6/20 Minnie PMPS 141 + 2.5 203 +5 183

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Last post Fri 6/18

First of all, @Suzanne & Darcy @PerfumedCatMom - thanks for the good wishes for yesterday's race - they worked! Gorgeous weather (a bit hot for round here) and inexplicably my best time since 2014 (still not fast but I am 8 years older and carrying around a lot more weight!) Inexplicable due to my lack of training, I hadn't run at all in the previous 2 weeks and my longest training run was well short of what it should have been. It was a gradual downhill so that clearly helped. Hoping this will give me the impetus to get back running regularly.

I was late leaving the house due to all the food preparations I left behind, and getting shots etc done. When I got home she surprised me with a 77 so I guessed she hadn't eaten much while I was out. I kept at the reduced dose last night so I could sleep.

This morning, stunned to see a green AMPS and even more shocked at the lime I just got since she definitely ate breakfast AND the AM shot was 30min later than last night. I was going to try claw clipping but she seemed hungry, so I'm glad I pokey-ed first. Claws can wait.

I'm going to stick at 6u as her dose and not revert to 6.5, since I'm treating this lime as #3 under 50 (even if technically it isn't).

@Suzanne & Darcy Minnie and Sam and I are all sending you big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good job! I keep trying to get back into running, I do it for a week or two but something always happens and I have to stop.

Curious what your thoughts are on the blood ketone readings in general. Mr Kitty as a baseline is always around 0.2 or 0.3. Highest I've seen is 0.8. I always thought the lower ones weren't anything to worry about?
 
Good job! I keep trying to get back into running, I do it for a week or two but something always happens and I have to stop.

Curious what your thoughts are on the blood ketone readings in general. Mr Kitty as a baseline is always around 0.2 or 0.3. Highest I've seen is 0.8. I always thought the lower ones weren't anything to worry about?
Thank you! I am terrible when I drop out of a routine. Once I get into a routine (for anything) I'm pretty dedicated til I get knocked off course.

Minnie's blood ketone is typcally 0.3 though sometimes creeps up to 0.4 and I throw extra water in her food. With her DKA history, I am SO much happier with blood ketone than urine - when she was last sick, blood ketone was 5.7 and urine was 'trace'. Her highest on the Novamax was 7.6, then 'HI' (urine strip was the darkest color immediately that time).

I'm just looking back at her s/s, just when she started that last hospital rollercoaster the urine was negative but blood ketone was 0.9. I feel blood ketone gives me a much earlier warning - and that whole episode led to my education about using R to fight the ketones. If it started going higher than 0.5 and feeding/water didn't have an effect I would definitely be looking at using R - would need advice on quantities if her BG was below 300 at the same time.

Not sure if that answers your question?! And obviously ECID...but honestly, I rarely use the urine strips now unless she pees a lot and I'm struggling to get enough blood for a ketone check!
 
72 after another 20min.

HA. I was about to post - should I bother giving her some LC? Then thought, well it won't do any harm. She heard me open the can and LEAPED from her bed to the kitchen. Scarfing it down.
 
Congrats on your race result! Our first regattas are tentatively scheduled 3rd weekend in July. Then we get to see what shape we are in all that time without racing. :nailbiting:

I agree with Minnie on the LC. Don't overfeed though, sorry Minnie. With the skip in there and so far along the 6 unit dose, I would count this as 1 of 3 on the 6 unit dose. Especially since she didn't pop up right away.
 
Thank you! I am terrible when I drop out of a routine. Once I get into a routine (for anything) I'm pretty dedicated til I get knocked off course.

Minnie's blood ketone is typcally 0.3 though sometimes creeps up to 0.4 and I throw extra water in her food. With her DKA history, I am SO much happier with blood ketone than urine - when she was last sick, blood ketone was 5.7 and urine was 'trace'. Her highest on the Novamax was 7.6, then 'HI' (urine strip was the darkest color immediately that time).

I'm just looking back at her s/s, just when she started that last hospital rollercoaster the urine was negative but blood ketone was 0.9. I feel blood ketone gives me a much earlier warning - and that whole episode led to my education about using R to fight the ketones. If it started going higher than 0.5 and feeding/water didn't have an effect I would definitely be looking at using R - would need advice on quantities if her BG was below 300 at the same time.

