6/21 Mister AMPS 281 +1.5 213 +3.5 133 +4.5 96 +5.5 79 +6.5 85 +11 99 PMPS 91 +1 149 +2 175

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
6/20 Mister AMPS 183 +172 +2 119 +3.75 83 +4.25 92 +5.25 95 +7 90 +10 196 PMPS 280

Thankful to see blue again after yesterdays PM bounce. Are we taking a trip to the lagoon today Mister? At the rate he's going, he just might. 🏖️

It's been a busy morning over here cleaning out the garage and some final touches on Spring cleaning but wanted to jump on and give an update.
Give your sugar kitties a kiss between the ears from me.♥️😻
 
Mister isn't very carb sensitive so it's been a journey figuring out what to feed him sometimes when I want to slow him down. I just gave him some of his new HC at BG 79 to see what it does. He's close to his usual nadir otherwise I wouldn't have went that high but he's breaking his bounce today so I don't want him getting too low yet. I thought it'd be a good time to collect some data too, this is my first time giving him this one. I started with 8% first, then 15% before moving to this. I need to get him some more foods in different % ranges. Right now it's pretty much Gravy Lovers 15% and Tiki Cat 8% (the latter of which doesn't seem to do anything to BG). Any recommendations would be appreciated! I'm going to go through the food chart in a little bit and pick some things out in the 7-18% ranges.

ETA the HC 28% kept him flat at 79 after 20 minutes. I'll give it a little more time and check again. So far so good. Sometimes I do wish he was a little more carb sensitive but that's ok, we're figuring it out.

ETA pt.2 the tsp. of 28% took him from 79 to 85 in an hour and a half, so that's great! I'm feeling better about knowing what to give him.
 
Last edited:
Mister isn't very carb sensitive so it's been a journey figuring out what to feed him sometimes when I want to slow him down. I just gave him some of his new HC at BG 79 to see what it does. He's close to his usual nadir otherwise I wouldn't have went that high but he's breaking his bounce today so I don't want him getting too low yet. I thought it'd be a good time to collect some data too, this is my first time giving him this one. I started with 8% first, then 15% before moving to this. I need to get him some more foods in different % ranges. Right now it's pretty much Gravy Lovers 15% and Tiki Cat 8% (the latter of which doesn't seem to do anything to BG). Any recommendations would be appreciated! I'm going to go through the food chart in a little bit and pick some things out in the 7-18% ranges.

ETA the HC 28% kept him flat at 79 after 20 minutes. I'll give it a little more time and check again. So far so good. Sometimes I do wish he was a little more carb sensitive but that's ok, we're figuring it out.

ETA pt.2 the tsp. of 28% took him from 79 to 85 in an hour and a half, so that's great! I'm feeling better about knowing what to give him.
I’m happy to see he’s cleared the bounce already and came down a little lower even with food. He took my dosecrease threat seriously, I think 😂😂

Good job experimenting. That’s really what managing the curve with food is about…finding what % carbs work in different situations at different times. You are doing a wonderful job of that.
 
Mister isn't very carb sensitive so it's been a journey figuring out what to feed him sometimes when I want to slow him down. I just gave him some of his new HC at BG 79 to see what it does. He's close to his usual nadir otherwise I wouldn't have went that high but he's breaking his bounce today so I don't want him getting too low yet. I thought it'd be a good time to collect some data too, this is my first time giving him this one. I started with 8% first, then 15% before moving to this. I need to get him some more foods in different % ranges. Right now it's pretty much Gravy Lovers 15% and Tiki Cat 8% (the latter of which doesn't seem to do anything to BG). Any recommendations would be appreciated! I'm going to go through the food chart in a little bit and pick some things out in the 7-18% ranges.

ETA the HC 28% kept him flat at 79 after 20 minutes. I'll give it a little more time and check again. So far so good. Sometimes I do wish he was a little more carb sensitive but that's ok, we're figuring it out.

ETA pt.2 the tsp. of 28% took him from 79 to 85 in an hour and a half, so that's great! I'm feeling better about knowing what to give him.
Someone may have already mentioned this to you, but you can combine foods to create different carb%. You can add a little HC to MC to create a lower hc/higher mc, if that makes sense. It's certainly not accurate, but it's close enough to get some of the nuances in shifts that you're looking for.
 
