6/21 Frip AMPS 356, +5 292, +8 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frip&Grip

Member Since 2010
No blue today.. A little disappointing… :YMSIGH:

I’m still very new with everything and reading all the documentation I can find.

I haven’t found anything on this yet… What is the best way to handle time away from home?
Next week, we’ll be on vacation going to the lake (just one day – maybe twice during the week).. We’ll be leaving in the morning about ½ hour to an hour after Frip’s morning shot… and we'll be back home in the evening about 12-14 hours later. I won’t be home to check on him… Little worried after Friday’s rebound.

Is it OK to give a reduced dose in the morning (for this one time) when we’re not home to check on him (in case of hypo?) Is it OK to give his evening shot late? Do we give the same dose?

Thanks for all the support…
 
Hi Sylvie
Nice yellow streak for Frip.
Were you able to get the 1/2u syringes yet. They will be very important.

When are you leaving for the "day" to the lake.
As much as we like to plan in advance, our kitties have minds of their own.
It might be too soon now to make a specific decision.

When you have a specific question on "advice" it is okay to ask the question in the subject
line so it will be spotted easier sometimes.
 
Randi,

Yes, I just got the 1/2U syringes earlier tonight.. Looking at them now.. wow I wish they had 1/4U syringes!!! that will take some practice... Once you start filling syringes from the pen cartridge, Is it still OK to use the pen? I'd like to practice getting insuline in the syringe...

We're going to the lake one day between Saturday and Tuesday (depending on the weather).

I'll put my question/advice in the Subject next time... thanks
 
Hi Sylvie
IMHO I would just use the syringes and not the pen. There could be a variance in the dose
even a drop makes a difference and you want to be consisitent.
Also you know you cannot prefill the syringes.

And yes, those micro doses are tough. Max's last dose was .25. Lots of practice and hopefully
you will be there soon. :-D
All you need to do is insert the syringe in the little end, pull back a little more insulin than you need and gently twist the plunger up to get to your dose and get out any air bubbles..
Hope this helps.
 
When most of us travel, especially if we have a petsitter, we figure out a reduced dose that will keep our cat safe during the day when there's no one around. That may be the best solution if you are going to be away for the day but it is way too early to know that. Usually, if you post, asking for advice the day before you leave, we will be in a better position to help you come up with a strategy.

As for your return, you can shoot late. However, if you are shooting late, you will need to shoot 12 hours from that time. A lot will depend on whether your schedule can handle the shot time the next day. When we move shot times, it's by either 15 min. per cycle or 30 min. per day.

I think you will find using the syringe to be far more accurate than the pen. You can't dose in less than whole units with the pen. We use smaller increments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top