy for you and you all can get back on track quickly.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Oh darn with the insulin breaking. Munchkin will get back on track. Could your Vet fax the script to a pharmacy and might be more convenient and faster for you to pick up?
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

The vet could have called in a prescription to any pharmacy in the US. It's a human drug and the Rx can be called in since it's not a restricted drug.

The pens are more economical in the long run and if you break one, you don't lose everything. Some pharmacies will sell one pen at a time (remember to check outpatient, hospital pharmacies) if cost is an issue.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

If you end up buying the 10 ml bottle, take precautions to prevent brekage from another accidental drop :smile: You can buy an insulin bottle protector or wrap some bubble wrap or paper towel around the outside of the bottle.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Hi guys .. oh man, bummer on the insulin situation!! I sure hope skipping this morning's shot does not cause munchkin to sky rocket, but what can we do right? Fingers crossed! And fingers crossed your day improves!
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

It's been a freakin' mess this morning. The vet called shortly after I called them saying they had it ready. So I headed down-Got half way there (25 mins), they called and said they we're mistaken and they were actually out with an order coming later -- unsure on time -- today. So I asked them to fax to a pharmacy by my house. They just got it sent, I talked to the pharmacy and they won't have it ready for another 40 mins.

I''ve probably done everything wrong at this point. Panic and I don't go well together. Can I start today over again?

Thank you for the recommendation Squeem. I'll be getting a wrap today. I think I'll also put a rug down in front of the fridge. Ceramic floors aren't very forgiving.

I had mentioned the pens to the vet before, but I forget what they said. They weren't an option at the time. I'll ask about them again next time I go into the office.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Total bummer, Reagan!

Don't be too hard on yourself - and you totally get a do-over. Tomorrow is another day! ;-) Good luck with the new vial, and scritches to Miss Munch!
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Pens may not be an option with your vet but they are at a pharmacy. I would pretty much guarantee that pharmacies dispense ore of the pens than vials.

I'd really encourage you to call around for pricing. Vets are rarely the cheapest when it comes to meds.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Oh well, I guess you can call today a fur shot day. We all do them and Munchkin will recover. Bonus is she gets less pokes today!

I switched from vials to cartridges and am glad I did, now I don't have to worry so much about losing so much at once if I drop it. I did drop a cartridge into the sink, but no damage and not the distance.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256, +6.5 285 - Broke insulin

Target only ended up being $10 less than my vet. I'll call around and see what other places are. I wasn't able to find a vial sleeve, so I'll order one through ADW. I immediately wrapped the new one in bubble wrap.

Munch is very happy with less pokes today. Plus the bunny came to play with her today! Pic

Thanks for all the tips and info.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Oh wow, that is so bad about the broken insulin. I think the cover sounds like a great idea, I never saw them. I hope Munchkin can get back to good bg numbers soon.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Awe. Love the pic of Munchkin and the bunny.

The pens have a plastic cover on them. I have dropped pens, and there is no breakage. But, my kitchen floor is linoleum.
 
Re: 6/21 Munchkin AMBG 256 - Broke insulin

Do you have a Costco near you, Reagan? Next time, I'd go for the Solostar pens. Even if you drop them, they are encased in plastic so I don't think they'd break. I like them so much more than the vials :-D

Tomorrow will be a better day! Hugs!!
 
All and all, not bad today- but I'm sure we'll see the effect (affect?) in the next few cycles.

Thanks Marje, we'll look into that option. We do have a Costco. Thanks again everyone for the support and help today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top