6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results)

Status
Not open for further replies.
So to recap, Garfunkel was on 2 units.

+12 38 (yesterday morning)
+26 60 (last evening)
+34 36 (this morning)
+48 60 (just now)

NEW INFO:
The vet called back with his fructosamine results. They were 311 (remember, fructosamine numbers, not bg). Also, as I stated below, I gave him Fancy Feast chicken with gravy before leaving for work. Can anyone explain why he seems to be holding steady at 40ish in the morning and 60 at night now? Is that bad? Is this eventually going to rise?

I'm going to try working on my first spreadsheet now.

2nd evening edit: Spreadsheet now in my signature, but I'm not using the standard template.

FROM THIS MORNING:
I don't understand why his numbers would have gone down overnight. He still has his Evo chicken and turkey and I haven't given him any insulin.

What do I do before I leave for work in about an hour? I'm going to try and make the spreadsheet now as well.

Thanks.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Hi, please don't shoot this number! Do you have any higher carb food other than the one you're now feeding, something with gravy, like Fancy Feast grilled or FF Gravy Lovers? Do you have any Karo syrup? Wait for one of the dose experts to help you. Two units may be too much a dose if Garfunkel is dropping this low.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi, please don't shoot this number! Do you have any higher carb food other than the one you're now feeding, something with gravy, like Fancy Feast grilled or FF Gravy Lovers? Do you have any Karo syrup? Wait for one of the dose experts to help you. Two units may be too much a dose if Garfunkel is dropping this low.

I wasn't going to shoot him at all, I'm just worried and confused about why they would've gone back down overnight. The highest carb food I have at the moment is probably this, which I just opened up a can of for him: (I also only have agave nectar)

Newman's Own Organics Adult Turkey & Vegetable Formula Canned Cat Food
http://www.petfooddirect.com/Product/64 ... d-Cat-Food

Turkey & Brown Rice: Organic Turkey, Turkey Broth, Turkey Liver, Brown Rice, Sweet Potatoes, Tricalcium Phosphate, Oat Bran, Cranberries, Flaxseed, Dried Kelp, Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Potassium Chloride, Sea Salt, Minerals (Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide), Choline Chloride, Vitamins (Vitamin E, A, B12, D3 Supplements, Thiamin Mononitrate, Biotin, Riboflavin Supplement).
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

I don't understand why his numbers would have gone down overnight. He still has his Evo chicken and turkey and I haven't given him any insulin.

What do I do before I leave for work in about an hour? I'm going to try and make the spreadsheet now as well.

I was reading yesterday's condo. If that's all you have is the Newmanns, that's good you gave him some mixed in with the agave. Can you test again to see if he's come up. I'm not sure how long it's been since this test. Some other people are also having problems with the ss.

When you go out today, pick up some Fancy Feasr Gravy Lovers and also anything Fancy Feast Grilled or Friskies with gravy, too. I wouldn't shoot this morning if he stays this low. Hopefully someone more experienced will come along shortly.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Hi there!! When was the last time you gave Garfunkel insulin? If you haven't given him insulin in the last 12 hours, he can't hypo. From what I've been told, if no insulin has been given, there's no way they can hypo. I don't know that karo or HC would be necessary.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Hi Patty, I was trying to stay on til I heard back from her...but she may have had to leave for work. I just looked at her yesterday's condo, and she skipped the pm shot, and he's still this low. Everyone trying to set up an ss seems to be having problems. I'll sign off now and get some stuff done.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

garfunkle has not had insulin for 34 hours. no danger of hypo!

you've probably already left for work. i'm assuming no shot was given.
just a suggestion... whenever you get a test number that doesn't "fit", test again. it might have been a "bad" test.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Hi everyone, I'm posting on my iPhone as I've left for work now.

The 36 reading today was +34 from his last shot. I put some agave nectar on my hand and had him lap it up. I also went to the drug store across the street and bought a can of Fancy Feast grilled chicken and gravy. Actually, two cans, as I managed to drop the ceramic food bowl out of my hands and it cracked all over the floor so I had to
go back out and get another can.

I wasn't able to re-test him, I'll have to do that when I get home tonight. At that point he'll be around +48. I also left the Newman's Own out as well.

Finally, my name is Phil. :) I should probably change my username later to Phil & Garfunkel.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Jill & Alex said:
garfunkle has not had insulin for 34 hours. no danger of hypo!

you've probably already left for work. i'm assuming no shot was given.
just a suggestion... whenever you get a test number that doesn't "fit", test again. it might have been a "bad" test.

So there's no chance of a hypo, but isn't such a low number still bad?

Yesterday morning when I was +12 and got a 38, I did re-test and got a 40. So I'm pretty confident that the 36 this morning was accurate, though I only tested once. I'm still really bad at testing. It took about five pokes this morning. I actually got it perfect on the first go, but then he was fidgeting and shaking his head and it got on the bed sheets. Then the next few pokes failed and finally I succeeded again.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

So there's no chance of a hypo, but isn't such a low number still bad?

Yesterday morning when I was +12 and got a 38, I did re-test and got a 40. So I'm pretty confident that the 36 this morning was accurate, though I only tested once. I'm still really bad at testing. It took about five pokes this morning. I actually got it perfect on the first go, but then he was fidgeting and shaking his head and it got on the bed sheets. Then the next few pokes failed and finally I succeeded again.

there's no way of knowing for sure without re-testing this morning. yesterday's +12 low could have been caused by the shot given 12 hours earlier.

we have seen a couple of kitties who have run in the 30s with no insulin on board, but it's not the norm. i've seen one hypo last about 18 hours. it's more common to see an over dose resulting in a hypo event last for 14 - 16 hours. i highly doubt garfunkel was experiencing a hypo event with no insulin on board for 34 hours. i suspect one of two things. this morning's test was a bad test OR garfunkel is one of those kitties who runs low on his own.

you'll get better at pokes as time goes on. it'll be interesting to see where garfunkel is when you get home tonight.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

If anyone with a nondiabetic cat tested their animal, they'd be surprised at how low the numbers can be. If you didn't give insulin, don't worry.

About the testing, just from my experience with Champ. Champ is completely food driven. If I want to test him, there had better be food in front of him. I can't put a freeze-dried piece of chicken or salmon because he goes nuts for those and he's in so much ecstacy there's no holding on to him. But I put a tiny spoonful of FF or, if it's after +6, a few small pieces of boiled chicken or some canned tuna in his bowl. I then can kneel down next to him, poke, test, done. And he doesn't mind the tests because he gets something out of it. I can now even test him when he's sleeping and he just cracks one eye at me. If you look at Champ's SS you can see I test A LOT unless his numbers are really high and then I give him a break. Also, you'll find that one ear might bleed better than the other. I only use Champ's right ear and now it bleeds if I just look at it. :lol: JK. But it does bleed really well. His left ear was never a good bleeder for me so I only use it when absolutely necessary. Once you've been poking for a while, the ear does "learn" how to bleed.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Phil...I am on my phone and headed for work but that SS link I sent you took me two minutes to do so whenI get to work I'll send you the easy instructions...less complicated then the ones in the sticky. Be back in one hour with those.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36 - Help please.

Phil: I know you are at work. Here are my "simple" SS instructions. Hope it works.

I realize you've probably already done some of these steps but see if it works starting over.

1. Sign into your google account.
2. Open up the US Template using this link: US Template
3. Just above the template on your left is "File". Click on that, select "Rename" and then name your template whatever you choose.
4. Go to the upper right hand corner of the page and click on the down arrow (has a dropdown menu) next to "share".
5. Select "publish as a webpage".
6. Be sure "All Sheets" is in the window and you check the "automatically republish when changes are made" box. Then click "Start publishing".
7. It will then put a link in the bottom box under "Get a link to the published data". The boxes above the link should say "Web Page" and "All Sheets".
8. In the large box under those, there will be a very long link. Highlight and then right click your mouse and select "copy".
9. Go to your User Control Panel, then "Profile", then "Edit Signature".
10. Click "url" and it will look like this: {url][/url]
11. Put your cursor in between the two middle brackets and paste your SS link and then backspace to remove the 2nd bracket; add an "+" so it looks like this:
LINK
12. To add his name or another title so that long link isn't there, then you can modify like this:
Garfunkel's SS

That should do it. I did not have any problem with the copy function....and I did it twice. Let me know if you have questions.
 
Re: Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results)

Bumped with evening results. All info in top post. Would like advice/thoughts. Thanks.
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Those are great numbers and it may be that Garfunkle has decided that remission/being food controlled is a better option than being poked!
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Phil:

I got your share request and just put you on the permissions so you can edit, set other permissions, etc to the SS...all the same as owner. Since it looks like you might not be around here very long, that should work. You just need to move it over to your signature block...I can't do that for you but let me know if you need help....pm me.

Great numbers and I think Garfunkel wants to be done with the juice!! :lol:
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Phil:

I got your share request and just put you on the permissions so you can edit, set other permissions, etc to the SS...all the same as owner. Since it looks like you might not be around here very long, that should work. You just need to move it over to your signature block...I can't do that for you but let me know if you need help....pm me.

Great numbers and I think Garfunkel wants to be done with the juice!! :lol:

If you see my current signature, I basically cloned the template in Apple's spreadsheet program.

These are great numbers? I feel weird that he's been 38 and 36 in the morning... those seem really low to me, but then, this is all relatively new to me. What about tomorrow morning if I get another 35-40 number? Do I try to give something higher carb again, or do I stick with the usual Evo chicken and turkey?
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Phil there is no reason at all to give high carb to garfunkel....if anything that would jepardize his diabetic remission.
I know he is unusually low...I know.
But without insulin there is no good reason to deliberatly raise the bg's.
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Agreed with Lori. Do not give him HC food/gravy or karo if he doesn't have insulin on board. He can't hypo. Yes...these are good numbers. Enjoy the ride!!
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Agreed with Lori. Do not give him HC food/gravy or karo if he doesn't have insulin on board. He can't hypo. Yes...these are good numbers. Enjoy the ride!!

Alright. I hope feeding him the Fancy Feast this morning didn't mess anything up, but if he tested at 60 both last night and tonight, I don't think it did.

Let's see how tomorrow morning goes...
 
Re: 6/21 Garfunkel +34 36, +48 60 (plus fructosamine results

i just saw about 30 pics of garfunkel and i have to say CUTENESS OVERLOAD!!!!! he's a sweet orinch boy, with long fur and tufts between his toesies.....the sweetest face and his is such a LOL cat too! perfect for a I Can Haz Picture.
Maybe phil will grace you all with a pic of garfunkel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top