6/20 Simon AMPS 358

Status
Not open for further replies.
My guess is this morning was a tiny bounce from a number like today's nadir happening overnight. Simon looks like he got over it quick :-D
 
Simon bounces every single day pretty much. He gets great numbers during the day and then BOING! My hubby called me and said he pulled a 102 at +5.5 and that is pretty typical. Sometimes even lower :mrgreen:

What I don't understand is why by the pre shot, he is pretty much back up high in pink-land every blessed day. I know I need to wear patience pants, but it is disheartening when he responds so well during the day and at night too and then BOINGO confused_cat - following the bouncing sugar baby :lol: ohmygod_smile

Soooo, this weekend, we may increase to 3u and see what it brings us. My concern is the nadir already gets decent green numbers so I don't want to hypo my boy either.

Will he eventually just stop bouncing all over the place (she asks with hope?) :YMSIGH:
 
Please dont get discouraged!! Hang in there!! Rome was not built in a day. I admire the job you are doing with Simon!!
I would love for CL to have the numbers you are getting with Simon and Im also amazed how you "get it" with all the adjusting of the dose yourself!!
I think you are going to get him right where you want him - I just feel it in my bonz!!
:!:
 
Upping the dose is pretty gutsy, Joyce. He had 70/80 nadir on 2.75. That doesn't leave a whole lot of room to drop. If you can sure monitor and have all the stuff for a hypo, you can try it but I'd be ready.

Raising the dose won't help with the bouncing. The only thing that helps is time. Some people call it liver training - the time in lower numbers training his body to realize the lower numbers are a good, safe thing. It varies with each cat and there is no way to rush it.

If he would have preshots in the yellows, he would be regulated. If his bouncing would stop, you'd be there.
 
I totally agree with you Sue. The vet put him on 3U the second week he was on insulin and I only gave that dose once, the first day. Then when I told this board about it, everyone thought it was upping it too fast and too soon. He went from 2 units to 3 in ONE week! I agreed and backed him down to 2.25. Had some good numbers and then pink pink pink. So we upped to 2.5..and then 2.75. Is 3 not the next place to try? confused_cat @-) :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: Am I jumping the gun after two whole weeks on this dose? I know he gets some nice green numbers on this dose, but he did on the other doses as well.

I don't know. I think I will stick with this dose for another week and see what gives. Maybe when I am on vacation (taking a long weekend and a few days in the next week of July 4th, going back July 10th) I will try it then as I can monitor night and day. I am slipping my patience pants back on :lol:
 
I'm with Sue, raising the dose is really gutsy. You don't have much more room to drop from the nadirs that you have been getting.

Besides, your pink PS's are probably bounces, the green nadirs you got on the 17th & 18th were more than a 70% drop which "qualifies as a steep drop" and will and can cause a bounce. If you raise the dose and get even lower nadirs you will get even bigger bounces into reds and maybe blacks.

I would give this dose a little longer for Simon to settle into.
 
If ou read my last post, you will see that I am holding his present dose for a while longer. Not going to give him any more than he already gets. Thanks for the concern. I am too scared to go up on the dose anyway with the nadirs I have had a few times. ;-)
I am back down off the wall now :o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top