6/21 Junior AMPS 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL!

Yesterday was an exciting day!

Junior's numbers looked great yesterday. I think his BG is actually lower because he's been getting pretty riled up and aggressive during test time. Regardless, it's good to finally see some evening numbers:

PMPS 96
+3 72
+5 68
+6 60
+7 64

Today's 96 AMPS completely surprised me. It took awhile to poke his ears and when that didn't work, I tried his paws. He was literally, no joking, screaming like the angry cat on YouTube and got an hour behind shot time. All that screaming and struggling and he's at 96?

Anyway, I missed Mococo's post from the other day about selling her leftover insulin so yesterday I was able to buy some that were sold to Sienne. Yes people, I finally met Sienne, Gizmo and Gabby! And seriously people...it was like meeting a rock star! The "voice" I hear in my head when I read Sienne's posts was exactly the same in person: sweet, kind and calm. Gizmo was a fluffy ball of happy welcomes and Gabby was all, glad you're here but I'm gonna do my own thing now. I also got a bonus lesson on ear pokes and was able to get my first stress-free poke last night (the 72!) It was a great evening. And as it turned out, they live only a couple of blocks from me. It's like finding out rock stars live next door to you!

On a side note, please pray for my college roommate and dear friend Susan. Last night she was admitted to the hospital because one side of her face sagged. They ruled out a stroke and have been trying to figure out what's going on. Healing vines to all our sick kitties, friends and family.

Have a good Tuesday everyone.
Bonnie
 
Nice going w/Junior and the poking.

So did you get Sienne's autograph? ;-) Glad she was there to show you the "Vulcan Death Grip".

Sending comforting and healing vines for your friend, Susan.
 
Junior is looking fantastic.
How great to be so close to someone as knowledgable and sweet as Sienne. So glad you had a stress free poke and test today
 
You guys!!

Great numbers for Junior. Sometimes, kitties who get a bit, errrr..... fractious, may be telling you they really don't need insulin. Let's hope that's what Junior has in mind. Just keep telling him that if he cooperates, there will be fewer pokes!
 
Hi LL

Yesterday's ear poke celebration may have been premature. I tried ears from +4 through +6 with lots of treats and breaks. I was able to get some blood on my fingernail but it was either not enough or I smooshed it. I also gave him treats in between pokes to keep him happy.

At PMPS I tried ear and when that didn't work, I threw a hail mary and tried his paw. No blood and not happy.

So...any advice? PMPS is already an hour behind normal shot time. Can I feed (he's kind of chowing on steamed chicken treats so I have some time).

I don't want to shoot blind but I don't want to forgo this shot especially after the 2 fur shots this week.

I'm not exaggerating -- except for when he was sleeping, he looked angry and tense all day. I'm also afraid that his aggression is getting worse with these pokes. Can this be reversible?

Thanks!
Bonnie
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

can you scruff him to test? It's not the easiest thing to do (would be easier with 3 hands!) but works when Jazzy tries to bite. Some people here have had to do the kitty burrito too.
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

Burrito has worked sometimes (not today) and it aggravates him even more. How does scruffing work? I live by myself.

He has calmed down a bit again and I'll try ear pokes again.
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

you grab his scruff (high on the neck) between your palm and last 3 fingers and his ear with your first finger and thumb, then use the other hand to poke. I usually end up with the cat on the floor, me almost sitting on top of the cat behind her so she can't back up (cat between my legs). I grab her ear with my left hand and poke with my right hand. If I have to grab some scruff I can do that with the rest of my left hand.
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

Good luck - I have used the method Libby describes with my cats - it does help if you can "sit" on top of them.
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

Ok I'll try burrito again first. I'm a little afraid of the scruff but will try if burrito doesn't work this time around. He's already so distrustful of me and my arms look like a candy cane from Sunday.

I'm off to poke and will report when I'm done. Thanks Libby!

Bonnie
 
Re: 6/21 Junior AMPS 96 No PMPS yet -- Advice Please

Ok the good news is the blood beaded up nicely on his neosporin ears. The bad news is he jerked his head and I smeared my thumbnail on his fur. I didn't wrap him tight enough the second time around and he escaped. He's so pissy I couldn't get near him to scruff. He won't come near me for treats.

I'm looking at the clock now and we're so behind now. Should I just give him a BCS and try to get in one BG test tonight? I'm not even optimistic that we can.

Also do you think he'll ever get back to the way he was? He used to be so happy go lucky. Now he's so distrustful.

Sorry for so many questions. I'm just worried about the tests tomorrow, the day after, etc. His numbers are so good I don't want them to reverse.
 
How about shooting 0.25u? You'll give a BCS dose and try to get a test in when you can. If Junior still isn't calm, make sure you feed a bit more by +5 to keep his numbers bumped up.

I would also do what you can to play with his ears without poking. In other words, lots of ear scritches.
 
Hi
I used to have a lot of trouble testing Putty. I had to wrap him in a blanket also. I started putting a treat on the blanket so he would eat the treat as I tested him. I no longer have to wrap him at all and I don't give him treats. He will jump right onto the blanket for me to test him.

I also had the pleasure of meeting Sienne but I think she thought I was the rock star. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top