6/20 Jessi PMPS 157 +2 209 +3 191 +5 225

Stefania S

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-144-4-75-116-6-132-6-5-100-7-5-170.278707/

Hi all,

Since getting the new sensor, we had one greens moment sandwiched between lots of yellows, even some pinks, and some blues.

I know the quantity is not precise. Even with calipers I'm having a hard time measuring .75, so of course there will be shots that have a drop or two less and others that have a drop or two more.

Can I see the effects immediately of tiny differences like that, or does it take longer to see them?

Should I fatten the shot a little on purpose to see if we get more blues and even some greens or should I wait?

I have to get better calipers, these are cheap plastic and don't have a blocker on them. I bought them before getting specific recommendations. I think I'll need some kind of magnifier too, because reading glasses aren't cutting it and my eyes are getting more and more tired these days. Will look into crafts glasses or something similar.

Are there calipers that will measure even smaller, into hundredths, double decimals? I find this one very limiting because it only does tenths, single decimals. Also it isn't very precise, one unit comes out as .9 or 1.0mm, half a unit is around .4, which mathematically should be .45, right?

And then, my other issue is that I still have a hard time lining up with the "top" of the syringe, even with the calipers. I can't tell if it is right at the edge of the outer ring or just under the transparent inner ring which is so hard to see clearly.

Thanks for your help and recommendations! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I would not increase just yet. She dropped to 55 a couple of days back and it looks like she is headed lower again today. Let's see what she does tonight.

As for callipers, you want ones which can read up to 0.01mm and not just 0.1mm. I use the zoom function of a smartphone to magnify and another phone with the My Light app as a backlight. Here's a previous post with my set-up:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3017060/
 
So crazy, I just woke up from a long nap expecting to find her in high numbers and instead the read is 168 at +11 and from the graph it looks like she dipped down as far as 100 around +9! :confused:

I guess you called it Bhooma! And I'm forever bewildered. I even fed her around +6 before going to sleep. I went to sleep unusually early in the cycle because the numbers were staying on the higher side and I thought we were past the nadir.

So now the preshot will be much lower than usual. Just fed her a moment ago so it will probably come up a little but I don't know if it will be above 200. We're doing TR now, so I guess it's high enough to shoot, right?

How come every time I post asking if I should increase, soon after her numbers drop? What's going on here? :p

Shoot same time, same dose?

Wish I had nerves of steel like some people! yikes!:nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
Bounce breaking cycles have later nadirs. Some cats nadir as late as at the end of the cycle or even +13! Looks like she is headed up from 100 @+9 (If the Libre is to be believed!).
Hold the dose for now. Let's see what she does tonight. I would give it a full 6 cycles since the 55 on the 18th to take a call on whether to increase.
 
Can someone tell me how to interpret the spreadsheet more? it's still a mystery to me.

And how do I know if the numbers will go down again, keep going up, stay the same? With numbers like this it makes me feel like I missed the shot, since I have that doubt each time. Instead of going down after the shot, they are going gradually up.

Or could there be a dip later on? How can I know when to go to sleep?

Can one or two drops more or less make a big difference immediately in the BGs? So if tonight I skinnied or fattened would I see it in the numbers right away or in a later cycle?
 
Look at patterns across cycles rather than try and explain every number. More often than not, there is no explanation! Numbers tend to bob up and down during a bounce. Yesterday AM, numbers were dropping till +7 so it wasn't surprising that they continued to drop even after. Like I said, bounce clearing cycles have later nadirs. Last night it looks like she was flat and it was okay to go to bed at +4/+5.

Can one or two drops more or less make a big difference immediately in the BGs? So if tonight I skinnied or fattened would I see it in the numbers right away or in a later cycle?
Depends on the size of the drops. Some cats react to an increase in the very first cycle. In case of reduced or a token dose, the depot could continue to affect the first part of the cycle.

Hang in there. You are doing well. Patterns in unregulated cats are not 100% predictable. Kitty is in the driver's seat. We just go along for the ride.
 
Look at patterns across cycles rather than try and explain every number. More often than not, there is no explanation! Numbers tend to bob up and down during a bounce. Yesterday AM, numbers were dropping till +7 so it wasn't surprising that they continued to drop even after. Like I said, bounce clearing cycles have later nadirs. Last night it looks like she was flat and it was okay to go to bed at +4/+5.


Depends on the size of the drops. Some cats react to an increase in the very first cycle. In case of reduced or a token dose, the depot could continue to affect the first part of the cycle.

Hang in there. You are doing well. Patterns in unregulated cats are not 100% predictable. Kitty is in the driver's seat. We just go along for the ride.
Thanks Bhooma. You’re always so encouraging! :bighug:

I wish I could feel confident that I’m doing well. It all feels so tenuous. I understand it’s not completely predictable, but it seems like you and others are able to predict to some extent based on what you see in the spreadsheet. That’s what I’d like to understand more.

Is there any in depth material about this to study? Or videos to watch?

Does anyone teach a course or are there tutorials on how to interpret the spreadsheet?

The same for the Libre graphs. They are good for showing over all trends and patterns, but I don’t yet understand how to read them over time.

I know some of this comes with time and personal experience and ECID so I have to do the hands on learning myself, but some must also come from studying material and learning from others who already have a much better understanding of these things, right?

I realize most senior members don’t have time to explain all this in depth so maybe you can point me to some resources that would be helpful to deepen my knowledge.

Even just being able to know when it’s pretty safe to go to sleep or put my attention on other things would be huge!
 
There's no real studying material. There is a lot of info in the stickies at the top of the Lantus forum. Like you said, some of it is just experience. What helped me when I first joined was to read what senior members had advised other caregivers.

Don't be so hard on yourself. There is no test or exam. You too will get the hang of it. Just go easy on yourself.
 
Ok, ok, I'll just take a nap instead. :p After I plug in numbers in the spreadsheet and start a new thread. Sorry about using this old one. :oops:

But if you think of any info or come across some of those posts where senior members gave great advice feel free to send them my way.

And I'll remember to peruse the forum and see what I come across. It definitely is useful to read other threads.

:bighug:
 
Back
Top