Anshu and Goose
Member Since 2023
For continuity:
Goose had another low-ish reading this morning.
Q: Which syringes are you using? Some syringes have a reputation for inconsistent marking, leading to uneven dosing and odd numbers. Good to see you are using calipers now.
Goose had another low-ish reading this morning.
- Last night PMPS 424 around 8 PM, then fed 69g fancy feast wet food, then given 0.1U at 8:50 PM.
- This morning, AMPS 106 around 8 AM, then fed 69g fancy feast wet food, no shot given. BG around 10:15 AM -> 411
- Is today's uptick still a bounce? Should we do something differently to help his BG stabilize?
- Are we correctly skipping doses (when we see below 150 pre-shot)?
If he is bouncing upwards, giving insulin seems like it may (eventually) push him too low again and force another bounce. On the other hand, if he goes too high for too long do we have ketones to worry about? - Is the current dose (0.1 U) appropriate ?
Q: Which syringes are you using? Some syringes have a reputation for inconsistent marking, leading to uneven dosing and odd numbers. Good to see you are using calipers now.
- A: We have been using BD Veo syringes (3/10 mL, 6 mm length, 31G) with 1 U markings. When we got to 0.1 U we switched to using calipers for dosing. We've ordered the UltiCare U-100 syringes with 0.5 U markings to try later this week (still with calipers).
- A: For the past 10+ days, he has been eating Fancy Feast Classic Pate Chicken - 207 gms based on calorie calculations for his age. We had to split it to 3 meals a day and puree it (with a sprinkle of FortiFlora if low appetite, or mirtazapine as appetite stimulant). Timings - 8 AM, 2-3 PM, 8 PM.
- A: We measured his BG at 8:02AM -> 65, then fed him 69g FF, and remeasured at 8:35 AM -> 111. The BG 65 really worries us, we weren't sure if he would go further down, so we remeasured 30 mins after eating.
- A: We may not be able to do it consistently, but we will try from tonight to get those as often as we can.
Last edited: