6/21 Max AMPS 427 PMPS 459 +1 ~495 +3 ~407 +5 ~387

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Staying with the 1 unit dose, though it's really hard not to do the knee-jerk reaction and raise the dose. Max's energy levels are pretty high, but he's drooling a little which he hasn't done since before diagnosis. Or maybe I'm just looking for signs. Unless advised (by all of you great people) we'll keep Max at 1 unit until the weekend when we can do a curve. Does that sound ok?

Holly
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

Your numbers seem really high, but there aren't a lot of them. I will post so you are bumped back to the top and I am sure an expert will be along soon to give some good advice. Good luck, I know how hard it is to see those heartbreaking signs and want to make some quick changes.
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

And we have another Max on the board! ;-) I think you're the 4th Max this year--but that's good news because the first 3 have gone OTJ, so it's a good name to have for a diabetic cat. :-D

Anyway...it took my Max about a week on his initial dose (2U as advised by vet) before he started seeing improvement. It took another week on the same dose before his numbers started leveling off. And then I think about a week after that we started a crazy dose slide because his numbers were going too low. The beginning is always the hardest--the storage shed has to build up before the body can utilize the insulin (or so I understand it). And then it can take the body some time to figure out how to use the insulin and get things moving.

So...I will say to stick with this dose for a few more cycles. Test whenever you can, and for sure do a curve on the weekend. Once you have more numbers to fill in his cycle picture (so people can see what he does with the insulin he's getting), someone can give you a better idea of whether or not to increase the dose, and by how much.
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

Yes, another Max! Hang in there Holly :YMHUG: It take about 6 cycles for the shed to fill. Lantus is a very good insulin, but it isn't instant. That's why we call it the sugar dance, 2 steps forward, one step back. it will happen, but you need patience. The advisors here have a lot more experience than most vets. You are not the only one who fired a vet in the beginning. Listen to the advisors here, you need a solid foundation in order to control Max's FD.
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

Hi Holly
Welcome to Lantus as well as another Orange Max.
Have you had any more checks today ? PMPS?
I see from you ss that you don't have any troble testing him.
With Max's high numbers and low insulin dose, are you able to check for ketones?
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

We dose Max at 8am & 8pm Pacific standard time because of our long work days & commutes. I'll be testing him again in a couple minutes.

We're not set up for ketones just yet, we'll try for that later this week- a little tricky with the second cat. Max won't even go if someone is in the room. He just stands there and waits, looking at you like 'um, do you mind?'.

Be back in 10.

Holly
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427

Hi - no dose advice from me, just a story about my experience. When we first started with FDMB, I remember I would start asking about dose reductions and often just around the time I was planning to reduce the dose, Kasha would start hitting lower numbers and I'd have to hold off on increases - or even decrease sometimes. It's like I would get impatient, but the dose just needed time to settle in. So, now I know when I get impatient, I should wait just a little longer before I jump to conclusions. It's tough waiting - especially with high numbers (and Kasha knows high numbers!), but you don't really know what is going on with that dose until you've had it for several cycles.
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427 PMPS 459

OK, so here's the PMPS... also not great.

I'll get in a +1, and +3 tonight. this is day 2 (I guess cycle 4?) on the reduced dose of 1 unit. For those not familiar with my other posts, here's a short history:

Vet went from 2 units a day to 14 units a day within a week. We 'went rogue' and decreased the dose to 3 units twice a day after several hypos. Max still wasn't getting low enough or a good shaped curve, so we increased the dose over a couple weeks to 4 units, twice daily. After much, much reading, we thought we might be overdosing him (& seeing a rebound) so we made our way here!

I'll hang in there until the consensus from my beautiful, talented and brilliant panel of experts says otherwise. Sean & I realize that we're a bit too emotionally invested at the moment to be making dosing decisions. Please tell us when you think we should increase!

Holly (& Sean by proxy) + Macro & Micro (Max & Leo)
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427 PMPS 459

Holly
You are in the right place to help your Max.
Patience is a key player here.
Please have a look at my Max's ss and see where we started, where we went up to
and now we are OTJ (off the juice)
Totally with the help of the amazing people here.

Please try and find a way to get some ketone test with high numbers.
I was lucky and would just put a little cup and max and he would pee in it.
I know some people use aquariym gravel in the LB so that you can get a sample of his
urine maybe that way.
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427 PMPS 459 +1 ~495 +3 ~407

I need a new ladle.

Miracle of miracles, I got a urine sample! I had some keto sticks in the cupboard- they've expired, but I thought I'd better test anyways. There were not ketones detected, but that could be due to the expired strips- I'll buy some more tomorrow.

Holly
 
Re: 6/21 Max AMPS 427 PMPS 459 +1 ~495 +3 ~407

hi holly. glad you'll be picking up some new ketostix. i'm not sure you can rely on expired strips.
when you're seeing high flat numbers, the tight regulation protocol does allow increases after 24-48 hours. personally, i would go ahead and take the dose up to 1.5u bid tomorrow... unless you see a lot of movement tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top