6/21 Latte AMPS-517, PMPS~392 Libby - ??'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
PMPS-573
+3-410
+5.5-210
AMPS-517

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17724

She's fine. Pretty tuckered out last night. Burst of energy overnight/early a.m. - or maybe restless might be a better term. Not a lot of energy this a.m. Who can blame her?

Other than that, Sometimes thoughts are better left unsaid, kwim?
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517

It must have been the party that gave Latte that burst of energy! There's another one tonight, Latte, girl! Rest up today!!
Hope your busy day will be OK, Carolyn. We'll check back later.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517

((((Latte and Carolyn)))) Making one last condo visit before getting to work here and wanted to see how Latte was doing. A little burst of energy is good :smile:

Now, Ms. Latte, take Ella's advise and rest up for tonight. Spot will be attending the Solstice party at Tess's tonight and he is so excited to see all his old and new friends there. He is especially looking forward to sitting on the blanket and catching up with Latte.
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517

I think you need to have a discussion with Latte about fashion. She's a beautiful girl. However, while I ordinarily encourage a fair amount of black in one's wardrobe, it is not a particularly good fashion statement for Latte. She's outgrown the need for basic black. And after all, it's summer. Some brighter colors would be a lovely compliment to her natural coloring.
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517

Morning guys sending lots of sunshine from cali and hugs (((((latte)))) come on down girl, doodles wants to take ya to the beach. Ya know her waves, her beach her dudes :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158

OK Latte Wins The FDMB Olympic trials today for That DIVE__WOW!!! this girl means Business!!!
Hope you surf the rest of the day--OK Latte? Have a good day Carolyn...
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158

Oh.... :shock: Lovely number....NOT the way to get there sweetheart!

Latte-girl, I don't mean to hurt your feelings, you know I adore you! But I think you are aware that you are an older girl. You move slow, you eat slow....stick with that on these drops. If you want to prove you still got the chops...play with your feather at warp speed, chase your Momma around the house. But when it comes to your sugar...slower drops...slower rises without the crazy high numbers would be fabulous for you! You are giving your Momma gray hair!
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158

Latte! What is up with the cliff diving? You need to slow down girl. You're making me look bad. Can you surf the blues and wait for me? Love, Blackie

(((Carolyn))) I don't know how you do it. I would be flipping out with some of Latte's huge drops. I guess she only likes brief visits to RBC.
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158

Latte, pretty blues, but OH MY WHAT A DROP! Come and take it easy in the sun. There's no rush!
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158, PMPS~392

AMPS- 517
+2- 363
+3.25- 239
+4.25- 158
PMPS- 392

Latte has eaten real well today. She ate a bit more kibble than she has been lately, so her tummy is gurgling quite a bit. Nice poop from her, even! She greeted me on the usual rug when I came home and laid down for her skritches. I laid down too! She decided to rest her head on my arm like a pillow. We both almost fell asleep and was nearly late for her shot. I didnt want to get up because it was a very special moment. But, onward we went and things are back on schedule with her in the bathroom...sleeping so soundly, the house could fall down and she would never know. :roll:

Reduced her dose back to 1.5u today. I hope to reduce her pred a little more by the end of the week. Wednesday is my only day off until NEXT friday, so spot checks will be spotty. Back to the vet tomorrow for recheck of urine, and the continuous re-evaluation of her tx plan.
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158, PMPS~392

Great appetite Latte, and I'm glad you had that special moment together. I love those, they are so precious.
Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow, and good luck with the dosecrease, too.
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158, PMPS~392

You really learn to appreciate those special moments when they get a bit older. I think when Kasha turned 13 (5 yrs ago!), I started to panic as I felt time passing us by - want to treasure every moment, you know. Every day is a gift.

I think Latte and Kasha like the cliff diving - we have to convince them to try some less exhilarating exploits!

See you at the party, Latte! Kasha's bringing Blue and she wants to know if you'll help keep an eye on him so he doesn't jump around too much and pop his stitches!

Happy Solstice!
 
Re: 6/21 Latte AMPS-517, +4.25~ 158, PMPS~392

Hi Libby,
Thank you very much for stopping by yesterday and putting forth an answer to my question. I really DO appreciate it! I have read your response numerous times, and I get what you are saying. It does make sense to an extent. Most folks offering thoughts on her dose here, and the specialist we saw believe latte will need at least 2u to stay in the 100-200 range. What Im wondering, is how much lower will she go on a 1.75 or 2u dose if she is already capable of hitting the 50's in the f1.5? Increasing it might help control the bounces, but wont it make her go dangerously low at the same time? 54 is already too low for her to be safe.