Not sure if that answers your question?! And obviously ECID...but honestly, I rarely use the urine strips now unless she pees a lot and I'm struggling to get enough blood for a ketone check!
It does! I was just curious because I have these numbers but nothing really to do with/interpret them, and not a lot of people seem to use blood meters. I like the blood meter for a lot of reasons, but maaaan does it suck getting an error message with those, bye bye $2 or whatever
 
It does! I was just curious because I have these numbers but nothing really to do with/interpret them, and not a lot of people seem to use blood meters. I like the blood meter for a lot of reasons, but maaaan does it suck getting an error message with those, bye bye $2 or whatever

I just looked at your s/s. Seems that Mr Kitty had higher ketones just by being in the pinks and settled down into 0.2-0.4 once his BGs sitting in the blues/greens. But even your highest blood ketone I think would still show as negative or at most trace on a urine strip. Any history of DKA? At least it would be an early indicator of an issue if his ketones started going up.

I hear you with the lost strips, and it seems like you get through the container so fast with only 5 strips! I'll only use them when I get a big blob of blood now. My original plan was to use the Novamax for both BG and ketones, the blood strips are super cheap...but for now I'm sticking with Freestyle What meter do you have for ketones?

Congrats on your race result! Our first regattas are tentatively scheduled 3rd weekend in July. Then we get to see what shape we are in all that time without racing. :nailbiting:

I agree with Minnie on the LC. Don't overfeed though, sorry Minnie. With the skip in there and so far along the 6 unit dose, I would count this as 1 of 3 on the 6 unit dose. Especially since she didn't pop up right away.

Thank you! You'll have the Olympics for motivation, hopefully too! That weekend is historically the hottest/sunniest here - maybe for you too? Good luck. It was great to be back in a real live race. They did well - staggered start, though most everyone round here (at least those who would be running a race, IMHO!) are vaccinated.

Thanks for the guidance, will treat this as 1 of 3. I think the race situation ended up being a fast-track to an inevitable reduction!
 
I just looked at your s/s. Seems that Mr Kitty had higher ketones just by being in the pinks and settled down into 0.2-0.4 once his BGs sitting in the blues/greens. Any history of DKA? But even your highest blood ketone I think would still show as negative or at most trace on a urine strip. I hear you with the lost strips, and it seems like you get through the container so fast with only 5 strips! I'll only use them when I get a big blob of blood now. My original plan was to use the Novamax for both BG and ketones, the blood strips are super cheap...but for now I'm sticking with Freesty.e What meter do you have for ketones?

I use the NovaMax for ketones and backup BG. You're right and I do the same, such a big drop of blood I really only use it when I happen to get a lot of blood for a BG test/ear is really warm (I don't warm or use rice sock since I usually don't need to). Ketostix are pointless here, he won't go if anyone's around.

I haven't found a super clear pattern with ketones, just that they're higher during a bout of pancreatitis. Roughly 0.2 when seeing blues, 0.3-4 if yellows and pinks.
 
Good job! I keep trying to get back into running, I do it for a week or two but something always happens and I have to stop.

Curious what your thoughts are on the blood ketone readings in general. Mr Kitty as a baseline is always around 0.2 or 0.3. Highest I've seen is 0.8. I always thought the lower ones weren't anything to worry about?
You are right that .2 or .3 are not anything to worry about!
 
Inexplicable due to my lack of training, I hadn't run at all in the previous 2 weeks and my longest training run was well short of what it should have been.
Whew hew! You did well not to overtrain and so you were well rested for the race. Congrats on kicking that 2014 time! I haven't been running at all since my surgery and the hot muggy weather here is a bit discouraging unless I wake up real early. I'll get back to it though.

Nice to see Miss Minnie hitting those greens and blues. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Liz, I am so glad that you participated in the race. It's amazing that you had such a great time. You deserved that time out. I'm glad Minnie is okay. I'll take some time to look at her SS soon.
 
Whew hew! You did well not to overtrain and so you were well rested for the race. Congrats on kicking that 2014 time! I haven't been running at all since my surgery and the hot muggy weather here is a bit discouraging unless I wake up real early. I'll get back to it though.
:rolleyes: you make it sound like I deliberately planned not to overtrain...the reality was more like another day passing without me running:D. You will get back to it and don't be discouraged at the start. Sign up for a race!
 
I think she's doing this on purpose now. I have a feeding dilemma, she is being really picky and all she will eat is high calorie so I think it is messing with her appetite. Or she's just showing me who's boss. Will try and get her to eat ahead of +3 where she's gone lime on me lately. Little madam!!
 
Back
Top