6/20 Nellie AMPS 129 +3 96 +5 94

With her seeing the 50’s on 3.75 there’s no room for an increase right now. So hold at 3.75 as long as you are seeing good nadirs and lots of green. . There was an expected mini bounce after the low 50’s but looks like she’s settled down. Check back if she starts to trend up. I suspect she might even earn a reduction soon as you are seeing mostly green if you don’t count the amps and pmps which are the last to lower.
 
Thanks Elise, much appreciated! Yes I was wondering about the AMPS and PMPs as those has steadily been higher than the rest of the cycles, good to know those are the last to come down.
 
I would keep an eye on her nadirs. If the 50's is one and done and you don't see it anything 50's or 60's again for six cycles, then it's time to revisit the dose. Not necessarily to increase, but to see where her nadirs are trending.

What is your feeding schedule for Nellie now? Just wondering if that could be tweaked to bring down the preshots. The AMPS is usually the later one to come down due to dawn phenomenon.
 
Currently she gets either a 3oz can or half a 5oz at shot time. Then her snacks for am are around a tsp to a tblsp at +3 +6 and a tsp around +7.5 or +8. Been playing around seeing if an even later snack may bring down the evening pmps but haven’t noticed any changes. Then pm snacks are +2 and +4, with a tsp in feeder she can eat around +6 and +8. She hardly ever consistently eats the pm snacks in the feeder which can be annoying because she is prone to throwing up bile/foam every once and a while before her am shots cause she is so hungry. She isn’t grasping the notion of the automatic feeder so well, not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed but we are trying to get her used to it.

interestingly today she had a +2 and +4 snack and I left food in the feeder. She didn’t touch it, and tonight was the lowest pre shot in a while after mostly fasting since +4. Wondering if I should be giving more at the +2 and +4 and foregoing her later afternoon snack. Just worried bc she gets so hungry and she is a yeller! What would you recommend for snacking schedule?
 
Given Nellie's size of dose, I would try to eliminate any snacks after nadir. After nadir, the insulin effect is starting to slow down. Any carbs given after than can slow it even further, giving you those higher preshots. If she's screaming for food, you can try some small no carb food, or snacks like boiled/baked chicken breast.
Been playing around seeing if an even later snack may bring down the evening pmps but haven’t noticed any changes.
That is something we only suggest to people whose cat's are on very tiny doses (think 0.1 units) and the pancreas is clearly sputtering.
 
Back
Top