I’m happy to see he’s cleared the bounce already and came down a little lower even with food. He took my dosecrease threat seriously, I think 😂😂

Good job experimenting. That’s really what managing the curve with food is about…finding what % carbs work in different situations at different times. You are doing a wonderful job of that.
Yes he did! He’s back to 74 again so I’m glad I didn’t overdo it. I can’t thank you enough for your help, I would have never known what to do!
I’m curious to find out what his PMPS will be tonight. Now where did I put my courage, I think it’s under the couch. I better go dig it out just in case😆 💉 💚
 
Someone may have already mentioned this to you, but you can combine foods to create different carb%. You can add a little HC to MC to create a lower hc/higher mc, if that makes sense. It's certainly not accurate, but it's close enough to get some of the nuances in shifts that you're looking for.
Thank you! Christie did mention this to me the other night, I'm still figuring out ratios and what does what, but I have been using that method a few times. I have to really blend them together otherwise he tries to outsmart me and only pick out the higher carb bits and leaves the pate on the plate lol
 
Yes he did! He’s back to 74 again so I’m glad I didn’t overdo it. I can’t thank you enough for your help, I would have never known what to do!
I’m curious to find out what his PMPS will be tonight. Now where did I put my courage, I think it’s under the couch. I better go dig it out just in case😆 💉 💚
No stalling or reducing unless he’s too low to shoot. Click on the image for the full effect 😂😂😂

IMG_0598.gif
 
How do I “laugh” and “love” react to a comment at the same time? 😆

Sounds like a plan to me. I’m not feeling too anxious about it this time. He still has a few hours to possibly come up too anyways.
 
Looking good today. Its amazing to me that you gave 28% carbs and it only raised by 5%. Karamelle must be more carb sensitive than Mister. Are you thinking about a reduction?
 
Just another thing Im not quite understanding. If she is having to give so much HC food to keep the numbers up, then wouldnt the dose be too high, or no? Just trying to understand.
Good question. She’s actually just trying to slow his drop down. The faster they drop, the bigger the bounce. If she slows it down, like you did the other day, then the goal is to flatten with LC. We aren’t using food to prevent a reduction.
 
He did get a bigger food bump from the HC the second time I gave it to him (which is what I wanted to see - it also just makes me feel a lot better) but as his bounce-break pattern, continued dropping right to PMPS. 91 not a bad number though, and comfortable for me to shoot. I'll be watching him closely like the 🚁 I am @Marje and Gracie

And @JoM Marje explained it much better than I could have! Does it make me a little nervous that he's not as carb sensitive as a lot of cats and on a higher dose? Sure it does, but I keep lots of HC options on hand just in case I were to need it. I also have feeding syringes, rectal bulbs, all the things to keep him safe. No dose reduction since this dose has brought him some of his best cycles so far and he hasn't gone lower than what he did today. Hopefully one day sooner than later he will get one though! I also wanted to experiment with this % carbs to see what it does since it's a new food for him. The second time I fed him, I doubled the amount which brought him up a lot more (from 74 to 112 in an hour) so I'm also feeling better about him needing a little more when I know how much to give him 🙂
 
I hope she isn’t ;)
He did get a food bump from the HC the second time I gave it to him at +7.25 (which is what I wanted to see, ordinarily I wouldn't have fed him this late unless he was coming close to 50 though) but then he continued dropping right to PMPS. 91 not a bad number though, and very comfortable for me to shoot. I'll be watching him closely like the 🚁 I am

Looking good today. Its amazing to me that you gave 28% carbs and it only raised by 5%. Karamelle must be more carb sensitive than Mister. Are you thinking about a reduction?
Marje explained it much better than I could have! I've also asked this question before too. Does it make me a little nervous that he's not as carb sensitive as a lot of cats and on a higher dose? Sure it does, but I keep lots of HC options on hand just in case I were to need it. I also have feeding syringes, rectal bulbs, all the things to keep him safe. No dose reduction since this dose has brought him some of his best cycles so far and he hasn't gone lower than 50. Hopefully one day sooner than later he will get one though! I also wanted to experiment with this % carbs to see what it does since it's a new food for him. The second time I fed him, I doubled the amount which brought him up a lot more (from 74 to 112 in an hour) so I'm also feeling better about him needing a little more when I know how much to give him 🙂
 
Jude and Mister are both surfing the greens at their PMPS tonight!! Go little buddies!! Nice and steady!
View attachment 78962
These pictures are my favorite! I just picture Mister and all of his new FD friends having a blast and getting into all these fun activities (and shenanigans) together. Look at them go! Thanks for helping lead Mister, Jude.
 
To answer my own question, yes he’s bouncing already 😞 So time for bed. Thankfully he’s feeling good and I wouldn’t know he was going back up had I not checked.
Good job today though Mister, he’s working so so hard to get better. ❤️‍🩹
 
To answer my own question, yes he’s bouncing already 😞 So time for bed. Thankfully he’s feeling good and I wouldn’t know he was going back up had I not checked.
Good job today though Mister, he’s working so so hard to get better. ❤️‍🩹
At least it lets you get a couple extra hours of snoozing. Hope you and Mister sleep well tonight! 💜
 
Back
Top