? 6/20 Lisa PMPS 202 +1.50 147 +2 111 +2.50 64 +3 59

I am not an admin but I've been in your shoes many times starting out... I can offer you some moral support while you wait for a response. Did you feed anything after the 64 test?
 
On a human meter, we don't "take action" until they drop below 50 but she is dropping awfully fast.

In the future, if you see a fast drop like that before or around +2, feed a little regular food and test again in 30 minutes to see if its slowed her down any. If she's still dropping that much, give a little higher carb food (like 8-9% instead of ultra low carb) and see if that works. Keep notes in the "Remarks" area of your spreadsheet of what you feed and when so you can look back and see what worked (and what didn't) for the next time something like this happens.

Deep breaths!! She's not in any danger but we do want to slow her down some

Good catch tonight though!
 
Yes I just saw your SS.
Is your kitty eating all you're giving her? The 30% should definitely bring her up.
Again just so you know I am not an admin just a friendly cat mom... I would test in 30 min. Hopefully you'll have an admin by then.
 
P
I will test at +3.50, that's in 13mins! @Chris & China (GA) do you mean I am giving more %carbs than necessary?
Hi, I am just another cat mom. Read Chris’s message about what to feed. 30% carbs is a bit high. You want to start with higher carb low carb. Under 10%. If that doesn’t work try some med carb like 12%. Just a tsp of each or your kitty will get too full and won’t eat what she needs. Going to tag some people for you.
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko kitty needs help
 
Not an admin. Here for support. :bighug:

I had one of these recently. Keep testing, keep the sticky post open on what to do with low numbers, keep refreshing the browser. The number is currently safe and we have your back.
 
do you mean I am giving more %carbs than necessary?

Yes, probably. Most of us consider high carb to be 16%-22% but what's more important is learning what works for YOUR cat.

It's also important to remember that it takes 20-30 minutes for food to get broken down and into the bloodstream so don't expect instant results.

The simple sugars like corn syrup/honey/maple syrup get into the bloodstream a little faster, but they also wear off faster. If she were to drop below 40, you'd want to use a few drops of one of those along with something higher carb so you get the faster onset of the simple sugar and the lasting power of the higher carb foods.

Also, don't feed too much. If you need her to eat more later in the cycle, you don't want to fill her up early so she's not willing to eat
 
sory I gave 10.7% snack before I read your post, test again in 30?
Yes, for now keep testing every 30 mins. If she stays the same or goes up, you do not need to give more high carb food.

If you normally leave low carb food out overnight you can still do that.
 
sory I gave 10.7% snack before I read your post, test again in 30?

The general "rule" is to test every 30 minutes for 1 hour and then test again 1 hour later (for a total of 3 tests in 2 hours) from the last time you intervened with anything other than the usual low carb food.

So by feeding Medium carb food again, that 2 hour clock starts over. (although with the amount of super high carb food you've fed tonight, we may be able to take off a little before then in this case)
 
You don't need an admin (we have one of those, his name is Robert and he manages the website), or even a moderator to help. Anyone who has experience handling low numbers can help. Chris is very experienced, and anyone who has been here any length of time has had experience with low numbers, though above 50 is normal, not low. There is also help in this Sticky Note: Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers I recommend printing this one out and having as part of your low numbers kit (along with extra test strips and high carb food). It's good to have in case power/network is out or no one is around. It's a weekend, sometimes it's quieter here.
 
Hang in there, you're doing great! It's so scary the first time. I've been in your shoes and even now I forget to look at the printout when Minnie goes low! The first time she had a low number (which wasn't really low, just a lot lower than usual) at shot time I completely panicked and gave her HC food then realized after I should have stalled and re-tested.

As well as having that sticky note printed out, I also copied some key info onto my s/s and highlighted it lime green so I never need to look far for a reminder on what BG numbers need what % carb food. This is what flies out of my brain immediately!
  • >60 LC 0-10%
  • 50-59 MC 11-15%
  • <50 HC>16%
  • <50, test every 20min
  • 50-60, every 30min
 
Since you are following Tight Regulation and using a human meter, reductions are earned when they go below 50, which she did not. But she is spending some good time in healing numbers.
 
but it would have fallen more if I didn't give 22 and 30%, it fell from 111@+2 to 64@+2.50

One of the hardest things about this is that we really do follow the protocol to the letter. Would she have dropped below 50 if you hadn't intervened? Probably, but we don't know that for sure. We generally wait until we actually see it.

But another thing we've also learned is that if a cat is done with a dose, they're going to prove it and truly earn that reduction.

I expect that she's going to bounce by AMPS and it can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to clear, but once she clears the bounce, she'll have another chance to earn that reduction.

Also something that has to be considered is it's possible that the lines on the syringe were off. We've seen them be off 1/2 unit and if it was a badly marked syringe that you thought you were giving 1.25, it may have been as much as 1.75. That's why a lot of people use calipers instead of using the lines on the syringes
 
Hi tiffmaxee,
I reduced because I unfortunately will be working more hours and my mom can't handle with so much testing that may be needed in active cycles!
 
Back
Top