Yesterday was a good start to the day. She had eaten well the night before and overnight, so she had food in her system. She started eating pretty much immediately after she got her shot, and had a good amount of food in her prior to when the insulin "should" be taking effect. Yet she still dropped a tremendous amount before that point. What makes a cat do that? Even if she does not eat kibble overnight, which Im aware can contribute to some of these earlier drops...she can STILL drop a tremendous amount prior to the insulin starting to work. Its almost as if the last shot of insulin gave her a final uuumpf between +12 and +14. Is that even possible?

I would love Any clarification as to how I can raise her dose as others are suggesting and keep her safe (even when she is eating well). I know you say feed the curve. Im not sure how to do that when she is capable of dropping a few hundred points in the first few hours. Her curve (in the a.m. cycle anyway) is often over before the insulin even sets in.

Hope Im making sense?

Im really trying to sort this out so I can feel more comfortable in the future raising her dose.

Thanks again Libby. No big hurry on the answer. I need to keep her at the new, lower dose through next week anyway...wont be home to deal with a low # until then, plus reducing the steroid a bit more.

Below is your response in my condo last night, for easier reference:
Libby and Lucy said:
first of all, with numbers in the 50's, I wouldn't want you to increase again yet. Either hold or reduce.

The idea behind keeping the dose higher is that Latte is not getting enough duration from this dose, so she does not have enough oomph left in the later part of the cycle to overcome the bounces. With more juice, she might be able to fight the bounces off a little better. It's "liver training school" causing the bounces, but then she just doesn't have enough juice left to have a shot at holding the numbers down.

Our solution for bouncing in Lantus Land is to hold the dose and just let them bounce, until the bouncing finally stops. It might not feel great, I don't know, but it's a means to an end. There isn't a shortcut through liver training school, unfortunately. Some cats, like Latte, really like to take their time with it. Lucy was a bouncy girl. Gabby is, and J.D.

The caveat is that in order to keep a higher dose, you have to be able to feed the cycle to prevent the lows. With Latte, eating isn't a guarantee, so that makes it harder. It's up to you how you want to balance that. Without enough insulin, though, I really think she'll keep bouncing.
 
What I can tell you about is what Jill suggested with Gabby and this may reflect what your vet is thinking. The idea is to raise the dose so Gabby is seeing greens mid-cycle but the drops aren't plummets. In order to avoid a sharp drop and a dose reduction, I feed the dropping numbers. This may mean HC if there's a drop that looks like it will go into the lower greens. It's a means of prolonging time spent in the mid to upper green/low blue ranges to promote pancreatic healing. Fundamentally, this is an artificial way of flattening the curve and/or manipulating it with food. It also means I need to be around to monitor, which lately, has been difficult.
 
Oh my word that was some cliff diving you were up to today Latte. Hope things are a bit less eventful tonight sot hat you can enjoy the party and your Mom can get some rest.
 
I think this has been mentioned before wrt to Latte, but not sure.... what about TID dosing? Not that your schedule is particularly amenable to that, but perhaps as an experiment when you have more time off.
Lady Latte never does anything half-assed, does she? :razz:
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
What I can tell you about is what Jill suggested with Gabby and this may reflect what your vet is thinking. The idea is to raise the dose so Gabby is seeing greens mid-cycle but the drops aren't plummets. In order to avoid a sharp drop and a dose reduction, I feed the dropping numbers. This may mean HC if there's a drop that looks like it will go into the lower greens. It's a means of prolonging time spent in the mid to upper green/low blue ranges to promote pancreatic healing. Fundamentally, this is an artificial way of flattening the curve and/or manipulating it with food. It also means I need to be around to monitor, which lately, has been difficult.
manipulating the curve with food is an excellent tool. it allows one to get as much insulin into kitty as possible. the results are a flatter curve... less of a dip at nadir and a lower preshot number.

something else worth mentioning... one can systematically start increasing the dose by 0.1u or 0.2u to try to pull the entire range down... even if kitty has been dropping to into mid double digits. the dip at nadir will not be proportionate. in other words, you might be able to shave 50 points or so off either end of the cycle while nadir might only drop a few points. take a look at alex's 2 levemir spreadsheets (2009 & 2010) for examples of increasing the dose on green nadirs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top