? 6/21 Muffin AMPS 179 +2 133 +3 67 +4 37 please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Morning
I did not post yesterday. Muffin starts in blue then goes to yellow as the day progresses. Then it starts over the next day. At least she is a bit consistent right now :) We will be testing at +2 and+3 and +6. If you feel we should do something different, please let me know.
Hope you are having very good day.
 
Julie are you following one of the protocols SLGS or TR? I would get a +3 as Lantus takes time to onset. Then depending on the number if not dropping too low from the +3 I'd get a +6 or +7 data is your best friend with FD. I wonder if the nice blue start is because the Lantus sets in later on the cycle... then as it is wearing off up goes the number to yellow. What is your feeding pattern?
Your doing a great job with Muffin:):cat:
 
Julie are you following one of the protocols SLGS or TR? I would get a +3 as Lantus takes time to onset. Then depending on the number if not dropping too low from the +3 I'd get a +6 or +7 data is your best friend with FD. I wonder if the nice blue start is because the Lantus sets in later on the cycle... then as it is wearing off up goes the number to yellow. What is your feeding pattern?
Your doing a great job with Muffin:):cat:

Hi...we are following mostly TR. We are getting +2, +3 and +6 daily We free feed so to speak. Often throughout the day and always at amps and pmps. Muffin needs to gain weight so if she is hungry and we think she is hungry we feed her. She is on lc all the time. Thanks for checking on her.
 
Just popping in from work. I can't stay on. Feed a little at a time. You don't want Muffin to get too full and not eat. Test every 20 minutes until she comes up over 60. You can always rub honey or karo on her gums if she doesn't come up by feeding the HC food.
 
How is she acting? Just in case, how far are you from an ER vet? 21 is very worrying, I hope she pulls up out of the dive soon.

First priority is Muffin right now, but when you post the next test, could you clarify the times on these last tests? Was the 21 at +4.5 or +4.25?
 
Glad she's up from the 20's,
Good job on the extra HC food and karo.
Test her again in 20 more min and we will all be keeping our paws crossed she's still on her way up.
 
Knowing how Muffin reacts to the gravy/karo will change how you handle low numbers next time. My Doodles required a whole lot more then just a tsp or two. Good job repeating and hope she'll now go up over 50 and stay there. You'll need to keep testing for a min. of 2 hours after the HC food.
 
Whew! I have never seen a cat in the 20's. I'm glad she responded nicely to the Karo. Let's hope Muffin is back in the safety of 50's next time you test.

Karen and I posted at the same time. I agree with her point about knowing how Muffin reacted to the food/Karo.
 
How is she acting? Just in case, how far are you from an ER vet? 21 is very worrying, I hope she pulls up out of the dive soon.

First priority is Muffin right now, but when you post the next test, could you clarify the times on these last tests? Was the 21 at +4.5 or +4.25?
She is acting normal she is up out of the 20's now
 
There's not much margin for error there, I would give her a little more HC food (no karo now), and check again in 20min.
ETA she's heading in the right direction, would be better to see her a little higher
 
Woah there Muffin, you really did want that reduction! Good job Dawn! Lucky you having to deal with those low numbers. Where in the cycle is Muffin right now. Some more monitoring is necessary through nadir. With that 52 now , I think I would give a tsp of low carb food to just boost her up a bit more and she needs to either hold or go higher for a least 2 more test before she is out of the woods. She could drop back down again.
 
Woah there Muffin, you really did want that reduction! Good job Dawn! Lucky you having to deal with those low numbers. Where in the cycle is Muffin right now. Some more monitoring is necessary through nadir. With that 52 now , I think I would give a tsp of low carb food to just boost her up a bit more and she needs to either hold or go higher for a least 2 more test before she is out of the woods. She could drop back down again.
I just checked her which would be her +6
 
Just checked her again and did it 2 times she was 98 then 120. she seems hungry still can i go ahead and give her some of her low carb food
Yes it will be fine to give some low carb, but maybe not fill her completely, just in case she drops later once the HC has worn off and you really need her to still be a bit hungry.

Although with that rise, she may well be heading for a bounce,
I'd check her again in an hour just to make sure she's holding steady.

Remember she's not out of the woods completely until two hours after the last HC you gave her (think last HC was +5.5 so that would be +7.5)
 
Yes it will be fine to give some low carb, but maybe not fill her completely, just in case she drops later once the HC has worn off and you really need her to still be a bit hungry.

Although with that rise, she may well be heading for a bounce,
I'd check her again in an hour just to make sure she's holding steady.

Remember she's not out of the woods completely until two hours after the last HC you gave her (think last HC was +5.5 so that would be +7.5)
do i need to do every 2o min still
 
Julie here... Thank you all so very much for helping us through this. Dawn did a great job. This is the 2nd hypo in a few days and as you all know terribly stressful and scary. I will be posting all the numbers soon. Her last test was 242...what a jump. Awesome group you are! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top