6/21 *curve day* Sampson+11 408. Will he go low today?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So far the plan is to get a +2 in about a half hour and see where we are at. Then you guys will have to help me decide whether or not I need to bring him in with me tomorrow.

Now I will try to figure out this drop thing...
 
Yeah, I'd say you got a pretty good .75 there! Good work!

Good luck with the drop counting....I never had much luck with it either. If you really want to get as exact as possible, you should consider using calipers. When you use calipers, you don't pay any attention to the lines at all. Here's Marje's post on Dosing with Calipers

Lots of kitties here are on SEB for one thing or another, so it's fine to use with our sugarcats
 
So his PMPS was 296, +2 was 195 so I should keep an eye on him and test around +3/+4 to see where we are at?
 
That is a 100 point drop. That usually signals numbers going down. I would test at +3 to see where he is.

Are you able to get a +10 or +11 in the morning? That can help tell you if he will be going up or down at AMPS and help you decide what to do tomorrow.
 
Absolutely yes!! And if you don't have any high carb food in the house, now's the time to send someone out to get it (if you have someone to send)

Don't know how much you used earlier today, so it's better you have some if you need it than need it and not have it
 
Why would he drop again like this? Is his pancreas kicking in to gear that fast? Is there anything else that could cause it?
 
He is clearing the bounce and he is still working off the depot from the 1 unit dose. Since that dose earned him the reduction it is still helping to lower his numbers.
 
I'm signing off for the night. Just follow the same procedure from today if he keeps dropping. If you need help, put 911 in the subject line.
 
It'll really help if you'll edit your subject line and keep the test results you get updated there

You can start with the PMPS tonight and then add the +2, +3.25 and then as you get other tests in, edit and add them.

Like for China today, her subject line is AMPS 138,+3 92,+6 67,+10.5 74, PMPS 85

When we're watching for people who might be in trouble, we look at those subject lines first, and then come and check the spreadsheets
 
Ok, done. I keep forgetting that part. Thanks! +4, 20 mins after 1 teaspoon of FF gravy it was 113 so I gave him one more teaspoon. Think im gonna bring him in tomorrow, not sure he will be okay home by himself.
 
Hi Jenn,

You've had quite a day! I wanted to give you some info about your questions.

On this post Where Can I Find?" (you may want to bookmark it) if you look in the second half there is a link to a post with a recent discussion about Slippery Elm Bark.

For your syringes, consistency is important, so use the same brand as much as you can. You might want to use calipers to help with accurate dosing, or you can use a sample syringe with colored water/tea in it, or masking tape marking the dose you want, and then use it to draw up a dose and disregard the markings on the syringes. In that same post above, there is a post on "dosing with calipers" that discusses the syringe marking inaccuracies.

The huge drop tonight from pmps to +2 - that is fast enough that it's likely to cause a bounce. Next time you see a big drop like that, try to feed some regular low carb to slow it down.

Regarding your question about why he would be dropping so low today - has anyone told you that in cats, the potential exists for the pancreas to heal and for the cat to become diet-controlled? It doesn't happen to every cat, of course, but if it's possible, getting the cat into normal blood sugar range and keeping them there as soon as possible after diagnosis - what the Tight Regulation Protocol is based upon - allows the cat's pancreas to heal, if possible.

When I see that he's clearing any bounce from today's 40's and he's already back in blue numbers by tonight, that tells me that his body has been in normal numbers enough that the bounce isn't big and isn't lasting long. You may have low numbers again tonight. It's possible he's still in a bounce tonight - when cats are bouncing they don't stay 400-400-400 for 12 hours, it can go high and bobble around up and down for as long a 3 days, depending on the cat. If he keeps going higher tonight, that'll tell you it's still a bounce. If he starts coming back down, then you'll have to keep monitoring.

He also might have gone lower today because of diet changes. The raw food that you're giving him - is that a change or has he been eating like that for a while? Raw food is very low carb and low carb needs less insulin than higher carbs.

