6/20 Mijo AMPS HI +1 516 +2 276 +3 143 +4 71

DaveL

Member Since 2023
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy! Sorry have been tracking all day during work. It is updated now. Quite the eventful day as usual with Mr Mijo. All the way from HI to 49 on 1.25. I had to give a small carb wet food treat at this 49 mark as he would of went lower...

I assume we will want to go back down to 1U based on TR? If he would of stayed in the 70-80s it would of been perfect. But it seems that insulin is a bit too much for him still pushing him too far. I think his Nadir is around 120-150 on 1 unit. I just need to figure out how to get his high numbers down.

I will continue to measure hour by hour rest of today and tomorrow. I would like to see how he does on 1unit hour by hour to see if i can figure out why he is jumping so high day and night. I would hate for his range to be from 150-600 every day....


He is also going back up slowly again today. I assume I may be shooting lower tonight.

Also his Nadir seems to be around 4-4.5. I need to test that more. But I wonder if he has an earlier Nadir.
 
Last edited:
All the way from HI to 49 on 1.25. I had to give a small carb wet food treat at this 49 mark as he would of went lower...
I just knew that darn Mijo was going to pull something like this! Argh! Yes drop it back down and hold for a while. You're just going to have to ride out the highs for a while and we will hope he settles down a bit as he gets used to the (intermittent... between bounces) numbers. I was okay with it because I knew you were going to watch (and test) him like a hawk. Darn.
 
I think his Nadir is around 120-150 on 1 unit. I just need to figure out how to get his high numbers down.
Well, that's not too bad for now. Maybe he just needs to spend some time in blues before graduating to anything lower. And time is what he needs. I'm sorry.
 
What and when did you feed him today? When you got the yellow at +2 and he had gone down that far from the black at +1, you should have reached for some medium carb (at least 15% at that point) and I would have retested again in 30 minutes. Then if he still had dropped like he did at +3 to 143, I probably would have reached for the HC (over 18 percent) and again, I would have tested in 30 minutes. He was dropping like a rock and needed more carbs to stop him from going into lime. As it is, I'm sorry he did go lime because now he has to be reduced back down to one unit. But, as I said, maybe he first needs to spend time in blue for a while and then later the greens. Having said all that, I know you were working and trying to monitor Mijo at the same time.

So I am wondering what and when you fed him today. He clearly needed a few more carbs in the +1,2,3 time period.
 
He has his low carb large meal at AMPS. And that was all he had until i saw he dropped to 49. The problem is he is not dropping consistently every day (some days he drops quick others it is very slow and later). It varies so much and some days I won't be there to test him every hour when he starts to drop to give him the high carb treat.

I guess best thing I can do is start testing him earlier in his cycle every day and see if he is dropping low early like he did today. Yes it would be easy if all i had to do was give him a high carb food at +2 to slow his dropping down.
 
Last edited:
And that was all he had until i saw he dropped to 49.
Yeah. He really needs those snacks. Whenever you see a huge drop like that you defnitely need to intervene with food. I'm talking first about the drop between +1 and +2 and then +2 and +3. Definitely needed to intervene as I described above. It's a shame because it's such a borderline drop to just below 50 and I wish he had not earned the reduction because he needs to spend more time in green. But, maybe it will be okay. You are following TR, so we do the reduction and if, in three days, it looks like we need to take him back up to 1.25 again... you increase, BUT this time you give food to intervene and slow the drops (IF he is doing it.) NONE of this is a criticism, so I don't want it to come across that way. Mijo is a challenge and doesn't always follow the same pattern every day, as you have said. But sometimes if we really think it's in the cat's best interest to stay at a particular dose, we will prop them up a little bit with MC given at strategic points so they can stay at a particular dose a bit longer and then perhaps they will earn a reduction. It's very individual to the cat. So don't worry. Mijo is a tough one!
 
Oh and, as we talked about over on the ProZinc forum, we also use food to slow steep drops because they will trigger huge bounces and a lot of the time those bounces are longer lasting than the bounces from just going into lower numbers that they're not used to.
 
Hi Dave. How is it going? Why the reduction to .5 units? I was just checking in on you since it has been a while since you posted.
 
Back
Top