Hope that's not all overwhelming to you - i just hadn't seen those particular questions addressed yet.
 
It is somewhat overwhelming. Im having a hard time understanding the big picture still. He has been on the raw since the Thursday before he started insulin. Cant remembert he exact date off the top of my head. I will grab some Friskies pate tomorrow to use as low carb. Going to do another test in 5 minutes. I am so glad strips are just $9/50 lol. Doing a colored syringe is a great idea i hadn't heard before! I'll have to do that.
 
Was feedinf him the second teaspoon of Hc the right thing to do? +4.5 was 124. Is it likely he will go back down or can I sleep some tonight? Lol Should I do a +6?
 
I find that SEB works well for tummy upset. The only thing you need to keep in mind is that if your kitty is on any oral meds, you need to allow 2 hours before and after the SEB as it may inhibit the absorptions of the meds.

When did you feed him, in relation to that +4.5?
 
you don't have to ever use high carb if a cat is over 50. Personally, I'd save it for under 50, and use low carb for everything over 50.

Looks to me like he's going to surf now, so I think you could go to bed without having to stay up longer tonight. Whenever you're uncertain, leave some low carb food out for him to eat throughout the night. A timed feeder is great for feeding at particular times so you can be sure that the food will be there when you want it there. That only works if he's the only one who can get to the feeder, of course.
 
So a blunce happens in conjunction with a decrease in dose and a rebound with an increase?
Rebound is when the numbers are lower than the body is used to and the liver sends put BS to correct them thinking the body is going hypo giving you sort of a false high reading. Yes?
 
So a blunce happens in conjunction with a decrease in dose and a rebound with an increase?
Rebound is when the numbers are lower than the body is used to and the liver sends put BS to correct them thinking the body is going hypo giving you sort of a false high reading. Yes?

It's mostly just semantics - they are the same thing but not related to either a dose increase or a decrease.

It's about 3 things - a dose that was raised inappropriately, a cat's blood sugar dropping too fast, or a cat dropping into a range that's lower than they've become used to. All of those things can trigger high numbers. New Dose Wonkiness is another phenomenon that has high numbers, but doesn't mean that the cat needs more insulin.

Take a look at this link, second post in the thread. I wrote a small essay on it a few years ago to explain, LOL. I'm kinda verbose sometimes. :rolleyes: The first post in that thread is about New Dose Wonkiness.
 
I will read that in the AM thank you! His +5.25 was 173. Ill get a +11, but I think I am still going to bring him to work. This is a little much for my brother to handle.
 
I'm hoping to convince him to go back to eating the Blue ridge Beef grind as that was so much easier! My own cats are young and will eat anything and digest anything just fine so the mix works for them, but Sam is 6 years older than them and has been on crap food his entire life, I'm sure so I imagine this is why it is harder for him.
He has been on the raw since the Thursday before he started insulin. Cant remembert he exact date off the top of my head.
Looks like he's been on raw all of about two weeks. Cats go through a detoxification process when they switch to raw. I switched both of my older cats to raw when Neko was diagnosed. Some transition easier than others. I've seen the suggestion to try some plain greek yoghurt with probiotics to help with the transition. Some kitties lose their ability to digest raw properly and need a little help getting those flora back. The other thing to consider is that fish and beef are common allergens for cats. You could try a raw chicken diet. Dr. Lisa has a recipe for making raw food for cats. That will be cheaper than purchasing ready made.
 
+11 is 408, if AMPS is lower he will probably have another low swing and if it is higher he may or may not. Is that accurate?
 
+11 is 408, if AMPS is lower he will probably have another low swing and if it is higher he may or may not. Is that accurate?
That's usually how it works. He could clear the bounce today. Like on June 17 his AMPS was 425 and PMPS was 153. Once you get more data, you'll start to see patterns. I don't know how quickly he'll clear the bounce. If you're worried you can leave some food out for him. Will he eat? Do you have other cats that will eat any food left out?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top